We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They'll go above and beyond!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Roger Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jolly Roger Motel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
dupont, pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They'll go above and beyond!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Can't say enough about our experience at the Jolly Roger. There are a lot of places to stay at Wildwood Crest. The way to get me and my family to want to come back is the personality of the owners and staff. It is something that has been a lost art in the hotel/motel industry. Not here. We were treated like family and would return time and time again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottXmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyRogerMotel, Owner at Jolly Roger Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
...And in turn, we cannot say enough about "XMas"!! It is equally as GREAT to get to meet such a traveled family, one not afraid to take the next adventure and live to experience all that is out there. It is quite inspiring and, to be recognized by a family as this one, means a GREAT deal in our book. Your comments are incredible and we love that you shared them!! We will gladly look forward to your next visit and the doors are always open for you. We strive to find a way to stand out from the rest of the motels on our Island town and we feel that customer service is the way to do it. We are fortunate to have a loyal staff that understands the journey we want to be on for the future of the Jolly Roger...and they join us on the path!!! It is important for us that you, as our Guest, be treated incredibly well and sincerely recognize our efforts. We really do care and want you to be excited to return, as you have stated, "time and time again".....See you Again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    116
    32
    20
    28
See reviews for
238
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have been going to Jolly Roger since 1974. We make our reservations yr in advance usually pool side and mostly efficiecy. We like the privacy of 2 rooms, Well last week my husband broke ankle.
Has to stay off feet because of the ankle surgery. We had to cancel our reservations.My husand called and the woman said there is no refund. Cacellations have to be made thirty days in advace. We lost 400.00 This is ridiculous after all these years. If we were the kind of people that only went once every 5 yrs. then I think we would understand. Very disappointed. John and Rose Fueshko

Room Tip: Efficiency is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 880Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyRogerMotel, Owner at Jolly Roger Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is a set of extremely unfortunate circumstances as to the timing of your husband's accident. We feel terrible about the situation and sincerely wish him a speedy recovery on all levels.
We are thrilled that you have been coming here to the Jolly Roger since 1974 and it would be great to experience the stories in your mental repertoire of its history as you have seen it change firsthand from year to year.
With all of this said though, it is equally as important to treat all customers equal as to ALL Policies and not differentiate according to subjective criteria which has unfortunately been done over and over in years' past to the dismay of many we are learning. Our cancellation policy (and it is crucial for any business to mandate policies) states that there shall be no refund of the deposit amount under any circumstances if made within 3 weeks (21 days) of the arrival date. We are clear to state the policy when speaking to you and also attach it to ALL correpondence emailed or mailed to you in regard to your reservation. It is a policy similar to those of most of the large chain hotels of the world so that many are accustomed to the nature of the situation. It is a compromise that not only acts equiably to the customer's situation but also to that of the motel owner, us. We have maintained and held your very specific room open for an entire year to the effect that we would not rent it and we did not. We have very seriously and diligently and with good faith held up our end of the agreement. At this point and so close to the arrival date (you cancelled on July 29 with a reservation arrival date of August 9), the cancellation leaves us with a room for one full week to rent where it shall be difficult to do so. As a compromise and good will, we opt to lose out on all of the remaining nights' stays and only hold you responsible for the deposit left on the room which covers the time, energy, employee hours, etc to hold and originate all the correspondence involved. This is a fair and equitable result and we are proud of our guest treatment. Our goal is never to retain a deposit due to cancellation but we understand that, in order for the motel to operate successfully and thus be a place for you to actually VISIT from year to year, we need to have and implement guidelines with equitable results on both sides. As stated, it is unfortunate that you are so disappointed in the policy but it is a point that we here at the Jolly Roger hope you can arrive at an understanding. I did notice you booked for the 2015 season....we appreciate the extension of acceptance and look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

we have been staying at the jolly roger for over 25 years and wondering what to expect with new owners on board. it was a great stay the place never looked so clean, love the salt water pool, Joe, Vince and Cindy were very friendly and welcoming. if you had any questions or concerns they deal with it asap. They welcome any feedback you have to offer. And lets not forget the jolly roger mascot BEAR, most respectful and pleasant dog. its a great stay for a family vacation. its great to have a coffee shop again.

Joe & Annamarie Purcell

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyRogerMotel, Owner at Jolly Roger Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Well, we have to thank you so VERY MUCH for such a shining review and are glad to have met you and your family this year. Upon purchase of the Jolly Roger only 5 months ago, we realized very quickly that we were dealing with a guest list that was loyal as any on Earth to the Jolly Roger. We knew it was up to us as owners to make sure we lived up to the iconic nature of the Jolly Roger. Our goal was not to let anyone down and to make sure above all that you received the BEST Customer Service from us....and also to be presented with one of the cleanest motels ever. We definitely feel we have done our best so far in both arenas. Realizing there will be some growing pains with some guests who just do not wish for things to change, we try and let everyone know that our goal is to bring to you a BETTER Jolly Roger to experience for years and years to come. We appreciate the opportunity of an open mind coming from you as to our improvements so far this year and all those to come. We will continue to strive to bring to you an original and unique experience each and every time you check in!! You can always follow any of our improvements and progress on Facebook....We look forward to seeing you all again next season!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

When we booked our 3 night stay at The Jolly Roger I was expecting a clean friendly motel on the jersey shore will a few amenities but nothing fancy. That is exactly what we got at this motel. Yes the rooms are outdated and the lobby is straight out of the 80's complete with the wicker furniture. However the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool was a hit with the kids and we spent as much time there as the beach. Couple things I wish were different: beds were very uncomfortable and stiff, parking spaces are narrow and difficult to get gear out, decor of the hotel could use a facelift (we stopped at park lane motel down the road and it was much nicer). Overall it is an average stay that met our basic needs. Next time we will try another spot and see how that compares.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBGE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The new owners did above and beyond on making our 4th year wonderful. The BEST pool in the Crest, and having a family owned resort that is from the area is such an edge. We will be back next year and look forward to a flawless stay at the Jolly Roger!!

Room Tip: We love the 1st floor pool view for easy access to the barbecue area and new cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

After going to the Jolly Roger every July for more than 3 decades, our large group was extremely nervous about the new ownership. It turns out - we had been mistreated for the last 30 years. Cindy, Joe, and Vince - even the cleaning crew - were extremely friendly and accommodating for the entire duration of our trip. We see that upgrades are gradually being made, and look forward to returning in less than a year. It'll be great to have a coffee shop again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InOneEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Jolly Roger for two nites as a mini-vacation getaway in Wildwood. The motel is extremely dated and needs much updating. Be prepared for plumbing issues, clogged drains and fluctuating water temperatures. The first nite we were there, the ice machine was out of serivice and the management was aware. Still no ice.... This hotel is run by a family so dont be supprised when a small child answers the front desk when you call. Bed was smaller than most, stated it was queen and felt like a full..? Could have done without the narrow staircase to carry all my bag up to get to my room...no elevator. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel

Property: Jolly Roger Motel
Address: 6805 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3901
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#36 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jolly Roger Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jolly Roger is a classic Wildwood Crest family motel. One block to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jolly Roger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing