We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four winds _ roach motel”
Review of Four Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Winds
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four winds _ roach motel”
Reviewed August 2, 2008

this is going to be short because the tought of having to think about the "four winds motel" in wildwood nj makes me sick!! i think it's safe to say the four winds is the dirtest place i have ever stayed!! bugs galore in the bathroom and even in the fridge! i was so grossed out by the place that i didnt even go to sleep the one night i stayed. i sat in a chair the entire time. also the staff is rude beyond belief...do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else...the beach is nice tho :)

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — gross rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank auntieauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I can't say enough good things about the Four Winds. Great location on the beach, clean, and affordable. The pool is nice and clean, although it could be open a little later and since its heated, it was a little on the warm side in 90 degree temperatures. The staff is friendly and helpful, and I like the family atmosphere, right down to the cat who hung around the office (I forget his name, but a very friendly cat who seemed to enjoy lazy days by the shore). It is not luxury accomodations or ultra-modern, but I don't exactly want a cookie-cutter Hampton Inn type of place at the shore anyways. Its is clean, well-maintained, and well worth the affordable price. I like the decks overlooking the ocean with tables, and grills for cooking out. It was a nice place for families with kids, as it was mostly families staying there....no loud partying or anything like that. I was very happy with our stay last year and will be returning in August.

  • Liked — cleanliness and close to beach
  • Disliked — nothing...only complaint was pool water was a little too warm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psjr520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton, nj
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We go during the off season in September when they have the motorcycle rally and its tecnhically not a great place for family to go in general during that weekend.

That being said, for a group of guys its a great time. Right on the beach and close enough to hear the bikes roaring from the boardwalk.

The women here is as sweet as can be and understands that we are just here to enjoy certain parts of the bike weekend and not destroy the place. They put on the first floor by the parking lot so we can get a little crazy later in the evening and not offend anybody, its great

The rooms are always clean, and the maids are young and hot!!!

Come on down and enjoy the bikes with us

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — small pool, but im really not interested in swimming that weekend, i probably would sink
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianthehotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We stayed at Four Winds for 2 nights. The weather was great. The beach is just steps from the hotel. However, the rooms are nothing to right home about. It looks like they have never been renovated since 1950s. They are clean and functional however. We were a little disappointed that what is called "TWO Room" is really ONE room with 2 beds and another small room with a couch, not two rooms with beds. The owners were not very pleasant. When we were checking out they claimed that we were supposed to check out an hour before (at 10) and not at 11 like our confirmation letter stated and gave us some hard time about it. While we stayed there they called in police and evicted 2 adult couples apparently for jumping in the pool after hours. In my mind it is kind of a harsh treatment for something like that. Even the police was trying to tell that to the owners. (No connection with the evicted couples on my part). Finally for one of the days they called in a DJ that played 60s~70s music in front of the pool since 10am until 5pm. It was loud enough to be heard 2 blocks away. Personally I like to catch some sleep in the afternoon after going to the beach in the morning, or hang out by the pool and quietly read a book. If I want some loud music I go to a club or a lounge. I go o the hotel on the beach to relax. For what we played for it, I was expecting at least nicer treatment.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We had a great time at the Four Winds. Though the room decor could use some upgrading, the place was clean and neat. We originally were going to only stay for three nights but after our second night decided to stay for four. The manager (who was wonderful) was great about it and even upgraded our room, giving us an ocean view and letting us move in there right away. The location of the hotel is perfect, steps from the white, clean and sandy beach. The pool was a little bit small but with the ocean so close who needs the pool? The laundry and game room was also neat as was the entire hotel with the maids and maintenance people on top of everything. The other guests were super friendly and we really had a fantastic vacation. Overall, this is a great place and worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boccegoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2004

What a dissapointment. I thought we were getting something nice for the money we were paying but that wasn't the case. The rooms were kind of dumpy. Parking was a problem. The spaces were tiny and some nights we couldn't find a place to park. The only good thing I can say is that it was right on the beach. I think hotels at Wildwood and the Crest in general have gone downhill. They are overpriced and dated. For the same amount of money we spent at Wildwood, we could have taken a nice cruise.

Helpful?
7 Thank Dme1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2004

I just came back from a five-night stay in room 420 at the Four Winds. This is a great Hotel / Condo for the money. We were on the top floor with a direct ocean view. The room was very nice; it had 2 double beds in the bedroom and 2 couches in the main room that folded out into beds. The kitchen had every thing you would need to cook, pots, pans, forks, spoons, refrigerator, microwave and stove. We also had a table with 6 chairs and a big screen TV. The staff was great and very eager to help with any problems or questions. All rooms are different because they are owned and decorated by different people. Although it’s called a hotel it’s really a hotel turned condo. People own the unit and the management company rents them out when the owners aren’t there. The hotel sits right on the beach and it’s a very short walk to the water, unlike other areas in Wildwood. I like the fact that the hotel is about 2 miles away from the boardwalk. I’ve stayed at a lot of places in Wildwood and now have no intention of staying anyplace else but the Four Winds. Thanks for a great time see you next summer. The only reason I didn’t give this review a full 5 stars is because although you can tell they are working hard at renovating the property it’s not finished yet. But as I mentioned in the beginning you will find it hard to find a better value in a true OCEAN FRONT Hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#56 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#12 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds

Property: Four Winds
Address: 404 E Denver Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3510
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Winds is located directly on the beach in southern Wildwood Crest. Motel Room, One and Two Room Efficiencies and a two-bedroom efficiency are available for rent. Ocean Front two room efficiencies also available. Gorgeous views of beach and ocean from decks and most rooms. Amenities include an elevator, BBQ Grills, heated pool, guest laundry, daily maide service and a video arcade game room. Family specials available. Four Winds is a nonsmoking building. We are conveniently located just a short distance from boating, fishing, miniature golf, water sports, shopping and restaurants. Wildwood Boardwalk is just a short drive or trolley ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Winds
Four Winds Hotel Wildwood Crest
Four Winds Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing