We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been staying here for years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Winds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Winds
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We have been staying here for years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Four Winds for 6 years now. We stay twice a year, and so far we have never had any problems at the hotel. Loretta and the rest of the staff are very helpful, and go out of their way to make your experience there a great one. The rooms and property are always very clean. They have a pool and a small arcade which are great to help keep the kids busy. We love that it is right on the beach. We will be staying there for many more years!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dn1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Recently attended a Cape May beach wedding and stayed at the Four Winds. The Four Winds is an older motel that sits on the beach. The rooms were somewhat dated, but I found everything satisfactory. We had six in our party (my wife and four children - ages 10 to 18). The room had a small kitchenette, bathroom, two double beds and a fold out couch. Also had two televisions. Beds were somewhat hard, but sheets and bedding were clean. HVAC worked well. Owner, Loretta, was wonderful to work with and made sure to ask if everything was fine with our visit. I failed to mention the heated pool (older, but appeared well maintained). We were all happy with our visit and I would stay there again. If your looking for Hampton Inn type accommodations, this is not for you. Otherwise, if you want reasonably nice accommodations for a reasonable (oceanfront) price, then checkout the Four Winds. We paid $285 for a post Labor day Friday and Saturday night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMurphyEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed at the Four Winds on a holiday weekend and we had such a blast. The room was beautiful and the people that own it really put a lot of time fixing it up. I stayed in room 304. The place was clean and I can't say enough for how homey I felt. The front desk management Loretta is the nicest person to accomadate your every needs. As for what to do in Wildwood Crest: Spending time on our beautiful beach till there is no time left of the sun. Go to one of the nice resturants in the area. Do make reservations for the better ones. Then if you like the boardwalk there you can spend a lot of money and enjoy some fun!
If you are here to have a full time of needs and dont care but not to relax this is not the place for you. Go to Disney World.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappyBocaChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This place is the dirtiest place I have ever been. I would not let anyone in the family walk in the room without flip flops or sandals, cause the floor was filthy, sticky and our feet would turn black. Same with the couch, it was filthy, we had to put our beach towels on it prior to sitting down, cause the first night we arrived, I sat down on it wearing a pretty white skirt... well, the skirt wasn't so white when I got up... We slept one night the beds were clean. The following morning, I asked the manager is she could send the maid in the room to wash the floors. Ten minutes later, a teenage boy knocked at our door. Here was our "maid", with a bottle of Windex and some rags wanting to clean our floors...! I asked him if he had a mop and some soapy water to clean them good, he looked at me as if I was an alien...! I let him do whatever cleaning he had to do and asked for a refund. After arguing with the manager, I finally got my refund. We left after one night, supposed to be 10 nights, There was no way I would sleep in that filty place another night. When we buckled up our suitcases, I looked under the beds making sure we didn't forget anything....... My God, you should have seen what I saw.... The floor under the bed was covered with junk, but not our junk! Empty juice boxes, tissues, napkins you name it. I just get goose bumps thinking I slept in that room....

If, like everybody normal, you like cleanliness, this is absolutely not the place, sorry....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MlleSophie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raritan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed at the Four Winds Hotel for the second year. Really nice place. I stayed in room 402. Was very clean and up to date. Also had a very nice view. Right on the beach. I alr4eady know it's the Four Winds again next year. Say hi to Loretta and Fred when you get there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I recently stayed for 4 days at the Four Winds and had a great time. The Loretta and the staff is very friendly and attentive. The place is right on the beautiful beach of Wilwood Crest. I stayed in unit 402, and would recommend that room especially because it was very clean, roomy, two tvs, DVD Player, and has a "semi private" (based on unit location )balcony with a great ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polistena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Valley PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

To start, this was our first trip to Wildwood NJ. Tip #1, don't go in early June because it is too cold to enjoy the ocean. That said, Wildwood was a pretty nice place to hang out with the family for a few days. Very family oriented with lots of different things to do. Tip #2, there was vacancy all over the town even though trip advisor did not show it so call around.

Now for the Four Winds. It kind of reminded me of some Motel 6 rooms we have stayed in. Clean but no perks. To start, the room was an efficency with a seperate bedroom. The hotel is right on the beach with a nice boardwalk down to the ocean. The room was sparsley furnished with only one couch and no additional soft chair in the tv area. It had a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, stove top, and all the untensils, etc. It had a table with four dining chairs, which some of us ended up sitting on to watch tv. The beds were small (full) and hard in the bedroom but ok I guess. The bathroom water pressure was lacking in the shower, but it worked, barely. The hide-a-bed was almost unusable but clean sheets were provided. The view was ok from room #402, not ocean front. The pool was nice and clean although small and did not get much sun exposure. It was heated so we spent most of our time in there.

All in all, I would say average for Wildwood. Not the worst place I ever stayed, but certainly not the best. Would I stay there again, maybe if there was no where else decent and cheap. If you are looking for affordable, try the Paradise next door, it looked better cared for and was much busier. Better pool and deck area as well. If you have a few more bucks, stay in Cape May - that town is beautifull and cool.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#50 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#60 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds

Property: Four Winds
Address: 404 E Denver Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3510
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Winds is located directly on the beach in southern Wildwood Crest. Motel Room, One and Two Room Efficiencies and a two-bedroom efficiency are available for rent. Ocean Front two room efficiencies also available. Gorgeous views of beach and ocean from decks and most rooms. Amenities include an elevator, BBQ Grills, heated pool, guest laundry, daily maide service and a video arcade game room. Family specials available. Four Winds is a nonsmoking building. We are conveniently located just a short distance from boating, fishing, miniature golf, water sports, shopping and restaurants. Wildwood Boardwalk is just a short drive or trolley ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Four Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Winds Hotel Wildwood Crest
4 Winds
Four Winds Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing