We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we could ask for......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All we could ask for......”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hotel was great, and we are talking just feet from the start of the boardwalk. The pool was a little on the small side but we are there for the beach right? The thing that drew me to this hotel was upon inspection of the room before booking (which I always do in a beach enviorment) was the family room layout. Slow/old elevators but its ok.
The only negative takeway was not specific to this hotel, I called in several hotels in the area and got what I felt were elevated prices. Since there was availablilty we drove down without rooms. What we found was all the hotels were charging $30 - $45 when inquiring in person. Guess you pay a penalty for planning ahead. Anyway, i strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrilseeker125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    186
    38
    14
    15
See reviews for
572
113
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stay in the Crest Every year for Monster Truck Weekend. Our Boys LOVE Monster Trucks so we make sure we're there for the Block Party. This year my parents decided to join us last minute and the staff was EXCELLANT about it. B/c we just got the room rate and not a package they didn't charge us the additional costs and fees every other hotel wants to charge you per person per room. So that was GREAT! They have 24 hr desk service. The pool was open until 10pm which my boys LOVED! and there were elevators which was HUGE for my dad being disabled. The balcony was private, the rooms were clean...the tub/shower could have been a lil bigger but other then that no issues! We were on the 5th floor and even from there daddy and the boys decided to see who got to the 1st floor first when Mommy would take the elevator...
My ONLY real complaints were the little brats staying there on other floors, there was a family reunion and I guess noone was in control of the kids who liked to push all of the buttons on the elevators, and better yet decided to play ding dong ditch (knock & run) on the doors @ 11-midnight which woke my husband up to a startle. They were throwing Doritos off the 7th floor into the pool while it was full. The hotel has camaras everywhere which was awesome. And tried their hardest to tend to the children noone else thought it was necessary to tend to. So I would also like to THANK the Staff for being so patient and friendly eventhough these kids were obnoxious.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3boysrunmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Perfect location to beach & boardwalk... Room was larger than expected & spotlessly clean. The staff bent over backwards to meet our needs. We had a package deal and breakfast was included each day, along with a coupon for dinner at area restaurants. Though the menu was limited, the food was good. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRose636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I really tried to like my stay here, as we had stayed at the Adventurer a bunch of times many years ago, and pretty much like it then. The pool is nice, and they’re conveniently close to the boardwalk. We stopped going in the 1990s partly because other Wildwood Crest hotels had rooms and rates that better suited our needs when the kids were little. I was encouraged by hearing that they had supposedly put some effort into updating the hotel, so we gave them another try them this summer. I’d love to give them a positive review for “old times’ sake,” but that wouldn’t be fair to readers….

Our 2 room unit did not have air conditioning in both rooms. They seemed to think the old-style wall unit for one room would cool the other bedroom if they cut and framed a 3 foot by 2 foot hole above the door connecting the 2 rooms. We had to freeze so that the kids in the other room would get a little relief from heat. Thus, my title – this was poor retrofitting of a room into a 2 bedroom unit. Anyone with any common sense about air flow knows cool air doesn’t move enough from one medium sized room to another unassisted even with the door open. It certainly isn’t going to jump up through a small hole and cool a whole other room.

Unbeknownst to us at reservation time, our room was right next to the laundry room. Everywhere else we’ve stayed, there are certain hours a laundry room is open, and it is generally closed (and locked up) starting with about 9 or 10 PM. Not at the Adventurer. Some “considerate” person decided 10:30 PM was a perfectly good time to put shoes in a clothes dryer. If you have ever heard the sound of shoes rumbling around in a dryer, you know how outrageously loud and obnoxious that can be. As the kids and I were trying to go to sleep, we were treated to a sound like a dozen badly played kettle drums until 11:15 PM on the other side of the thin wall.

The “restaurant” was more like an average diner in food quality, but with hefty prices. Breakfast was ok, but lunch and dinner? A fairly expensive chicken dinner looked and tasted like a piece of baked supermarket quality chicken (at best) with canned gravy and a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar sprinkled on top.

We would have politely complained and given the management a chance to make it up to us with a voucher for a couple of free days next season or something. But we observed another guest who dared to mention something get treated like he was the bad guy for saying anything. Ok, then.

Perhaps if we had stayed in another room that was truly modernized and wasn’t next to the laundry room, we might have had a better experience. But a hotel is responsible for ensuring all guests get what they paid for, even if they’re stuck in a (badly) retrofitted room next to the guest laundry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Prof-B-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The Adventurer was conveniently located near the beach and boardwalk. It has a pool which can get crowded in the afternoon. We had problems with the elevators the entire trip, despite telling the management. The rooms need updating. The partition door and the sliding door to the balcony were broken, and the refrigerator in the room had rust stains on the outside of it!! The front desk staff was very nice though. Pretty good price for the size of the room. Overall it was just OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Pros: Great location!, clean, smelled nice, staff was friendly for the most part, private balconies, pool, game room, restaurant in hotel (we didn’t eat there though), free parking (one vehicle per rental unit)
Cons: Paid a decent amount of money and found out we had the smallest room on the floor being that the staircase took up part of our room. I mean this room was SMALL! Don’t book room 202! Pipes are very loud, especially at night. If you want an ocean view, make sure you ask for one of the higher floors. Pool can get loud at times also if your room is on the pool side. Beds are hard as rocks. Elevators are extremely slow.
Would I stay there again?...well we are not planning on it. The only reason I would recommend this place is for the location. But there are other hotels in the vicinity too so it wouldn't hurt to try another place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

nice place to stay. went w family and 2 teenagers. convenient to board walk.walking distance to restaurants,. little Italy was very good. , lobster house . room was nice. bathroom needs up dating.have to get up early to get chairs by the pool. gets very crowded in afternoon. people put out towels to reserve chairs. nice breakfast and lunch restaurant on premises. i would definitely return. planning to for next summer.. fam place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommylauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurer Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurer Oceanfront Inn

Property: Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Address: 5401 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventurer Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in all that the Wildwoods and its beaches have to offer at the Jersey Shore while staying at our oceanfront hotel! The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn has everything that your family or group needs to relax and unwind at the beach. You can wake up to the sounds of the ocean, watch the sun rise from our oceanview or oceanfront balconies, enjoy breakfast in our oceanfront restaurant or simply bask in the sun at the beach or in our pool area. From our location, you can walk to the beach, the Wildwoods Boardwalk and Waterparks, and the Wildwoods Convention Center with ease. Complete with a Cardio Room, convention/meeting rooms, on-site restaurant, Southern exposure outdoor pool and kiddie pool, and free outdoor and garage parking on the premises, we provide everything you need to enjoy a family vacation or meeting at the beach! We feature some of the largest and cleanest 2 Room, 3 Room and 4 Room Suites in the Wildwoods. At the Adventurer, we take pride in our hotel and constantly make improvements and upgrades to make your stay more enjoyable. Click here to learn more about the upgrades we have done for this season. Whether its to relax in the sun, play in the sand, explore the amusement parks and waterparks, or attend a meeting/convention, look no further - The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn is where your ultimate beach getaway begins! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Adventurer Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventurer Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Adventurer Inn Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing