We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, great stay!”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We just returned from staying at the Adventurer. The room was recently renovated, and in particular the bathroom tiling was very nice. We had a two room suite. Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant downstairs served good breakfast (can't rave about it though like others...I thought Uncle Bills was a bit better). Waitresses were very nice. Elevators were not too bad, actually better than I expected after reading other posts. So what if you need to wait for an elevator, you are on vacation, not in a rush to an important meeting. Relax or take the stairs for exercise, or book a first floor room. :) Parking was tight...made me nervous to park, so hubby did that part. Location was PERFECT...beach and the beginning of the boardwalk were right there! You can rent bikes right across the street, and quickly hop on the boardwalk. Kiddie pool was just right for our one year old. Had a game room for our older kids. If you want in room internet access, ask for a room close enough for that. We were too high up, so could only access downstairs (which was fine for us).When we return to Wildwod, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Very close to beach and boardwalk
  • Disliked — Parking was tight
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    189
    38
    14
    15
See reviews for
592
115
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

This was our first visit to the Jersey Shore and we found a gem of a hotel. Location perfect, staff excellent, room magnificent, restaraunt above average. The only tiny drawback was the elevators but they ran slow mostly upon check in and check out, but at other times they were fine. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmanicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed in a three room suite for a long weekend. The room was clean and well kept. The location is ideal, right next to the boardwalk, and on the beach. The staff was alos very friendly and helpful with any request! Would recommend highly!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing in particluar
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltoonaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton,NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My name is Hector M. Suarez from Wharton,Nj.Me and my family had a wonderfuln time in wildwood crest and we very much enjoyed the adventurer hotel stay.It is very nice,very clean and the hotel staff is very excellent.I recommend this hotel to any body who wants to stay.I appreciate the service you have given to me and my family.The cleaning crew did a very excellent job.Thank you so much to all of them.See you soon.

Hector M.Suarez

  • Liked — Service and Ocean view and also safety.
  • Disliked — Price little too high
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorWharton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Our stay was ok, nothing spectacular. The room was decent but for 236$ a night, I would expect better. The refrigerator was very old and rusty. There were spaghetti sauce stains left on the side from previous occupants.

The towels were old and worn. The shower was the worst part. It was really old and the water didn't spray evenly. It was very difficult to bathe my two young children. The shower curtain smelled like it hadn't been changed or washed in a while. We tried to shower as quickly as possible because it wasn't pleasant.

The beds were ok and maid service was efficient. Overall, I can't say it was a dump but I wouldn't go back. I've stayed in much better places for much less money.

  • Liked — sun deck, proximity to boardwalk and bike path
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mommy3littlepigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

They have a great location on the Crest! It's located right at the beginning of the boardwalk, so once you're done walking for the night, you don't have far to go to get to your room.

They have the best restaurant that serves an amazing breakfast and the service is the best we found during our 6 days in the Crest.

Our room was 401 (a C3 type) and it was very quiet since it's a corner room and there is a storage closet on the other side. It was near the stairs and elevator. The elevator is kind of slow during busy times of day, so the stairs came in handy.

The staff are friendly and quite accommodating.

It's directly on the beach so you don't have to cross any streets to access the beach.

The housekeeping staff were always ready to clean our room and provided ample towels, toilet paper, soap, etc.

They do not provide any other toiletries, so remember to bring your own. Also, they don't use provide hand towels for the bath, but give you plenty of full bath towels to use to dry to your hands.

  • Liked — location to beach/boardwalk
  • Disliked — slow elevator, which is why I wouldn't recommend this for older travelers or those with disabilities.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gammaNewington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We just returned from a four night stay - July 14 - 18th. Some background - I was traveling with my sister and her daughters -- we're in our 50's and had a 10-year old, and two 19 year olds with us. We've vacationed in *The Wildwoods* since we were little girls, and have experienced every kind of accommodation possible -- including the worst of the worst. I would consider this hotel "average" for Wildwood.

We booked a C-1 2 room suite, ours was on the second floor. We liked the second floor because of the huge oceanfront balcony located on this level (for use by the entire hotel) right down the hall. Our "view" was advertised as boardwalk; in reality we were looking at the hotel across the street from the balcony.

The room was very clean and tidy, decorated in typical 80's furniture and colors. The beds were very hard and were covered in plastic. Our room had a King and Double bed in the bedroom, and a full-sized pull out couch in the other room where the kitchenette was located. (this room sleeps six, additional charge for each person over 4).

The kitchenette included a two-burner electric stove, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, mugs/dishes/flatware. Small selection of pots. Bring coffee filters with you! There was also a decent sized dining table with six chairs.

The location of this hotel is excellent -- right on the beach at the very end of the boardwalk -- a quick tram ride and you are right in the middle of everything.

The bathroom was very clean -- no mold (for a Jersey shore hotel this is an accomplishment!!). Minimal toiletries are provided -- bring your own. There was a hairdryer, washcloths and bath towels but the motel does NOT have hand towels. The exhaust fan didn't work very well.

All in all the room was in good condition. My only issue was with the air conditioning unit, which is a wall unit that was located in the living room area. In order for the bedroom to remain cool you had to crank that A/C unit up! So, the LR was ice cold! Central a/c would have been better.

The word "typical" keeps popping up -- that's what I think about the pool area. Nice lounge chairs, squeezed together. Much saving of chairs early in the morning. SIGH. When will people realize that you don't have to save them -- if no one did this chairs would be available! The hotel itself is non-smoking. Not so the pool and other outdoor areas. I've never seen so many smokers in one place! Lots of ashtrays and cigarette cones everywhere.

This hotel had a restaurant, we only ate breakfast there and it was very good. The food was plentiful, I'd say the pricing was standard for a resort area that makes the majority of their money in a short season. Try the pancakes -- they were very good!

This hotel has an elevator and a parking garage. Still, parking is tight as it is at every other Wildwood hotel.

  • Liked — Location, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — pool area smokers, no central air conditioning (wall only units)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank up4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,002 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurer Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurer Oceanfront Inn

Property: Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Address: 5401 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventurer Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in all that the Wildwoods and its beaches have to offer at the Jersey Shore while staying at our oceanfront hotel! The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn has everything that your family or group needs to relax and unwind at the beach. You can wake up to the sounds of the ocean, watch the sun rise from our oceanview or oceanfront balconies, enjoy breakfast in our oceanfront restaurant or simply bask in the sun at the beach or in our pool area. From our location, you can walk to the beach, the Wildwoods Boardwalk and Waterparks, and the Wildwoods Convention Center with ease. Complete with a Cardio Room, convention/meeting rooms, on-site restaurant, Southern exposure outdoor pool and kiddie pool, and free outdoor and garage parking on the premises, we provide everything you need to enjoy a family vacation or meeting at the beach! We feature some of the largest and cleanest 2 Room, 3 Room and 4 Room Suites in the Wildwoods. At the Adventurer, we take pride in our hotel and constantly make improvements and upgrades to make your stay more enjoyable. Click here to learn more about the upgrades we have done for this season. Whether its to relax in the sun, play in the sand, explore the amusement parks and waterparks, or attend a meeting/convention, look no further - The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn is where your ultimate beach getaway begins! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adventurer Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventurer Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Adventurer Inn Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing