We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back after 30 Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Back after 30 Years”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It has been 30 years since I had stayed at the Adventurer. It holds many fond memories of going there with my parents and a time my wife and very young daughter went one Sept. So, it was with some reservation that we returned. Would it live up to our memories or would it be old and tired?

It exceeded our memories and it was up to date and great. The whole place seems to have been redone. The exterior is sharp and crisp. The pool and pool area very nice (my son spent hours in the pool). AN upper deck has a great view of the ocean. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Towels at the front desk. Upper deck has some tables for eating at as well which was nice.

We stayed on the fifth floor and the kitchens had been renovated the year before. Clean, spacious and comfy. Ours was a 2 room suite. The bedroom had a king and a double bed. The kitchen area a sofa bed.

Beds were very comfortable, good pillows and roomy. Kitchen area had the sofa bed, a overstuffed chair, table with four chairs and well equipped kitchen. Nice size fridge and dishes, pots pans etc...

Bathroom is very nice. Not a prefab shower, but full size tub with tile all around. Good water pressure and well done. Lots of storage all around.

Underground parking is also nice. Staff friendly and helpful.

Location is right at the end of the boardwalk, which is a nice bonus.

Only disappointments - elevators are slow. Limited parking, we had two cars and had to park one on street - about 2 blocks away. Not bad.

Great memories of old - nice new ones to add.

Room Tip: Fifth and Sixth floors are nice. Ocean side rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Much thanks for sharing your experiences and memories with us! It's so exciting and wonderful to hear how our guests create memories with us from generation to generation. You seem to have enjoyed all of the upgrades and work that we have done throughout the years, which makes us smile. Your pleasure is our number one priority. As for the slow elevators...you are right. We continue to upgrade our elevators and to explore new ways to make them faster and more efficient. But, we just haven't figured out how to move the high volume of guests around as fast as we would like. Nonetheless, we are still trying!! Also, we understand that it is inconvenient to have to park a second vehicle at another location. Thank you for understanding. If we could we would park everyone's second car.
We hope to see you again very soon...even if it takes another 30 years...we will be here waiting:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    189
    38
    14
    15
See reviews for
592
115
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enola, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been staying here now since 2006. It is one of the nicest places to stay, and very well maintained. You can tell all the hard work put in by the adventurer inn staff. Every year something is new, upgraded or added to the property. Staff is always nice and willing to help. Would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty! We love to see returning guests each year. It's nice to hear that you notice that we try to keep upgrading our property with each new year, Much thanks for taking the time to let others now how you feel about us...we think that you are pretty special too! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are no "bad surprises" at the Adventurer Oceanfront. The staff here knows what customer service is and you feel it. The rooms are big, well appointed and very clean. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol410Albany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! It's nice to hear when we have exceeded our guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from a mini family vacation (6/21-24) with husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 joyful grandsons 5 and 2. The bad thing about our vacay was toooo short but good thing is we are looking forward to coming back in August. My husband, mother and I would annually bring the children to Adventurer when they were younger and now to continue the tradition with the next generation was a blessing for us.

Although the Adventurer was upgraded and beautifully renovated, the staff remains the same; professional, hospitable and most importantly caring. Our oceanfront room was emmaculent and with two small boys housekeeping kept it that way. I highly recommend an oceanfront room as the sea breeze is Mother Natures own sleeping sedative.

My family has traveled the Caribbean and Mexico extensively but there is nothing like Jerseyshore and The Adventurer will always be our 2nd home!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend an oceanfront room as the sea breeze is Mother Natures own sleeping sedative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouplesLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you are bringing the next generations to the Wildwoods and the Adventurer! Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your wonderful vacation. We agree with you...nothing beats sleeping to the sound of the ocean and the crashing waves! We are always happy to hear our guests considering us their 2nd home because we consider you our exended family!! We look forward to seeing you again in August. Until then, stay cool:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013. Nice location -- Its just yards from the start of the boardwalk in Wildwood Crest. We bought a package that included breakfast every morning in the little, pleasant, retro-pancake house. The breakfasts were simple and a nice start to the day. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. We got a C1 style suite. It was fine for the money. Quite spacious and everything worked. The carpet and furniture was a little worn. The housekeeping staff did a good job of clean up every day, though didn't wipe the table. Overall the room and hotel were clean. The Adventurer has a nice, heated pool which my four year old loved. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. On the downside, I didn't realize I had to pay part of the bill up front in cash since I got one of the packages. I can't remember if I was told this on the phone or not, so must give the hotel the benefit of the doubt there. Still, in this age of debit cards feels weird to have to pay cash for a hotel bill. Another downside is view. Our room was billed as having a "boardwalk view.". Technically, this was true. You could see the corner of the boardwalk and a decent little slice of beach and ocean which was nice. But most of the view was of the hotel next to us. All in all though, my family had a terrific time in Wildwood Crest and would probably stay in this hotel again. We weent bowled over by it in the first few minutes, but it definitely grew on us. Everyone staying in the hotel that we saw had a smile on their face and seemed happy to be there (including us), and many seemed like return customers so that says a lot. Nice proximity to the beach and the excellent Wildwood Crest beach-front bike trail which we used a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metaldog213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you. I would like you to know that I am going to follow-up with the Housekeeping staff to ensure that nothing in the rooms is overlooked again. Also, I just wanted you to know that sometimes our packages are available for the poolside rooms at no additional charge. Of course, this is based on availability. Each package has it's own limitations, but if you would like to try different view next time just ask our Reservation specialists if one is available when you make your reservation. We can't wait to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Adventurer probably a dozen times over the past few years and we have never had a single bad experience. We have also tried other places in Wildwood occasionally (mostly in the offseason when the Adventurer is closed), but we keep coming back to this wonderful place. Here are the reasons we love it so much:

1. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION - this cannot be overstated. The Adventurer offers the best of both the Wildwood boardwalk and the Crest beach based on its location right at the southern end of the boardwalk. With a quick crossing of the street, you can be right on the beach or right on the boardwalk. It's the best spot for people-watching as well as bike riding - feet from the boardwalk (where you can bike til 11AM) and at the beginning of the promenade (where you can bike all day and night). It's also the closest hotel in the Crest to the Convention Center, just a short walk away.

2. TERRIFIC VALUE - Taking advantage of an internet special, we just paid $84 per night for a two-room oceanfront suite over Fathers' Day weekend. You simply cannot beat that price for such a nice room in the Crest.

3. INCREDIBLE INVISIBLE MAIDS - The super-clean Adventurer has a terrific housekeeping staff, but they are the least intrusive crew around. They don't knock on your door early in the morning and we never notice them lingering in the hallways, but as soon as we step out for breakfast, they get in and get the job done quickly and thoroughly.

4. OWNERS THAT CARE - The owners are committed to maintaining and improving this place. Every year, we notice many improvements that keep this place top-notch. They are also always friendly, helpful and courteous at the front desk, no matter how busy they get.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we will most definitely be back, over and over again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking to time to write about us and your great experiences! We think we are the best and love to hear it when others agree! We can't wait to see you again next year...or maybe again this year for another great Internet Special:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

So much fun we had the room was BEAUTIFUL cool and cozy the beds are so comfortable ....But the best part was watching the sunset and the sunrise on my own private balcony...i am checking my calendar for a weekend getaway Next Month ......

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunchLady10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management M, Manager at Adventurer Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write what you loved about us! It's great to hear that you had such a nice get-a-way! We love the sunrise and sunsets on the balconies as well. It feels like your own little paradise! We are here are ready to help you book your next vacation. Hope to see you in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurer Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurer Oceanfront Inn

Property: Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Address: 5401 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventurer Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in all that the Wildwoods and its beaches have to offer at the Jersey Shore while staying at our oceanfront hotel! The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn has everything that your family or group needs to relax and unwind at the beach. You can wake up to the sounds of the ocean, watch the sun rise from our oceanview or oceanfront balconies, enjoy breakfast in our oceanfront restaurant or simply bask in the sun at the beach or in our pool area. From our location, you can walk to the beach, the Wildwoods Boardwalk and Waterparks, and the Wildwoods Convention Center with ease. Complete with a Cardio Room, convention/meeting rooms, on-site restaurant, Southern exposure outdoor pool and kiddie pool, and free outdoor and garage parking on the premises, we provide everything you need to enjoy a family vacation or meeting at the beach! We feature some of the largest and cleanest 2 Room, 3 Room and 4 Room Suites in the Wildwoods. At the Adventurer, we take pride in our hotel and constantly make improvements and upgrades to make your stay more enjoyable. Click here to learn more about the upgrades we have done for this season. Whether its to relax in the sun, play in the sand, explore the amusement parks and waterparks, or attend a meeting/convention, look no further - The Adventurer Oceanfront Inn is where your ultimate beach getaway begins! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adventurer Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventurer Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Adventurer Inn Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing