We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventurer Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
North Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a wonderful clean hotel right at the top of Wildwood Crest. It's on the beach and next to the bottom of the boardwaalk, so you have close proximity but it's still quiet and family friendly. We eat breakfast at the hotel every morning and have been staying there for years. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Book early in the season or even a season ahead for the best availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spcraig01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    178
    37
    14
    14
See reviews for
551
101
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

There's bad and good things about this hotel. This hotel is very well located at the end of the boardwalk (south side). Rooms are wide and to my knowledge it's almost the only motel (more like and hotel in fact) with private balcony contrary to other motels where people share their balconies (because it's use to access to all rooms on the same floor). There no restrictions also for that balcony, so we can suspend our towels on the ramp, when we came back from the beach. Usually we can't do that at other motels. The only problem with balcony is that, air contionning of upper floors often drips on lower floors balconies (which was our case this year). It seems to be the case everywhere when I was looking all around the hotel. Rooms with swimming pools view, enjoy of course the view on the swimming pool, but also the view on the ocean and beatiful sunset.
Problems now: if you like to do BBQ, there's none. Maid service is weird. The maid that we were having, only knock once on the door and open the door immediately!! I also left her a note requesting a 2nd dishwashing clothe, but unfortunately only one was there when we came back. We also asked to another maid for a broom, because we broke a plate in the kitchen, and she was not happy to lend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Runners67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Adventurer Ocean Front Inn in Wildwood Crest New Jersey Has the perfect location for a beach trip. It is right on the beach and right next to the beginning of the famous boardwalk. We had an ocean front two room suite. Sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean was just great. The room was nice with a living area and kitchen and separate bedroom. The only complaint is the location of the TV. It was on a shelf behind the sofa! If you wanted to turn it on you had to sit at the kitchen table to see it!! We liked to turn the weather on in the morning to see the forecast. Otherwise we never moved our car unless we ventured farther than we could walk which was exactly one time. We just walked out of our room and walked right onto the boardwalk and beach. If you are looking for a place in Wildwood Crest and want to be near all Wildwood has to offer, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed at The Adventurer for the past few years. This year we upgraded to a Penthouse Suite. The room was very spacious with two separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. The kitchen was roomy and updated with plenty of counter space and cabinets. The oceanview was beautiful. The negatives are that the smaller bathroom is tiny with absolutely no counter space because it has a pedestal sink. There was a wicker shelving unit outside the room that towels were placed on which is where we ended up placing our toiletries. It was very inconvenient to keep walking outside the bathroom to have access to your personal items. The maid service was somewhat lacking. The beds were never fully made each day. The bedspreads were left on the floor! Are you kidding me! I have never stayed in any hotel or motel where the maids did not put the bedspreads back on the bed. When you are paying top dollar for a quality room, you do not want to return to your room to find the bedspread thrown on the floor. Does that then mean that the rug was not vacuumed, or did the maid just vacuum AROUND the bedspread?! Extremely frustrating!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgal1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sicklerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Although my family stayed at the Adventurer for many years, this is the 1st time we had a SERIOUS ISSUE. The odor in back bedroom was horrific. Smelled like something really old - MILDEW or MOLD. My 5 yr. old granddaughter developed severe headaches to the point she could not move. Called pediatrician. Put her on medication so she could function. My daughter developed a skin rash. Immediately reported situation to management. They replaced the air conditioning unit and put an "air filter" in the room. Odor persisted. Maintenance shampooed carpets. Headaches finally stopped. No other rooms available to move into. The only other place w/vacancy - rooms too small. We received NO offer of compensation for our inconvenience. Only offer was to check out early and to be refunded for days we did not use! Terrible customer service! Management did nothing to encourage a return stay or encouraWge recommendations. After headaches stopped, we were able to enjoy balance of vacation. However, the odor never completely went away. We kept sliding doors open the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed here a few times. It can be a bit pricey, especially during the height of summer. Recently, as of August 2012, it looks as though the Adventurer is trying to upgrade the hotel. In our room, I noticed fluffier towels and new wallpaper. Also, they've added an in-room safe which was really handy, considering the room we had had a broken safety latch on the door. WiFi is spotty.The room itself is clean enough. Bathroom is really small & has no counter space. *A new issue I've noticed this year...the HOTEL sets your room temperature. You cannot adjust the thermostat to cool the room to your liking. When we were there, it was almost sweltering in the room and the thermostat was set at 78-80 degrees.* The elevators are SUPER SLOW...be prepared. If you have to use a luggage cart and need to get to the upper floors it will take forever. They've added a canopy over the sundeck. The pool looked clean, not heated though. This hotel is right at the start of the boardwalk, so you can leave your car and walk to the piers or take the tram car. The weekend we were there maid service was scant...late afternoon when everyone was coming off the beach & wanting showers, there were no towels replenished. Maid dropped the towels off at the door when asked but didn't come in to make up the beds (what was the point?) The game room seemed okay. For Wildwood, this is a good hotel if you don't mind the minor inconveniences I've mentioned. It's close to the boardwalk, has a little restaurant attached $$$ (cheaper across the street), near bike rentals, and you can leave your car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We traveled to the Adventurer Oceanfront Inn for a family vacation and we were extremely pleased with the hotel. We stayed on the 7th floor in an ocean front suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. The pool was clean and there was always enough deck chairs available. The only downfall to this hotel was the (already mentioned in other reviews) VERY SLOW ELEVATOR. We were on the top floor so you can only imagine how annoying that was. Overall, we had a great stay and are looking forward to returning over Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.0 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurer Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurer Oceanfront Inn

Property: Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. and Morning Glory Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventurer Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adventurer Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventurer Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Adventurer Inn Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing