We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gondolier Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gondolier Motel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

This was our second stay at the Gondolier. This year we were greeted with a new carpet which was a nice surprise. Overall, the Gondolier is an average motel.

Pros:
*Situated right on the beach (still a walk though.... as with all motels "on the beach".
*very close to the boardwalk but not right in the middle of the all the chaos
*clean rooms
*Lisa, one of the housekeepers... fantastic
*comfortable beds
*soundproof rooms
*excellent sized refridgerator
*no "mold problems" like a lot of people complain of at Wildwood motels

Cons:
*Advertised as having a "heated pool".... yes, there is a heater but, they don't turn it on (at least not during our stay)... pool was horribly cold!!
*Air conditioning: only one unit in our suite.... loud, smelly and lovely blowing some sort of black ash (yuck) and not adaquate in cooling the ENTIRE suite.
*front desk staff has room for improvement on their social skills
*another one of the housekeepers (don't know her name)... dumped liquids off the top floor balcony right onto my husband on the ground level... containing bleach or some other harsh cleaning solvent.
*Toilet needed a new valve to work properly... wasn't going to be replaced anytime soon apparenty (after contacting the maintenance staff)
*Other items in our living quarters needing help (ex: sliding door seperating living room from bedroom .... off the track, could barely close properly)
*"Stuff" in our rooms garbage on our arrival........again, yuck

Again.......... this is Wildwood .... I have to keep that all in mind in fairly grading a hotel/motel here......... so average... but, many areas in need of improvement.

Rather clean... great location.....and those are two very important factors.

Would return..... but, in search of something superior.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Freeezing cold pool that was advertised as heated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WildwoodCrestVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
86
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

Our group, Wolf's Twirlers, stayed at the Gondolier during the Weekend in Wildwood and we had a great time! The staff were responsive and even went to the trouble of locating a VCR and extra TV for our use in the rec room. The heated pool was an unexpected luxury, rooms were clean and everything was well maintained. Brian, the manager, was quick to respond to our inquiries via email and was wonderful to work with. We can't wait for next year's trip! Thanks for all your help, Brian!

  • Liked — Responsiveness of staff
  • Disliked — Low pressure in shower.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwirlingWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

Our weekend in Wildwood was great! Our twirling group was there for the TOB Championships. The Gondolier staff was wonderful to us; the rooms were clean and the girls loved the pool! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twirlermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2007

My girls and I stayed at the Gondolier this past weekend (Wolf's Twirlers). We were there for Tornament of Bands. The kids had a blast. The room was very clean. The new carpeting and flooring was nice. The pool was heated and well maintained. The staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Great staff, good parking, and clean room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed at The Gondolier for 2 nights and had the worse experience we've had in over 12 years of travel. We have several complaints but the largest one is that the hotel was full of children from a soccer team(s) who ran up and down the balconies, banging on doors, including ours. They were yelling and screaming, throwing things... it was unbelievable. After I called the office to ask if they could quite them down a little, (7pm) I was basically told that it wasn't a problem. A few hours later, the kids brought out an amplifier system, so now we get the yelling and noise making amplified! Called the office again, no result. Noise continued until past 11pm.
If they had told us they were booking the hotel to soccer teams and would let them have the run of the place we would have stayed elsewhere. I'm all for kids having fun and making memories, but they took over the hotel. Even in our room, we could barely hear ourselves talk. When we decided to watch TV we had to turn the volume up to an extreme. It really made what could have been an enjoyable get-a-way, a mess. There are plenty of places to stay. We were very disappointed in them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — management
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask if they are hosting any sports teams
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We have stayed at many motels for Irish weekend and this was the BEST one we have stayed at in YEARS. the room was clean and the staff very friendly

  • Liked — Closeness to everything we wanted
  • Disliked — parking very narrow
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

Our room was disgusting and smelled like mildew. After crawling on the floor, my infant son's legs were black! We complained about the mildew and their resolution was to put one of those industrial fans on the floor to dry out the dampness. No way could we have that running with a baby crawling around. We asked for a new room and the woman at the front desk was rude and not very helpful. She only offered a smaller room, which we refused, since we paid for a larger room. She made faces and kept sighing as she paged through her paperwork and miraculously found a room the same size as the one we were currently staying in. Never apologized for the inconvenience. We had to cut our vacation short because the dampness and the mildew in the room made the baby sick. Will never stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#26 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondolier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Motel

Property: Gondolier Motel
Address: 5701 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4353
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#23 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gondolier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the beach and just 3 short blocks to the Boardwalk. Bike rentals, a park, basketball courts and restaurants are only steps away. The Gondolier features one, two and three room suites and kitchens. Perfect for a family vacation. Spring and fall packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Gondolier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondolier Motel Wildwood Crest
Gondolier Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing