We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Gondolier!”
Review of Gondolier Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gondolier Motel
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the Gondolier!”
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Our weekend in Wildwood was great! Our twirling group was there for the TOB Championships. The Gondolier staff was wonderful to us; the rooms were clean and the girls loved the pool! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twirlermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
90
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2007

My girls and I stayed at the Gondolier this past weekend (Wolf's Twirlers). We were there for Tornament of Bands. The kids had a blast. The room was very clean. The new carpeting and flooring was nice. The pool was heated and well maintained. The staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Great staff, good parking, and clean room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed at The Gondolier for 2 nights and had the worse experience we've had in over 12 years of travel. We have several complaints but the largest one is that the hotel was full of children from a soccer team(s) who ran up and down the balconies, banging on doors, including ours. They were yelling and screaming, throwing things... it was unbelievable. After I called the office to ask if they could quite them down a little, (7pm) I was basically told that it wasn't a problem. A few hours later, the kids brought out an amplifier system, so now we get the yelling and noise making amplified! Called the office again, no result. Noise continued until past 11pm.
If they had told us they were booking the hotel to soccer teams and would let them have the run of the place we would have stayed elsewhere. I'm all for kids having fun and making memories, but they took over the hotel. Even in our room, we could barely hear ourselves talk. When we decided to watch TV we had to turn the volume up to an extreme. It really made what could have been an enjoyable get-a-way, a mess. There are plenty of places to stay. We were very disappointed in them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — management
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask if they are hosting any sports teams
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We have stayed at many motels for Irish weekend and this was the BEST one we have stayed at in YEARS. the room was clean and the staff very friendly

  • Liked — Closeness to everything we wanted
  • Disliked — parking very narrow
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2006

Our room was disgusting and smelled like mildew. After crawling on the floor, my infant son's legs were black! We complained about the mildew and their resolution was to put one of those industrial fans on the floor to dry out the dampness. No way could we have that running with a baby crawling around. We asked for a new room and the woman at the front desk was rude and not very helpful. She only offered a smaller room, which we refused, since we paid for a larger room. She made faces and kept sighing as she paged through her paperwork and miraculously found a room the same size as the one we were currently staying in. Never apologized for the inconvenience. We had to cut our vacation short because the dampness and the mildew in the room made the baby sick. Will never stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Wow! Talk about a bad experience! The front desk staff seemed irritated if you asked any questions reguarding restaurants or sightseeing or anything! The cleaning staff was friendly but not very good. Rooms were kinda disgusting. The pool was cold so we went next door to the Attache' and then were questioned so we told them their sister motels pool was too cold for my little ones. They went right over and made them turn on the heater.
The room was SOOOOO tiny and cramped and the parking was even worse.
Great location, run-down motel.
If you aren't too picky stay here otherwise, their sister motel (The Attache') is much better!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size and cleanliness.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try next door.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dalensandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

My Family and I have stayed at the Gondolier for three years now. It is generally a family friendly place, with a pool, rooms with adjoining outside walkways, a sun deck, bar-b-qs and a game room. The accessibility to the beach and boardwalk are great. We are a big group, and have enjoyed the laid-back nature of the hotel and its employees. This is, however, our last year there because of several things. The airconditioning units make it difficult to heat the front rooms of the suites, as there is only one noisy, and often smelly, unit in the back. The units were supposed to be renovated floor-by-floor but renovation has ceased and most rooms have old carpeting (stained and mildewy) and uncomfortable mattresses. While the maid-service was friendly and attentive...they were not particularly clean. Our feet became dirty walking out of the tub and into the room (not a good sign) and my son's blanket, which wound up under the bed, somehow came up with a sticky sucking candy the first night...and it was NOT OURS. The airconditioning unit leaked a yellow liquid onto our back terrace, and although it emptied into a bucket, the bucket was not emptied regularly by the staff. We asked the second day...and after that they never did it on their own again. Even the game room, which really came in handy at occupying our kids, had many broken games in it. Personally, I am wondering if they are waiting to sell the property to developers, as they are letting it go. Too bad...it really had so much to offer.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The lack of Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here if you don't expect very much, but want convenience,
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,027 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Attache Resort Motel
Attache Resort Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondolier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Motel

Property: Gondolier Motel
Address: 5701 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4353
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#23 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gondolier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the beach and just 3 short blocks to the Boardwalk. Bike rentals, a park, basketball courts and restaurants are only steps away. The Gondolier features one, two and three room suites and kitchens. Perfect for a family vacation. Spring and fall packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Gondolier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondolier Motel Wildwood Crest
Gondolier Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing