We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly”
Review of Gondolier Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gondolier Motel
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My family and I stayed here for our annual trip to WW. All of the guests and the staff were very friendly and courteous. The pool is nice. Hot coffee and great cookies in the morning (hey, your on vacation. Eat the cookies!). Great location (on the beach and close to boardwalk). The rooms have enough elbow room, are very clean, and the beds were comfortable (even the sofa-bed my tween one was on).
I have read quite a few comments/complaints regarding the rooms. Yes, they are a bit outdated but, most of the hotels/motels in Wildwood are VERY similar. Yes there are a few hotels (and condos) that are more updated BUT you will certainly pay out the nose for (and then some). For my family, cleanliness, the comfort of the beds, management, and a decent price are the most important. We always have a great time in Wildwood and it most certainly helps if the place you choose to stay at is just as great. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I always prefer oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calm1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
90
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Gondolier Motel and were completely happy with everything about our visit. There were 2 adults and 2 children and we were in a standard room with two double beds, fridge (up to your waist), microwave, a table with 4 chairs and a small private balcony. The room was very clean and well maintained. The floor was tile (I don't know if that's the case for every room) and I think that helped keep the room from getting the musty smell that is common in some beach hotels - there was absolutely no smell in our room. The location was perfect - a couple blocks to the boardwalk, bike rentals and ice cream. The heated pool with a diving board was clean and there were plenty of chairs. The grills looked newer and people used them - I think next time I will too! On Wednesday they hosted a pizza/salad/beer/wine/pool party with live music and it was perfect for all ages and a nice bonus. The hotel staff was very accommodating, personable and friendly. It was clear they take great pride in their establishment, and the happiness of their customers. We will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: We were on the street side and it was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We called for a reservation eight days before we were to arrive August 11th. There were two options. We chose the efficiency with two queen beds. The pros were: The owner was the most humble and helpful person I have met in this field; The hotel was on the beach and the boardwalk was two short blocks away; The room and all the things in it were spotlessly clean (remember it's an efficiency with dishes, utensils, pots & pans, microwave, fridge, etc.); a free catered pizza and salad party complete with a great, piano player/ singer at mid week; and I can't forget the morning coffee and cookies. Oh, I almost forgot...even though the hotel was booked with lots of families and kids, when we closed the balcony door, it was completely quiet (as was the air conditioner!!)
The cons: the toilet tank fills veery-sloowly, and the bars of soap (take your own;))

Room Tip: This is the first time we stayed there. From the layout of rooms on the web site, I'd say you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBScott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2014

After staying at the Gondolier this summer, August of 2014, my family and I have made a list of both the pros and the cons of the motel.

PROS:
The motel is within walking distance of the beach, the Wildwood Boardwalk, many restaurants, ice cream parlors, and other fun attractions.
Most rooms have a beautiful view of the beach, being that the motel rests right across the street from it.
Aside from being in a great location, other pros of the Gondolier would include it's staff. Every staff member that we encountered during our stay was friendly, welcoming, and helpful.
The motel has a beautiful pool, which includes both a diving board and a small, shallow swimming area for toddlers.
Lastly, my family and I found it so exciting that the motel only had three floors. In recent years, we stayed at a different motel where we hiked five floors of stairs numerous times a day, so being on the third floor was wonderful. There is also an elevator available at all times.

CONS:
Rooms were run-down and unattractive.
There was a single shower curtain, but no shower curtain liner, so the curtain had to be rung out after each time we used it.
Upon arrival, we had no light in our bedroom because the lamp did not work.
Wifi was free, but the connection was horrible and it barely ever worked. We think there were too many people in the motel using it at once, because it really only worked very early in the morning - like before 6 or 7 am.
Breakfast was complimentary, but it was bad. Mediocre coffee was served along with less than mediocre "Italian" cookies. Yuck. We wanted real breakfast foods!
The maid staff seemed to fail at cleaning very well, because when we arrived in our room, there was a drawer full of food (left behind from the people that stayed there before us) that the maids failed to notice or take care of.
I'm unaware of what the smoking policy actually is in the Gondolier, but there was a man in the room to the right of us who would always sit on the balcony and smoke cigarettes. The smoke blowing in our faces made it impossible to enjoy time on our own balcony.

Overall, we were unimpressed with the Gondolier and won't be returning there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AACCEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

After quite a few years of absenteeism from Wildwood, we decided to visit the Crest again. Finding a motel in the Woods was rather tedious and disappointing, most reviews were awful. Fortunately for us, the Gondolier's reviews caught our interest, and the rest is history. The Motel is an outstanding; clean, comfortable, friendly, and on the beach. We needed a wheelchair accessible room, and the Gondolier has an elevator that made our stay in Wildwood Crest a pleasant experience. Some rooms are efficiencies, meaning they have a mini kitchen to take care of basic necessities. Families would be pleasantly surprised by this arrangement. Maintenance is a priority here. Everyday we saw the staff cleaning the pool and surrounding areas morning and night. The location is perfect. It's close to the famous Boardwalk, Atlantic City, Cape May, and Seafood restaurants. There is really no need to look further than the Gondolier to enjoy the Jersey Shore. This motel is part of a chain that is owned by a family that takes great pride in what they do.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronxseabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We thought highly enough of The Gondolier to have already booked a stay for next year. There are some things you should know before choosing this hotel. First, keep in mind that there are a large number of room types (can view layouts on their website) and for some types there is only one room like it and you will want to confirm where in the hotel it is. Also the rooms differ in style some more old fashioned and plain some brighter and more up to date. We had booked a 7 night stay and then shortly before arriving decided to add another day. Management was very accommodating though our room was booked. We stayed our first night in a different room and moved. The move was handled very well by management. Our new room was cleaned first and we were able to just shift. No hassle at all which was appreciated. All our interactions with management were very positive. Our first night was an oceanfront room. View was really great. Room was really small. It would not have suited us for more than one night. Even knowing it was small, I was still surprised at how small. But for a smaller group it might be the right room. There was a very tiny kitchen in the back bedroom. We did not even try to use it - just got take out. But it would have been a plus if there was at least a roll of paper towels. The only real issue we had with the room, and it may not be relevant for your family, was the door. Since the back room is one bed, it made sense for our kids to sleep in the front room by the door. However, we have small children, and one with autism. We felt insecure about the door. There was nothing to keep a kid from just turning the knob and walking out with none of us the wiser - not even a door chain to make a warning noise. So we blocked it with furniture and I slept out there with the kids. Our next room was really two rooms joined together - each with two beds. One of the rooms was huge and had a balcony with a pool view and the adjoining one was much smaller with no kitchen and a street view (sorry kids that one is yours!) I loved the roominess and brightness of the big room and its view and the small room was good for the kids. One small issue is that the doors between the rooms (which are at opposite ends of a small hallway) don't stay open well even with door stops and stuff piled in front so it was hard to make the place feel like one big suite. The only real downfall to the big room, and this could be big for some families, was the stove. There was a small two burner electric stove top. It was a little disappointing that it was so small but more than that, it was insufficient to boil water. Twice we tried to boil a pot of water and eventually gave up. It would not be a good room for anyone planning a lot of stovetop cooking. My brother also stayed at the Gondolier and his room (adjacent to the kids) had an amazing kitchen. Four real stove burners and even an oven, so if these things are important you should ask. Next time we will make more use of the grills. We didn't do so this time partially because they are located inside the pool area next to the diving board, which isn't convenient unless you are eating poolside. Speaking of the pool, the kids LOVED It. They really enjoyed the diving board and we enjoyed the fact they didn't shut the pool down early. I did not use the pool mainly because it was always full of happy kids. This hotel has an awesome location right on the beach and very close to the boardwalk. You really can't beat it. We stayed over July 4th and they had a catered party at the pool for the guests. They provided a buffet and a band and beer and wine for the guests. This is really a great touch and I'm told they do it for all holidays not just the 4th. I was a bit disappointed to find there was only one washer and dryer though. I always do laundry several times during a trip. Maids did a very good job. Keep in mind they aren't there all day just til they clean all the rooms, so don't expect to have your room cleaned late afternoon. There is an ice cream place in the hotel next door called Cone Crazy that the kids liked. It didn't open til 2pm though. You are also within easy walking distance of the cafe at The Adventurer (see my separate review) which I like a lot. While in our room the wifi was very spotty (my brother didn't have this problem in his room). So to sum up, there are some big pros Location, agreeable management, a good pool, some nice views, some nice rooms and a holiday party and a few smaller things we would like to change - better stove top, better door locks. But we've decided we will return again next year and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The rooms are so different in layout, style and location, you should really discuss your needs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northeastkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from a mini vacation in Wildwood Crest. First of all, I booked this trip four days before we arrived and I'm so glad that Adam and his family at the Gondolier were able to accommodate us! We have six children and they offered us a beautiful 2 room oceanfront efficiency! View was great and the motel is clean, well-kept. Staff extremely helpful with dining options, the boardwalk and beach were a short walk. My husband and I made sure to book the same suite (311!!) for next year when we checked out! 5 Stars to the Gondolier!

Room Tip: 310 and 311 are oceanfront efficiencies and suitable for larger families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,027 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Attache Resort Motel
Attache Resort Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondolier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Motel

Property: Gondolier Motel
Address: 5701 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4353
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#23 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gondolier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the beach and just 3 short blocks to the Boardwalk. Bike rentals, a park, basketball courts and restaurants are only steps away. The Gondolier features one, two and three room suites and kitchens. Perfect for a family vacation. Spring and fall packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Gondolier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondolier Motel Wildwood Crest
Gondolier Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing