We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and would return again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a great place and location. We enjoyed it and will return. Great old Wildwood feel and loved the fact we were beach block plus a nice size pool. In the evening we grilled on the bbq and sat out on the deck. Easy to go back and forth from beach and pool . Very Clean and Friendly management. Highly recommend for anyone that wants to enjoy a relaxing time but close enough to go to Cape May or the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I went there on May 10 2013 with our little dog. We were on the ground level and everything was very clean. The mattress had seen it's better day and needed to be replaced. But that would be the only complaint that I had, Lola was very nice to us and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is one place they accept dog, There is only a few in Wildwoods unfortunately.
Going there means having to deal with ''LOLA'' the owner and quite a caracter. Do not send deposit or make any reservation by phone because they do not respect their commitment. Last June I checked the rate by phone and decide to spend a weekend there. Once arrive the rate was 50.00$/day more plus fees for the dog then the quoted rate the night before. The employe who gave us that rate was not there and LOLA said it's that rate or else non negotiable. We accepted that rate because we had no other choice. We complained to the Wildwoods Chamber of Commerce and never received an answer. If you are stocked 600 miles from home and with a dog good luck otherwise select somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beach colony was built 50+ years ago one of the original motels down there. If your looking for a 5 star hotel with room service dont go here easy as that. Its a family run motel and lola does a great job the rooms are not dirty there just as they were in the 50s again is you dont like old school things dont come here also its a dog friendly motel if you own a dog you know its nearly impossible to clean up every single last hair oh wow you found a dog hair get over it. And 2 blocks from the beach there gonna be wear and tear inside and out. Kim the receptionist is great and willing to help you in anyway and lola is also great i know my 80 year old grandmother would not be able to run a motel still. I brought my dog here and we had a great time so close to the beach i will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kell110980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a very bad experience at this motel with the owner and with housekeeping.
We have pet so we decided to go on my husband's birthday at Wildwood, I chose this hotel because I saw that the rooms looks very good at the internet, and also because the add claimed to have cleaning service, none of this exists, the rooms smell terribly, they are furniture with poor and old moviliario and the worst of all the owner does not face if you have a complaint, she has no permanent staff, Kim the person we talked at the reception said that she was a friend who came to help the owner as she is an older person and crazy too. In resume we looks at the room, feel the smell and run away, we could not stay there, we wanted to talk to the owner Lola because we want our deposit back and she refused to talk to us, we went back the next day, nothing happened, and finally we decided to lose the money and enjoy the weekend as planned. We don't recommend this hotel at all as many code violations and we believe that the place should be shut down !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank javisajeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Has to be the worst place to stay in Wildwood Crest.
Rented 2 rooms for 9-21-12 and 9-22-12, based on there website photos and description.
Rooms look as if they have not been updated in more than 30 years. Old scratched, dented, cracked furniture, poorly spray painted ancient refrigerator that was rusted and filthy inside. Walls were stained and dirty, floors were filthy, would not walk on barefoot, may catch something you don't want. Bathroom was disgusting as well, soap-dish had residue from previous guest, a rusted sink with pubic hair left behind.
Not located on beach as advertised either.
Walked into the 2 rooms and walked right out, never even unpacked cars. Told the owner and her apparently only employee we were leaving due to the deplorable conditions and were refused our money back. Lola, the scary looking owner, trying to look as she did about 30 years ago (based on old photos on wall in the office), now looks like a Halloween scarecrow. She was the rudest, most non negotiable, worst excuse for a business owner I have ever met. After she suggested I leave, her employee Kim was good enough to tell us that, Lola, has dementia and tends to lose it quite often. Kim was much more helpful but limited to what she can do.
We found another motel and had to dispute the payment with our credit card companies.
As a service to others I will be posting this review along with photos to, Trip Advisor, Where and other websites as well as contacting the town to let them know of the deplorable conditions, possible code violations and fraudulent advertising.
Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this place, in my opinion they should be shut down.

Room Tip: Best tip I can give is, DON"T STAY HERE, go one block north to the Admiral, they accept pets as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DennisJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let's face most of the motels in Wildwood Crest were built in the 50s and 60s, it is hard to make them perfect without rebuilding them. Our stay was pleasant, as was the staff and guests. Our 3 kids and 2 dogs had a great time. It's close to the beach and resturants. FIrst time we took our pets on a vacation. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reds52162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
1 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort Motel

Address: 500 E Stockton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3847
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $131 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Colony Resort Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed, Large heated pool with slide, Beach block with no streets to cross,Two bedroom units with kitchens, All units are supplied with a coffee maker, microwave and a refrigerator, Free wireless internet, Tile floors every room, Minutes to Cape May, Trolley stop to boardwalk and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Beach Colony Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Wildwood Crest
Beach Colony Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing