We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“put down a deposit on a room and sign your life away”
Review of El Coronado Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Coronado Resort
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Monroe, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“put down a deposit on a room and sign your life away”
Reviewed July 6, 2006

I've stayed at the El Coronado for years, the good points are that it is on the beach and the pool is nice, but in the past few years and especially this year there has been an incredible decrease in customer service and caring about customer concerns. The El Coronados policy seems to be that once you put your deposit down they can treat you however they want and there is nothing you can do about it. When we checked in, our bathroom ceiling was leaking and there were wet dirty towels in the bathroom. Not only was there not even a simple apology but we were basically told that we couldn't switch rooms and that we would lose our payment if we checked out. Jennifer the GM is one of the nastiest people I have ever met. You'll know her when you see her. She's the lady who's walking around yelling at employees all day. I don't think I saw her smile once in the 4 days I was there, I'm not sure what she is so angry about. Maybe its because nobody seems to speak English in the hotel and the place is falling apart. Make sure when you make a reservation to ask for the rooms without leaking ceilings and be careful or you will lose your money. The rooms are great if your a 20 year old frat boy, otherwise look for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mboat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    145
    65
    57
    57
See reviews for
319
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2006

This hotel has went DOWN HILL. The new management is horrible & rude, I can't emphasize RUDE enough ...Almost $800 for 3 days and our room wasn't even cleaned, not that is was clean when we arrived. We are not picky people, but I'd rather flush my money down a toilet than sleep there again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

We have stayed at the El Coronado for the past couple of summers and were pleasantly surprised at the improvements to the property and the attentiveness to the guests. My family and I could not be happier with our experience at the El Coronado this year. I am not sure where the other reviewers stayed but it was not at the same property we were at. Management changed hands this year and I say - for the better! They have painted the building a pretty shade of blue, carpeted the hallways, changed the door locks to the new electric keys (they used to have those big metal keys when we stayed before) changed the lighting in the hallways and most of all the staff was happy to have us with them. My children and husband were in the pools all weekend and did not notice any problems other then a couple of lights out inside the pool which we noticed a maintenance man fixing later in our stay. I have already made a reservation for later in the summer and my sister and her family will also be staying at the hotel. We definitely plan on returning and can't wait to see what other wonderful things the new manager and the employees have in store for us.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We stayed at the El Coronado in mid-June and had a very pleasant vacation with none of the problems that others have reported. I have been staying at the EC for many years and have also noticed the new staff and found them to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The packages, which are offered at non-peak times, are a great value and worth waiting for if your dates are flexible. Ours included breakfast each morning, 3 full course dinners, a boat ride, boardwalk passes, bike rental, and a lunch. Other options are available like a casino trip instead of the boardwalk pass, etc. We've stayed at this hotel during peak times (early-August) and it does get crowded but this stay in June was comfortable, laid-back, and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerseyBoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

I was at the El Coronado for Memorial Day and boy have things changed. Not all for the good.
!st the good they have painted the building which looks nice and have updated the lobby and put in new lighting in the hallways.

Now for the bad. Ralph and Lucille have retired which I know for a fact because I have spoken with them but I was told they were terminated. The front desk staff is not pleasant at all. Everytime you try to speak with them about something they tell you that they have to wait for a manager to come in to solve a problem or that is just the way it is if you don't like it you can leave. The new general manager Jennifer never seems to be available to address our concerns or problems nor does she seem to be around the building. They seem to blame all the problems on the old management which I can't understand because there were never any problems when they were there.

My sheets did not look like they have been changed and the breezeways were dirty filled with debris and cigarette butts. The pool furniture needs to be updated as some of the chairs are falling apart and there needs to be more of them. Also there was no lifeguard on duty. Very unusual!!!!

They took out the fish pond that was next to the restaurant, something that my children looked forward to seeing. They are doing some renovations to the restaurant which look very nice. By the way those are the only familiar faces that you will see. Anthony and Kathleen do a great job. Even if you are not staying in the hotel make sure you go to the restaurant you will get a great meal for a good value.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Boy what a difference a few weeks, makes. I guess. In reading the posting from May 5 th, I am surprised it fell so far so fast. I stayed, along with 25 other friends, for our annual memorial weekend at wildwood. This was my 7th year, and my friends 8th. Various others that we brought varied from first time visitors to returning guests. The only pleasant thing this weekend was the Coffee Shop. Very friendly and professional as always. It was the best part of our stay here at the El Coronado.
First, when we arrived on Friday morning, we were ABSOLUTELY SHOCKED to see that the pool was very unkempt! Loaded with sand and cigarette butts! There was even a diaper in the deep end of the pool! When my friend approached the front desk, he did not recognize ANYONE. And when he asked for the manager Ralph, he was told that management had changed and there was all new staff. We were told that Ralph had retired. After complaining, the "head of maintenance" who spoke little english and understood even less, went out. My friends and I observed him try to clean the pool. He was oblivious. He even said to my friend, who did speak spanish, that it wasn't his job. We asked several times thruout the weekend to speak with Jennifer, who was the new manager, but she never came out. A messenger was always sent out. We spoke with Sue, on Saturday, after noticing again that the pool was not being cleaned and maintained properly. She showed no concern and in fact said they tested the pool several times thru out the day on friday and saturday and it was fine. THE WHOLE WEEKEND WE WERE THERE , THE POOL WAS ONLY TESTED ONCE ON SUNDAY, AND THAT WAS AFTER A THREAT OF BOARD OF HEALTH WAS MEANTIONED. Monday was the cleanest day for the pool. Sunday morning, it was very cloudy and not circulating. the filter was not circulating since friday. We noticed on Sunday that it was finally moving, but now the heater was not operatiing! And on Saturday, we found out that someone had vomited in the pool and all they did was scoop it out and throw bleach into the pool! Are you kidding me???? This was the worst visit we have ever had and might not return unless we are assured the the new management knows what they are doing. There was no life guard at all on duty. Last year, there was a life guard hired by Ralph. Chris, the lifeguard, tested the water every two hours and continuously monitiored activities on the deck. Ralph also was very visible thruout the days. This manager, Jennifer was never seen, AT ALL. As if this wasn't enough, we were also disappointed that the new management decided to remove the little pond that was at the base of the stairway leading to the pool. we loved sitting in the coffee shop and looking at it. We also didn't like the idea that there was no longer a courtesy paper put at our doors every morning. Also, there was no courtesy shampoo in the room. And the gift shop was not open. stuff still in boxes. We were afraid to even ask about that. If that was not enough, we overheard a guest who was checking out on Friday, telling them that her money was stolen from her room! And the only ones who were in the room, was the cleaning crew! she walked downstairs, remembered she had forgotten her wallet, and went immediately back upstairs to find the maid service in the room. she picked up her wallet, got downstairs and realized it was pretty thin. When she checked it, it was empty! And on saturday, a member from our party went back up to his room, because he forgot something and as he walked in, one of the maids immediately closed the dresser drawer and stood up. She was going thru his dresser drawers! When he asked for the manager, she was "out", of course. So, sue came out. She just crossed off his room from the cleaning list. That was it! Now you might ask, why did we allow all this to happen? Why did we stay there? well, we tried several times to speak to Jennifer, but she never appeared, EVER. and el coronado has the best package. We enjoyed our visit in wildwood. I am not looking for anything, but I am hoping that the owners of this hotel are reading this, so they know that the management that they hired, have let the hotel go down hill fast. I am sorry to hear that Ralph had retired. It shows that he made a difference there. She replaced all his staff with her own. And that too, has reflected our visit. I hope that if you are intending on visiting the el coronado, you will watch out for this stuff. I am hoping that by next memorial day, they will have either replaced this staff including the manager or she makes herself more visible and gets things done, or we will go elsewhere and take our other 9 rooms with us!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank broskie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We have stayed her for about 7 years to date and have not had any real complaints. The staff is very friendly, rooms were clean, but parking is a little tight. A great quiet place to stay w/ kids. Daily activities for the kids. The package deals you can get are a great value. I can't really find anything bad to say, as some others have. My family has become friendly with the staff and the General Mgr., Ralph is always willing to help even with the smallest things. Hope you go and have a great time.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#31 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coronado Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coronado Resort

Property: El Coronado Resort
Address: 8501 Atlantic Ave, at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3515
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Coronado Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coronado Resort is a beachfront full-service condominium hotel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest just minutes from fine restaurants, nightlife, the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk and just a short drive to Cape May and Atlantic City. With a variety of accommodations from guest rooms to spacious 1, 2, 3 bedroom suites, El Coronado can meet your vacation needs. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from your balcony or relax on our beachfront sundeck. El Coronado offers free poolside barbeques and live entertainment in season for your enjoyment along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Coronado Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coronado Hotel Wildwood Crest
El Coronado Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing