We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”
Review of El Coronado Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Coronado Resort
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed June 15, 2004

We take our vacation in Wildwood Crest every year religously. Since that trip is for a week or better, we try to find hotels that offer "value" rates. In May 2004, we decided to try the El Coronada for a weekend in "preseason" since we have always liked the look of the hotel. We booked an oceanfront room that had full floor to ceiling windows for a wonderful view of the ocean. I just wish that they had been cleaned before our arrival. This resort has some great facilities, but seems it could use a little TLC around the edges. While I wasn't disappointed because of my May rate, I may have been having to pay the full shot in July.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lpiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    122
    57
    54
    55
See reviews for
260
67
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 6, 2004

Every time we've stayed, we have a great time, bad weather, good weather or not. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good.
One thing to remember, for Wildwoodcrest, this is one of the best motels to stay at. The amenities are above average and I was very pleased with my room. All rooms have a wonderful view, especially the south side. This is not the Ritz Carlton but for beach property it definately 5 stars.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2004

What can I say. The hotel was everything I expected it to be. Everyone was friendly, the rooms were NICE and CLEAN :) I really liked where it was located, nice and quiet. I will be returning back, guaranteed!

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksti99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 22, 2003

Stayed at the El Coronado Resort the 2nd week of Sept., 03. We went fully understanding that we are going to be staying at a 5+ Star resort on the Mayan Riviera. We didn't leave disappointed! The resort is fine when compared to other lodging in Wildwood Crest, in fact it is above average to most. Great Beach! Exceptional management team, they really know about customer service. If the Ocean isn't your thing they have a nice clean pool area. They old wing of the Resort is a little tired, the new wings looks great.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2003

Overpriced and overbuilt. Hotel needs major updating. We stayed in one of the OceanFront South Facing rooms.. $300/night. This room hasn't been updated since the 70's. Mold on the walls, dirty carpets, broken sliding closet doors, broken curtains on balcony sliding door, shower either scalding or freezing, TV reception lousy, and the AC filter looked like it hadn't been changed in over 2 years. The refrigerator was warm and although mgmt replaced it within 2 hours, the replacement didn't work any better - I think they swapped a bad one for another bad one as it wasn't new. if you like to stay out late, forget about parking. The hotel was expanded a few years back and no new parking spaces have been added, actually some were removed, so be prepared to park a few blocks away in the free zone. If you like to sleep late, forget about getting a lounge chair, they are all 'reserved' by 9:00am.
While the hottub states that it is for use by those 14 and older, its more like a kiddy pool. While this hotel looks great from the outside and in the brochure, at these prices i expect more for my money.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2003

Great location and nice pool but the rooms themselves are long overdue for a renovation. Peeling paint, mold, dirty carpet and furnishings and clueless help.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2003

the elcoranado is such a great place me and my family stay there every year this summer was our 6th year the people are nice the rooms are clean and they have alot of activities for the kids.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coronado Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coronado Resort

Property: El Coronado Resort
Address: 8501 Atlantic Ave, at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3515
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Coronado Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coronado Resort is a beachfront full-service condominium hotel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest just minutes from fine restaurants, nightlife, the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk and just a short drive to Cape May and Atlantic City. With a variety of accommodations from guest rooms to spacious 1, 2, 3 bedroom suites, El Coronado can meet your vacation needs. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from your balcony or relax on our beachfront sundeck. El Coronado offers free poolside barbeques and live entertainment in season for your enjoyment along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your El Coronado Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coronado Hotel Wildwood Crest
El Coronado Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing