We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terribly dirty...”
Review of El Coronado Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Coronado Resort
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dirty walls, dirty carpet,dirty couch, mold, mold, mold.

The cleaning staff is incompetent. We called down to complain and we were told "they run the vacuum." Are you serious? I had festering mold on a ceiling tile and houskeeping blamed maintenance. How about everyone looks out for the guests and does their job? Also, what good is having an "ocean view" room if your window is so dirty you can't see out?

Pathetic for the price. Really sad; just because you have a prime location doesn't mean you should throw all customer service out the window.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petteys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 562 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't waste your money coming to this place!!!! We paid 3000 to stay at a dirty room!!
Dirty walls
Dirty carpet
Dirty kitchen
Dirty bathrooms ( like really change the shower curtains they only cost $1.99!!!)
I can go on and on about this dirty place. Not a healthy place to stay at..
I will never returned to this place..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vacation2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

very good location but need to improve the cleaness of the kitchen. It was a great location, pool is great and the view of ocean was beautifull. We rent an appartment with 3 rooms (EE) the rooms were big and clean. We were very disappointed about the cleaness of the kitchen: carpet is durty, walls are a mess, we ask a sheet to cover the sofa . Also we were not able to have a parking for 2 cars, we rent an appartement for 10 people... I will return but I will ask if they have renovate the kitchen before.

Room Tip: room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I’m currently staying at what they call a resort. First let me begin by saying this is far from a resort, it’s more like a motel, and that’s being kind. I’m currently staying in what they call a E room “One of the better rooms” and I walked into a room that was nicely designed, but truly a disaster. Let me begin by saying dirty walls, dirty carpets and a shower curtail that hasn’t been replaced for months, which mold was located on the bottom of the curtain. The people at the front desk have no idea on what real hotel management should be like and speak with attitudes. I’ve never left comments on any site, but I felt compelled to alert many that are thinking about staying here to really think about it before spending money on a place that personally should be closed down for a months for a major clean up.

Start with painting the walls and covering up other people’s messy habits then you can tackle the dirty carpets followed by replacing all the broken and run down furniture and replacing old kitchen equipment and the smell of dirty rags that consume the living room area. They falsify having WIFI. Their signal is weak throughout the entire property. I'm a network engineer and it's clear they don't use repeaters on every floor to ensure proper strength signal is spread across the property and they market what they call the "Internet Cafe" a bunch of old windows XP platform machines "Internet Cafe rady"
The positives have been the pool area, location and the poor cleaning people that are directed by a bunch of non talented individuals who have no capabilities in providing any leadership or direction to their own staff not to mention themselves. All that the front desk is concerned about is you signing your life away in order to obtain barbeque utensils, towels and wrist bands.. What they should be concerned about is cleaning their hotel rooms and hallways to ensure a positive experience for their clients. If I could I would check out right now and get my money back! Certainly I find it hard to digest that this just cost me $450.00 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We always come to this resort, I came for ten days and the room I had for the first nine days was great. Once the day I had to change to the other room came, that's when the disappointment began. They couldn't give me a straight answer telling what time I would have to switch rooms.. Which ruined the whole due to not being able to plan and had to cancel several activities. The attitude on the staff was horrid. Management provided me with free breakfast in which we used. My eggs were raw and when I said something, staff asked me if I know what over easy eggs were.. Not pleased. WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING HERE. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vacation453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here in prior years and it seems that every year the rooms get dirtier and dirtier. The phone was disgusting. The carpet is stained and soiled and the walls are a mess.
We payed a lot for this room and it gross. I don't even like watching my son walk in the floor.
We are finding somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello, Miss Hil: I'm sorry you found our hotel lacking this year. I have already scheduled the painters and the carpeting revisions for 2014 and would happily promote to you a free room upgrade should you permit us to host you again next year. Thank you for taking the time to advise me of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been going here for 3yrs now. Each time I have stayed in a different room . I was there in June and July and Sept. AAA AAS GS EEE, I loved each room, clean, nice and roomy. Loved the view from all rooms. The office staff and the Manager is sooo freindly and helpful whether about the hotel or places to eat. The grounds are kept very clean. All other staff in the hotel are very courteous. I feel very welcomed there. I love all the room you have at the sundeck, and you can cookout there on the grills and eat in the shade. The restaurant is very good. I had breakfast there and it was delicious and you get alot. I can't wait to go back again. Thanks for a great stay El Coranodo!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgirl24248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, BeachGirl...always glad to hear from our guests. I appreciate the positive notes. See you on your next trip to the Wildwoods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#33 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coronado Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coronado Resort

Address: 8501 Atlantic Ave, at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3515
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $75 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Coronado Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coronado Resort is a beachfront full-service condominium hotel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest just minutes from fine restaurants, nightlife, the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk and just a short drive to Cape May and Atlantic City. With a variety of accommodations from guest rooms to spacious 1, 2, 3 bedroom suites, El Coronado can meet your vacation needs. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from your balcony or relax on our beachfront sundeck. El Coronado offers free poolside barbeques and live entertainment in season for your enjoyment along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your El Coronado Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coronado Hotel Wildwood Crest
El Coronado Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing