We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Coronado Resort
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with friends. The location is perfect, right on the beach and not too far from restaurants and whatnot. The rooms are somewhat outdated but they were clean. Nice balcony with a view of the beach, we actually saw dolphins swimming from our room. The price is fair for what they offer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you, Steve...I'm glad your enjoyed our resort and look forward to hosting you again when in the Wildwoods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 565 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed here many times in the past and have been satisfied but not only has the quality gone downhill with horrible smells in the rooms, they have the nerve to charge an extra $20 a person per night for more than 2 people in a party for a room that sleep 6.

I have NEVER heard of such a thing and it is not worth the price they charge especially with the outdated room. I cant believe that they would take advantage of a family that is a bit larger than 4 people but cant afford to pay for 2 separate rooms at the prices the hotels charge.

I checked with many various hotels in Wildwood and not one other hotel charged the way El Coronado does. In the ast 15 years, I have stayed there almost every year but with the new prices they are charging, I will find a new home for my vacation. I would not recommend this place to anyone....unless you like getting totally ripped off!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hopenela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

It was dissappointing to read your comments. For the past thirteen years this hotel has charged $12 extra for additional adults over the base as does most every other property locally. This year we did raise it to $18 due to the ever increasing utility costs which would certainly be effected by the amount of persons in any one unit. As a tourist-class family resort, my staff and I aim to provide the best services to our guests in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. I'm sorry your felt we missed the mark for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just completed a week stay at this resort. This hotel was very dated. The carpet had a musty smell. The bed was very low to the floor and you could feel the springs in the bed. I had a upgraded room and it didn't feel upgraded. Had a private balcony but no screen door, so the bugs would always fly in. The gym consist of 3 machines. The cafe is very expensive. Stayed on a package deal which I paid more for and everything still cost extra if you didn't stay within their guidelines. As I went to other hotels around this one I found the others to be better. I also heard a couple at breakfast stating that this resorts quality has went down over the years. I would not recommend

Room Tip: Don't stay on 4th floor was horrible and very dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renee77y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi, Renee:

I was sorry to read your experience with us was not to your liking. We sets goals each Fall to keep our rooms modern and up-to-date as one would expect in a resort hotel this size. Our packages are also very popular for those who desire a scheduled experience of the Wildwoods. Should you allow the El Coronado to host you again in the future, please call me directly and I'll provide your party a free unit upgrade. Thank you for taking the time to advise of your stay. B. Richard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I dont understand any of the bad reviews on here. I have come here for several years and we always have had a wonderful experience. We have never met a staff person who wasnt friendly. Every time I have called to make a reservation, the person I spoke to has been very friendly and helfpul. We never had an issue at check in. Our room was always clean. It is a wonderful place to stay- right on the beach. The pool is great. I cant say enough positive things. Please take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. Everyone has different opinions, but I am actually quite picky about where I stay and I have never been disappointed. Just booked a 4 day trip for this year with my daugher and am very much looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you, Karen, for your kind review of my resort. My staff and I always aim to provide the best services and vacation experience for our valued guests. A box of our world-famous salt water taffy awaits your return. Thanks again. Bruce Richard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just came back from our first family vacation to Wildwood NJ. In the past we have stayed in another hotel, but we needed a larger room to accommodate our 1 yr old twins as well as my husband and I so we decided to look around. After several calls to other places and less than enthusiastic staff I made the call to El Coronado. I had seen the room layouts which would work best for us. I reached Paula at the front desk and she was so kind and helpful. She understood my concerns with the kids and the space and things we needed. She didn't make me seem like I was wasting her time. I made the reservations and started the countdown. We stayed Monday the 17th-Thursday the 20th.
We had a Style F room which was a 2bed/2bath/2 private balcony/Kitchen Eff. The view from the balconies was amazing. The room was clean and very spacious. The 2nd bedroom fit our 2 pack n plays for the babies. The hotel was quiet and we had no complaints at all.
All of the staff we encountered was so polite and friendly. When passing in the halls or needing anything they were so nice. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool during our stay but will next time.
The location of this hotel right on the beach was great. The sands are not as wide as they are closer to the boardwalk so the walk down to the water is not as long which appealed to us. I can't say enough about this hotel. There are many other positive reviews on this site to go by as well.
I had seen some negative reviews but after seeing some of the complaints I realized that you can't please everyone so I took them with a grain of salt. We had a wonderful time and will go back and stay there again. We are hoping to get there in August.
Thank You for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids- the F style we stayed in had 2 baths but both were just shower stall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have stayed here before! Great package deals! Our last visit was for Western weekend in May/June 2013. The whole family had a fantastic time! Thank you El Coronado for such a beautiful, affordable vacation spot! Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeannto219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at my hotel. Guests like you make my career choice a real pleasure. Please stop in my office to say hello on your next visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The El Coronado's location is the best by far! Right on the beach and also in the Crest which is away from all the excitement if that is what your looking for. Staff is top notch and rooms are clean. Pool is great and I love that they have gas grills on the patio area which I can attest are thoroughly cleaned every night.
The only thing is that darn balcony light! I wish we can turn that thing on and off by ourselves because at night when sitting it attracts the bugs. They go on automatically at nightfall so it can be annoying. Wish they would change that or make the light accessible so I can turn it off. It has a cover over it which cannot be removed. That's just a minor nuisance though.
We go every year and can't wait for our upcoming trip.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you, Christine, for your kind comments! I will report your concerns with the balcony lighting to the owners. Please ask for me when you check-in this year...I have a sweet surprise for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.5 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coronado Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coronado Resort

Address: 8501 Atlantic Ave, at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3515
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $75 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Coronado Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coronado Resort is a beachfront full-service condominium hotel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest just minutes from fine restaurants, nightlife, the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk and just a short drive to Cape May and Atlantic City. With a variety of accommodations from guest rooms to spacious 1, 2, 3 bedroom suites, El Coronado can meet your vacation needs. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from your balcony or relax on our beachfront sundeck. El Coronado offers free poolside barbeques and live entertainment in season for your enjoyment along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your El Coronado Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coronado Hotel Wildwood Crest
El Coronado Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing