We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discriminating Management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astronaut Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Astronaut Motel
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Gloversville NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discriminating Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

I have been going to the Jersey Shore since I was about 5 years old. We have stayed in many places. This was our second year staying at this motel. The cleanliness and location are great aspects of this place. We had a few teenagers with us and other friends staying nearby. We were immediately labeled by management as "Troublemakers" when our kids were having fun at the pool. We were warned by management that others were complaining of our behavior. We decided to observe the motel late at night and witnessed other young adults staying on the third floor oceanview that were drinking and using drugs and roughhousing in the parking lot, along with inviting unknown females into their rooms. One of our children was actually offered drugs, yet we were labeled "Troublemakers". One of the individuals actually vomited in front of another room and we were accused of it and told we should clean it up!!! The accusations by management were outrageous and out of line. Granted our children may have gotten a little rough with each other, but it was quickly corrected any nobody was at risk. While my children were swimming at the pool, one other child approx. 8 years of age was angry at a sibling for pushing him in the water and used extremely foul language so the entire pool aread could hear. Nothing was done about that. We are now labeled and specifically told that if we are to return to the hotel we will be in serious trouble if we are to bring teenagers with us and any visitation by other family and friends vacationing at another hotel is PROHIBITED!!!! We were warned that we would be in serious trouble.

So, beware families with teenagers, you are not welcome at this motel. Age discrimination is alive and well here!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Rude and disrespectful management
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here is you have teenagers!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnsy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

Hats off to this great family vacation spot. I've been staying at the Astronaut for over fifteen years. My kids love it there and quite frankly there is no substitute. Ed and Donna are the best in service and hospitality. The rooms are clean, the pool is flawless, and the service is second to none. The Astronaut is one of the best kept secrets of the Jersey shore. I know I'll be returning for at least another fifteen years. See you at the beach and don't forget to bring your lotion.......

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixstringdreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2006

We always go there. We found it by accident but know we always go there. Its really fun and we love it....

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

We had realistic expectations of the efficiency, which was small, but completely adequate. The place was really clean and well maintained, even if it was somewhat dated. It looked like the clientele was all repeat customers ..which says alot. Lots of families of all shapes and sizes. Not rowdy (really great). The pool was deliciously heated, and immaculate. The beach was right there - on your doorstep. There was no coffee shop or sandwich place nearby, so bring your own. Most of all, the pillows were horrible. Definitely bring your own. All in all, it was a great family place. My daughter was welcome to play with the dogs in the office in the morning--which was the highlight for her.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

I have been staying at the Astronaut with my parents since I was a little girl. Now that I am married with kids, we have our own room, next to my parents who still return faithfully every year. If you are new to the Astronaut, book your reservations in April, once all of us repeaters have paid the deposit (I think that is the soonest you can book your room). See you all in August!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2005

My family has been staying at the Astronaut every June for about 11 years...it now has become a big family tradition, aunt, uncles, cousins,grandparents, and we have met some very nice families that are there from year to year. Even though the kids are now teenagers, they still look forward to going. This year we are even working it around 2 graduations!! Ed and Donna do a great job with the motel, very clean and well maintained! Great hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester N.Y.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2004

The Astronaut Motel is a great family run Motel. The rooms and pool are always neat, clean, and well cared for. The owner is always available if needed. Great value for the money. Above average for the New Jersey Shore!

Helpful?
5 Thank Dang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#33 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#25 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Resort Motel
Admiral Resort Motel
#39 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#30 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astronaut Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astronaut Motel

Property: Astronaut Motel
Address: Stockton Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Astronaut Motel Wildwood Crest
Astronaut Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing