We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Horse On-The-Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Horse On-The-Lake Motel
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Northwest NJ
1 review
“It was okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

The motel was okay. It wasn't great and it wasn't terrible. On the plus side, it was small, family owned, friendly and was away from the hustle bustle of the beach scene and quiet at night. This was not a motel frequented by a younger crowd. Being across the street from and with a nice view of Sunset Lake was a bonus. On the negative side, it wasn't very up to date and wasn't spotless. It was acceptable and for the price, you couldn't beat it.

  • Liked — Family run atmosphere
  • Disliked — Quality of the accomodations
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PWDNorthwestNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bichonlover2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

I was looking for a motel that took pets, as I would not leave my little Bichon in boarding to go on vacation. I was so pleased to find a place to bring my dog. My 11 year old daughter and I arrived with the dog to find a run down looking motel, the room stunk like urine, the air conditioner did not work properly (it was either too warm or freezing). The bathroom was old, toilet seat was very old (they could at least replace the toilet seats with newer ones), the shower was filthy. There was no phone!

Our reservation was for 3 nights but after spending only a few hours there we told Kay we were not happy and wanted to cancel the last two nights. She only refunded me for one night. I did not tell her that the place was disgusting, as I didn't want to hurt her feelings or be rude, so I told her that my dog was not happy and could not get settled.

We were also not very pleased with Wildwood Crest. The town itself was rundown, not many places to eat or even get gas. The boardwalk nasty!

Next year we'll try Ocean City.

  • Liked — The pool was clean
  • Disliked — The room was filthy and old/rundown
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bichonlover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

Our family, including my sister, her children with their children, my kids and grandkids, and my dachshund Nathan, and also our adopted family friends from Texas have been coming to the Red Horse each August for the past eight or so years. We love getting together and rent out half the place. The kids love playing together. The adults get to spend the week relaxing, catching up and having a ball!!! We always look forward to coming back. From the youngest (two years old) to the oldest (63) we enjoy fun filled days and (some) quiet nights sitting on the deck enjoying the lake. It's almost time to go again. Can't wait!!!! Rose

  • Liked — Upper deck and lake views.
  • Disliked — No central air
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoMe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

This was the first year that we had a dog, so we had to find a motel that took dogs. The Red Horse was one of only a handful in Wildwood that did take dogs, and we hoped for the best. The motel ended up being really great--we got an apartment style room with two bedrooms and when we got there, I was shocked at how big the bedrooms actually were. The motel is right on the bay/lake, but also only three or four blocks from the beach. It was fantastic! Everyone at the motel had a dog or two with them, and all of the dogs got along and the owners were friendly and cleaned up after their dogs. We only have one complaint: the owners blasted doo-wop music the whole weekend and we all hated it, including my parents who are middle-aged, so it wasn't just an issue of generation gap. Sometimes you just want quiet, especially when you are relaxing down the shore. We had to close the windows and door if we wanted peace. I don't know if that music is played all summer long, or just on holiday weekends (we went for Memorial Day), but it was annoying. Other than that, we all loved the motel, and would probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Location near bay AND ocean; pet-friendly; large rooms
  • Disliked — constant loud doo-wop music
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lishi8983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folcroft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

I really enjoyed this motel better than any other Pet Friendly motel in Wildwood. It was cleaner than some regular motels that I've stayed at. Kay and husband were very friendly and hospitable.
The place has a great view of Sunset Lake and it is in a quiet location by the Bay. Would definitely go back again!

  • Liked — clean and very spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dquigley704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

Great place to stay, especially if you want to bring your dog. My family and I stayed in the VIP cottage and it was wonderful. The owner is very flexible. The cleaning staff is great. It is a quiet but family friendly motel. I'm looking forward to staying there again this summer.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

I brought my two chihuahuas over to the Red Horse and they had a blast. It's right across the street from the lake where they have plastic bags available to easily curb your pet. Garbage cans are everywhere for ease of use. Someone mentioned that you shouldn't let your dogs in the lake or else they might get sick. I did see a swimming competition in that same lake, so it can't be that polluted.

The Motel itself has a great pool, although dogs are not allowed in the pool. The rooms are nice, although we got a small one (#10). The chairs on the balcony have a great place to sit and watch the sunset. Lots of other dogs staying in the hotel and we never had a problem sleeping with barking at night.

There's a nice dog-friendly beach in nearby cape may called Higuey (pronounced Hig-Bee) Beach. To get there, go over a bridge then make the first right. Follow that road until it says "No outlet". Keep following until you get to a dirt road. Follow the dirt road until the end and you can park there. It's right next to the ferry. You can see the ferry passing by. Lots of other dogs & fisherman on the beach and it's relatively quiet.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gilwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Coronado Resort
El Coronado Resort
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#53 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse On-The-Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse On-The-Lake Motel

Property: Red Horse On-The-Lake Motel
Address: 7705 New Jersey Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-1266
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Red Horse Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing