We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Attitude”
Review of Park Lane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Lane Resort
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
South Brunswick, NJ
Reviewed August 13, 2003

The hotel rooms, grounds, and pool were immaculate! The management seemed to be focused on serving their guests, and keeping non guests from disrupting them. Service personnel could be seen each morning cleaning the walkway around the pool and rooms with spray bottles and scrub brushes! The manager was sweeping the expansion slots around the grounds, cleaning the BBQ grills, and sweeping the pool each morning.
The rooms were exceptionally clean, and provided more than adequate space and amenities for my family (two boys 7 & 9, my wife and myself).
One block to the beach, and far enough from the boardwalk that you couldn't hear it at night - but close enough to walk.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

156 - 162 of 164 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed July 8, 2003

I completely agree with the previous reviews. The management of this motel came close to spoiling our family vacation. "Jim" is extremely rude, and made our stay absolutely horrible. We tried to stay away from the motel as much as possible.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
north jersey
Reviewed June 15, 2003

i wish i didnt have to go looking for a different place each year in wilwood crest. Last year i stayed with 2 of my friends at park lane. We were of age and definatly adults but why is the manager there so rude?? I was reading another post and saw that another family had the same problem. We had one friend kicked out of our room for no reason. They didnt pay to be there so he gave them the boot! It wasnt like it was midnight and we were partying or anything. no it was day time and we had just arived a few hours earlier. We just wanted to show our friends who were staying in the Pan Am our hotel. This year im trying out a different hotel. One whos employees welcome you instead of terrogate you all the time. Nothing was too excellent there except that the room was okay for such a crappy hotel.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2003

After reading the previous review I could not agree more. The management is so rude that we too will not be visiting Park Lane again. My parents took us to Park Lane when we were very small throughout the years. We went back as a family this past summer only to be welcomed or I shall say unwelcomed by the Manager Jim. While we did not let him ruin our vacation he was extremely rude in every aspect. From his nasty negative ways about him and exactly as the other review stated, his patrolling of the pool and rooms. This is a family place, not filled wiht 18 yr old. Which is how we felt we were treated. We had family that visited us and he immediately called up to our room stating no guests. We felt we were being watched and patroled and was very unwelcoming. I am not searching on the internet to find another motel to stay at. LIke I said my family has very fond memories of Park Lane and it was unfortunate that poor, nasty, unwelcoming Management can spoil our last memory there!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2002

To whom it may concern:

I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Wildwood Crest N.J. My family and I stayed in a 2 room efficiency at the Park Lane Motel. The motel had many positive features, such as excellent location and wonderful pool that was very well maintained. On the negative side, there were no family activities, the pool closed at 7pm, and often opened late, and the shuffleboard courts were covered by a table. The room was small, but OK.

However, after our experience with the management, we will never stay at this motel again. From arrival, the manager was rude and continued to be rude throughout our visit. When we arrived at the motel, after a 6 hour drive with 3 kids (9:PM Saturday August 3), the office was closed. This was very frustrating, as we called ahead to let the manager know that we would be late (as late as 12 pm). We rang the bell and no one came after 10 minutes. Finally, we rang again and knocked on the glass window hoping someone would come, because we were becomming anxious regarding accommodations for the night. The manager came out of a back room wiping his eyes, let us in, and proceeded to rudely lecture us that knocking on the glass was not acceptable. We found this disconcerting, as one expects to be welcomed by the management of a vacation motel.

Unfortunately, we ran into this very rude man two more times during our visit. Both were negative encounters. The first of these occurred on Wednesday, when the manager approached my 12 year old son at the pool, and directly questioned whether he "belongs at this motel". My son was very intimidated and upset about this. My wife and I were both in the pool area at the time, as we always were with our kids at the pool. After my son told me what happened, I went to the office to ask the manager not to do this again. I politely requested that if he has any concerns about our children in the future to address these concerns to us, rather than confront the children and make them uncomfortable. (In fact, I think it is astounding that the management would confront their guests in a negative manner at all.) In response to my request, I was told: "I didn't do anything wrong. It is my job as manager to make sure that kids don't hop the fence and use the pool. I didn't know he was staying here. I was doing my job. If you don't like it, you can spend your money somewhere else" (However, he did not agree to refund my cash payment for the rest of the week).

This reply did not reflect concern for myself or my family as guests, but rather a defensive and challenging reaction. The manager never apologized or even agreed not to confront my son again. I was astounded at his rudeness.
Our family was again confronted with this manager's bad attitude on the next day, when my wife raised an umbrella at a table by the pool for shade. The manager walked up while she was raising it and said "Don't do that.. Too windy". The attitude was commanding and rude. My wife obliged the request, but was certainly offended by the attitude.

In short, we found the motel to have many positive features, but the attitude of the manager to be absolutely inappropriate and offensive.

We will never again stay in the Park Lane, nor would we ever expect such rude treatment at any motel, let alone one that charges $162/night.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpandkate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank patrobert81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#19 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Ocean Resort
Water's Edge Ocean Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#13 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Resort

Address: 5900 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4228
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Beach Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#5 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $65 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Wildwood Crest
Park Lane Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing