We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cara Mara is a very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums
Clifton, NJ
1 review
“The Cara Mara is a very good hotel!”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I just returned from staying at the Cara Mara with my 10 year old son, and I've got to tell yu that we had a very nice visit. From check-in to check out, we had a very nice stay. The room was very clean and everything worked (TV, Refrigerator, etc.). The bathroom was very clean. Our housekeeper did a great job. The pool was clean, the grounds were clean. I cannot understand why there are so many negative comments about this place. I've been staying in WIldwood since I was a kid back in the early 60's and I can honestly say that this was one of the most pleasant stays we've had. I would recommend the Cara Mara to anyone who was looking for a place to stay in WIldwood. It has a great location (just one block off the beach and even within walking distance of the boardwalk). Do not hesitate to stay at the Cara Mara!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
53
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We recently stayed in Cara Mara at Wildwood Crest with no expectations...just hoping to get a clean room and a little luck from the weather. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. The rooms were a different story.The TV and mini fridge barely worked but my main disgust was with the bathroom. VERY DIRTY tub, the shower curtain had mold on the edges, the bath mat was molded as well and very dirty. It also had a very strong and concentrated urine smell. We had a motel room w/2 double beds and the bed closest to the wall had a very strange leak everynight above on the ceiling. It was a drop of water every 10-15 minutes...really spooked me out. It's sad because they could bring in more business by just spending about $100-200 per room (if they're all the same) updating it and cleaning it better. ALSO, they do NOT change sheets and clean every day, they just make the bed. I know the economy has been tough on everyone but a little clorox and lysol would have gone a long way...unacceptable. The pool was nice and the grounds were neat. Overall, not worth what they charged (about $500 for 3 nights) . I will be trying another mote and read the reviews first......good luck!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I have stayed at the Cara Mara for years. I loved the atmosphere and the people working there were always nice and helpful. This year was the total opposite. The maids were horrible, the front desk was not helpful at all. The room was dirty and when I said something they told me someone would come and check it out, but no one ever came. The last two summers I was recommending the Cara Mara to everyone I knew, but after the poor service, the crazy admin fee and dirtiness I will not stay again. I am planning on staying at the Imperial 500, which is much nicer and even a little cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Cara Mara Hotel was a disappointment. The game room was a joke, billiards table imbalanced and no cue ball, air hockey didn't work, shuffleboard court cracked and lumpy, shuffleboard sticks broken and bent. Maid service was irregular, we were there 5 nights and only had a maid 3 times. We were told that the maid didn't speak English and probably didn't realize we wanted our room tidied! The ofice staff was unhelpful and indifferent to simple requests like towels on the days we had no maid! They were supposed to open the office in the morning for free coffee and never showed up until 10ish. The rooms was very small and uncomfortable. I love the idea of casual Jersey summer fun but the sofa bed was AWFUL- hard and lumpy- and the beds were not much better. Not cheap and never to be visited again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodentmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I hate this motel, it's disgusting service staff and nasty rooms.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pretty_girl_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2008

My family and I have been visiting the Wildwoods for the past 35+ years (since I was a baby). We were very much disappointed when the hotel(s) we had previously used were all torn down to build those ridiculous million-dollar condos. We thought our days of fun and sun "down the shore" were gone...then we found the Cara Mara! Listen, when you visit the Jersey Shore, there are SOOOO many things to do, I'm not sure why some reviewers spend SOOOO much time "inspecting" their rooms, etc. This place is all privately owned, and the manger there is GREAT...he made the reservation experience easy. I would say to avoid the female who answers the phone sometimes (she has a thick accent), because she appeared much more "gruff". Anyway, we have since stayed at the Cara Mara about 3-4 times in the past two years. We have rented both smaller studios and the large family rooms...we have fiound them all to be fine. The rooms have always been clean, and any minor problems we had were addressed immediately. We, in fact, are going again in October for Victorian Week in Cape May...I would recommend this time of year to anyone, and the Cara Mara to all. Last October, the pool was still opened (it is heated), and we were able to hang out there IN OCTOBER...cool! If you're looking for a palace...you probably won't like this place. If you're looking for a great room, great location, and great price...this is the palce for you!

  • Liked — The value and location, as well as the ease of check-in/check-out.
  • Disliked — Nothing, but they could afford to put in an elevator.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthewaytocapemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsiserv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We had a great time at the Cara Mara. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The office people were very nice and we loved the Wawa coffee in the moring. It was nothing fancy but the room was decorated very nice and kept up well. We would most def come back next year. For the price, the value, and the location can not be beat.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsiserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Mara Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Mara Resort Condominiums

Property: Cara Mara Resort Condominiums
Address: 6701 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4005
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara Mara Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cara Mara is a colorful "Doo Wop" style resort condominium hosting families and couples in the classic Wildwood-by-the-Sea fashion enjoyed year after year by visitors to the Jersey Shore's most complete resort. The Cara Mara is one of the most famous Wildwood NJ Motels and features beautiful Wildwood Crest oceanfront rentals that have great views overlooking our sandy white beaches. The Cara Mara is located directly across from the largest, safest free beach on the East Coast and just minutes from all the excitement of the Wildwoods' world-famous boardwalk and entertainment district. Historic Victorian Cape May and the exciting Atlantic City casinos are just a short drive away...Planning your vacation to Wildwood Crest? Don't forget to check out the Cara Mara Specials available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cara Mara Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums Hotel Wildwood Crest
Cara Mara Hotel
Cara Mara Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing