We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, nasty motel and nasty service staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cara Mara Resort Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, nasty motel and nasty service staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

I hate this motel, it's disgusting service staff and nasty rooms.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pretty_girl_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

My family and I have been visiting the Wildwoods for the past 35+ years (since I was a baby). We were very much disappointed when the hotel(s) we had previously used were all torn down to build those ridiculous million-dollar condos. We thought our days of fun and sun "down the shore" were gone...then we found the Cara Mara! Listen, when you visit the Jersey Shore, there are SOOOO many things to do, I'm not sure why some reviewers spend SOOOO much time "inspecting" their rooms, etc. This place is all privately owned, and the manger there is GREAT...he made the reservation experience easy. I would say to avoid the female who answers the phone sometimes (she has a thick accent), because she appeared much more "gruff". Anyway, we have since stayed at the Cara Mara about 3-4 times in the past two years. We have rented both smaller studios and the large family rooms...we have fiound them all to be fine. The rooms have always been clean, and any minor problems we had were addressed immediately. We, in fact, are going again in October for Victorian Week in Cape May...I would recommend this time of year to anyone, and the Cara Mara to all. Last October, the pool was still opened (it is heated), and we were able to hang out there IN OCTOBER...cool! If you're looking for a palace...you probably won't like this place. If you're looking for a great room, great location, and great price...this is the palce for you!

  • Liked — The value and location, as well as the ease of check-in/check-out.
  • Disliked — Nothing, but they could afford to put in an elevator.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthewaytocapemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsiserv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

We had a great time at the Cara Mara. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The office people were very nice and we loved the Wawa coffee in the moring. It was nothing fancy but the room was decorated very nice and kept up well. We would most def come back next year. For the price, the value, and the location can not be beat.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsiserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

This has to be one of the worst places I have ever been to. A disgusting, dirty, old, broken down mess. Just yuck! When we checked in we were told "Good luck if the remote works for the TV, most are broken." Then when we got to the room we checked everything to make sure the TV worked and ...yeap it didn't.

Don't be fooled by the other reviews it is not cute, not even a little. The 60's style charms is because nothing has been updated nor fixed since then. This place is in need of some serious repair.

Trust me there are plenty of other places in Wildwood. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Myhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Planned a last minute trip to Wildwood last week and ended up booking at the Cara Mara for over $700 for 3 nights. The place is not worth more than $80/night. The room smelled due to the air the AC was blowing, I think the unit was from 1920. No clock in the room, no remote for the TV, shower pressure was awful. The place needs to be renovated badly. The pool is in the shade all afternoon. The good thing about this place was the location, its only a block from the beach and its in the nicer part of the town, as opposed to closer to the boardwalk where it starts to get slummy. But we did walk to the boardwalk from the Cara Mara, probably took about a half hour. The room wasn't dirty, but just old and worn out, either way, we used our own bed sheets. I definitely would not recommend this place to any of my friends or family and will definitely book somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel Room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jgreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

They called us the day we were supposed to check in and told us there is a mix up and cancelled our reservation!!! Don't trust this place!!! It left me scrambling to find something so my kids would not be too disappointed.I found somethig a lot more expensive. If they had a least given me more notice I might have found something else cheaper.
Never again!!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 7oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

the motel was run down not an updated building at all. no elevators. the office was a house and the garage was the so called game room. we paid 708.00 for three nights for a two room efficiency. the webstie we booked our trip advised us of only three hotels available yet every hotel we saw had a vacancy sign on. pool could have been cleaner. find the right lounge chair because certain time of day your in the shade. now the best chairs for sun all day are in front of kiddie pool. then there was a section of chairs that get sun all day but the gas grills are in front of you, so if the wind is blowing towards you need i say more. this motel is not for singles we were the only two single guests with no kids. the room was dirty and shabby. the bathroom sink and toilet were from the 1950's. floor was not clean and only half a roll of toilet paper. the kitchen was so out dated. could of recv radiation treatments from the microwave. the electric stove only had one pilot to cook on the other was missing. the dishware looked like 99 cent store quality and was not that clean. did not use anything in the kitchen. the beds were hard like plywood. the floor started to look good. the air conditioner was in the bedroom to keep the unit cool you had to leave it on yet at night you froze in the bedroom. the decor was from the 1980's. dark green rug, purple pleather couch, white table with aqua blue chairs with a splattered paint pattern. reminded me of flash dance. the art work looked like starving artist sale. above the uncomfortable ugly purple couch was a huge lime green painting. all the colors almost gave me a flash back from the 70's. was not easy on the eyes. i mean who gets paid to decorate this place a blind person would have done better. no disrespect for the disabled but you get my point. our last day we were finally given the wildwood guide to all attractions. for the first two days we had to figure it out ourselves. did not want to ask manager because she was only there for three weeks. what would she know. she was nice i wish her luck. not for singles, not for young couples, not close to boardwalk. you will need a car and good luck on parking. there are so many brand new places we could of stayed. do your research. with all honesty i could have stayed in brooklyn 15 minutes from manhattan beach and had a better time at home.

  • Liked — honestly not a thing
  • Disliked — see my review
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allhonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Mara Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Mara Resort Condominiums

Property: Cara Mara Resort Condominiums
Address: 6701 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4005
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara Mara Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cara Mara is a colorful "Doo Wop" style resort condominium hosting families and couples in the classic Wildwood-by-the-Sea fashion enjoyed year after year by visitors to the Jersey Shore's most complete resort. The Cara Mara is one of the most famous Wildwood NJ Motels and features beautiful Wildwood Crest oceanfront rentals that have great views overlooking our sandy white beaches. The Cara Mara is located directly across from the largest, safest free beach on the East Coast and just minutes from all the excitement of the Wildwoods' world-famous boardwalk and entertainment district. Historic Victorian Cape May and the exciting Atlantic City casinos are just a short drive away...Planning your vacation to Wildwood Crest? Don't forget to check out the Cara Mara Specials available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cara Mara Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums Hotel Wildwood Crest
Cara Mara Hotel
Cara Mara Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing