We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda grows on you...but don't expect much”
Review of Aqua Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Let me start off by saying that upon arrival, about an hour before check in time, the room (we stayed in the Beachcrest condos across the street from the hotel) was surprisingly ready with the exception that the towels were being dried and would be ready later on. That was not a problem with us as we were very happy to get situated and start our vacation and we didn't need the towels at that point yet. Check in was extremely easy and we were just handed keys to our room without any other tips about the hotel. We were told it's across the street, we were pretty much on our own after that. It was a challenge, but we figured out the parking situation and how to get into the building to our room. The room set up was great, all queen beds, and not to bad. Carpeting was just replaced, so that looked great. However, the furniture is getting a bit nicked and it makes it look old and dingy. Also, the walls were in dire need of a fresh paint job. We were given plenty of toiletries for our stay and all was well, until the next day. Our room was never made up, my mother made the beds that day and my father and I took a stroll to the front desk to inquire "why". They looked at us as if they hadn't a clue but opened a door in the lobby area that had towels, washclothes, toilet paper, etc. and told us to help our selves to what we needed. After we took what we needed, even though we paid for room service, someone came to our room to collect all our trash and dirty towels. We were told we would be first on the list the next morning for room service. They didn't come until late in the afternoon and did everything except make up the sofa bed. After that, service was fine but we were only there for 2 more days at the point. We did take advantage of the free boogie boards and umbrellas, but as someone else had mentioned, they are very cheap, but it worked. However, upon borrowing the boogie boards, they only had the small ones and we were told the rest are broken, people steal them. It's a great service to provide to the patrons, but if the hotel cannot keep up with the demand they may consider not offering this anymore. If there were any hotels activities going on, we knew nothing of them. There was not a board in the lobby or anything telling you what was going on. We never asked because we were getting a little dissappointed by this point. But the place grew on us, we had our own pool, it was small, but for the amount of people using it, it worked out great. The hotel pool was always jammed. It was clean, plenty of chairs and tables. Even gas grills, a plus. Location was the best, nearby restaurants such as Bandanas and Little Italy. Bike rentals right next door, and not even a block walk to the boardwalk. Even though we had some issues, after we thought about it, it was kind of nice because nobody bothered you and that might not be such a bad thing after all. Your hardly in the room anyway and vacations are what we make of them and we actually had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here at the end of July for a weekend shore getaway. It was the first time staying here, and after some searching around for a nice hotel, we (wife & I, mid 50s) landed on this one and it looked beautiful and relaxing.

The staff was friendly and courteous, from the front desk to maid service, and also to the attendant giving umbrellas and beach chairs (he was very accommodating!)

The room we booked (king sized bedroom, the "belle") was very clean, but very small. The room was actually quite hot too (you do not get your own air conditioning unit). We are figuring it was because we were on the top floor, and the roof was probably hot from the sun. Not sure on that though, because it was uncomfortable the whole weekend and it finally got a bit cooler on the day we left.

We were pretty annoyed by the fact you have to pay for ice. In all the hotels we have stayed at, we have never had to pay for ice... is it wrong to assume that it is included in the price you pay? You usually get an ice bucket, and are able to get ice whenever you want - free.

Do not let the term "resort" fool you .. that's a bit misleading. It is just like most of the other hotels around the area. Overall, it was a nice stay. It's a toss up on whether or not we would stay again.

Room Tip: pool gets crowded later on, go in early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattO117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I are picky, but we understand, like most people going to Wildwood, that hotel rooms in that area tend to be somewhat out of date and don't offer the comforts of a resort of similar cost elsewhere in the U.S. We decided to try out the Aqua Beach this year and were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was freshly painted, the beds were comfortable,the furniture was nice, and the kitchenette was newer and very clean. The bathroom was incredibly tiny and could have used some updating to match the rest of the room, but it was clean. Aqua Beach offers a closet with beach equipment like umbrellas, chairs and boogie boards which is really helpful if your umbrella breaks. Their pool was kept clean, which is tough when you have a lot of people using it on a hot weekend (if you're not a big fan of kids splashing around you might want to avoid the pool). They also have grills and covered outdoor seating for cooking on site. And the rooftop deck is really nice, especially at night. Lots of hammocks, lounge chairs and potted palms under pergolas. Maybe could use a little more shade is all. My only advice would be that if you like quiet during the day as well as at night, choose a room that isn't facing the pool. I chose a room that faced the parking lot with a beach view and I was glad I did. We were pleasantly surprised by the Aqua Beach and will definitely go back again. It's not the Taj Mahal but when it comes to Wildwood motels it's one of the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We just stayed at the Aqua Beach and were not impressed. First of all it is not a resort it's a motel. The location is great as it is at the end of the boardwalk and across from the beach. The room was in serious need of remodeling but the linens and bathroom were clean. All of the hallways and elevators were dirty, the
entire place needs remodeling. From what I was told some if the rooms have been remodeled, we were in one of the older rooms. The pool has the potential to be nice but the water was always cloudy. Definitely not worth the price. If you're going to Wildwood rent a condo they look better than most of the motels around.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelezC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Aqua Beach Resort is very nice! We stayed in the Largo room, second floor and it was perfect! Great view of the beach & loved to see the action with the bicyclers, joggers, walkers going by all day long! Just steps from the boardwalk, it was the perfect location. Last yr we stayed farther down the crest, and i loved this location better!
The hotel was very clean as well as the pool & hot tub!
Looking forward to may more stays here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are definitely pros and cons to this hotel but, unfortunately, the cons win with this hotel. Pros - right across the street from the beach, right next to the beginning of the boardwalk, great views, nice lobby area, nice casual restaurant. Cons - bathrooms outdated, very dirty carpet, old tv, room temperature, overcrowded pool, parking, no electrical outlets, no iron/board.

We stayed in an ocean view room which was a little too small for 4 people, especially when it came to the bathroom. Although I understand that they are in the process of renovating the rooms, there really is no excuse for the old, small tv and the dirty carpet. My kids had to wear shoes around the room or else their feet would be black. Also, there were no electrical outlets in the room except one in the kitchen area. Using a computer and plugging in our electronics was almost impossible. We should be able to sit while on the computer. In addition, we set the room temperature to 66 degrees and kept the ceiling fan on but it never quite got cool enough. The pool looked nice but was so overcrowded that you couldn't pay me to go in it. Also, we couldn't shower one day because their dryer broke so they ran out of towels for both the rooms and the pool. Lastly, the parking spaces are so tight that anyone that didn't drive a very small car had to literally squeeze themselves in the little bit of space that the door was able to open.

I wouldn't say that we would never consider staying here again, but it certainly wasn't what we expected, and I would never characterize this as a resort!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view not the ocean front since it's basically the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyvacati0ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Well were do I start, upon arrival we noticed the bed spread from one of the beds had a very suspicious stain, we called front desk and they changed both beds completely really strange?? We were a party of 4, and the room came with 3 plates, 3 forks, 2 spoons 3 knifes,3 cups 1 pot . and no frying pans
no frying pan. Bathroom very dirty, the white caulking was brown with fungus looking stains. The vertical blinds were jammed and could not be closed.
The room was oceanfront, but it had the garbage containers for the whole resort under my balcony. What a smell, especially with the heat. When the garbage was picked-up early in the morning it was extremely loud. For the price I paid for this room it was over priced. The room looked liked the 1970's. Large old tube tv no vcr or dvd, player. what a joke. This room was very small for a family of 4, costing 215us per night...Will try the Adventurer next time..

Room Tip: Reserve elsewhere not worth the price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotwheelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
1.9 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#31 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Beach Resort

Address: 5501 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4323
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#25 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $66 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aqua Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Beach Hotel Wildwood Crest
Aqua Beach Wildwood Crest Nj
Aqua Beach Resort Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing