We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as great as the reviews make it out to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
V.I.P. Family Motel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not as great as the reviews make it out to be”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here based on the reviews and was very disappointed. I havebeen coming to Wildwood since I was a child so I am well aware that many hotels have outdated decor which I can live with to a certain extent,however these rooms sre extremely outdated very small. We are a family of 4 and it was tight. The room was not that clean. Upon check in there was sand visible on the rug & hair on the bathroom floor.The maid service was awful.They did not take out the garbage..vaccum..or wipe down the bathroom. There is also a loud man who would come to the door&ask for wet towels...I hsve never experienced that @any hotel in the Crest & have been visiting for 30 yrs. They also have air conditioners over the bed. The first night my husband awoke to find the ac dripping on him. You can def find better places reasonably priced to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logansmom227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_VIP_Family_Motel, Manager at V.I.P. Family Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I'm so sorry to read that you were disappointed and dissatisfied with your stay with us at The VIP Family Motel. All of our rooms are updated each year; new, updated items include: new carpet in every room, new flat-screen televisions (smaller flat-screen in the bedroom, larger flat-screen in the living room), new living room dressers, new kitchen tables/ benches, recently powder-coated tubs and bathroom sinks, new tile in kitchens (if you stayed in an efficiency unit); unfortunately, our rooms are considered small for some people. The above mentioned updates occurred throughout the 2011/ 2012 season. Our building was established in 1964 and a large majority of hotels and motels in the Wildwoods have the same square-footage in their hotel rooms due to being built in the same era. We would LOVE to offer larger units for our guests and hopefully someday we will be able to. We have plans for the near future to re-do all of our kitchen units. Most of our units contain brand new refrigerators and all new microwaves. Our mattresses are now in their third season while our pillows are new.

I wish you would've came to us about the maid service, as we do pride ourselves in our A-1 cleanliness and we strive to maintain that reputation. We tell all of our guests upon check-in that if something is "not quite right in the room" or if anything is "needed" to please let us know. I'm sorry to read of the air conditioning unit dripping; unfortunately sometimes these units do freeze up due to windows and doors being left open while the AC is running, condensation then builds on the inside and they do occasionally drip when this happens. I wish we could've made your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Was a super clean motel however the rooms were quite small and the WIFI was horrible. I would recommend this for families with small children. We had 2 adults and 2 teenagers and it was very tight. Only a two seater couch so where was everyone else going to sit? One day I left a frypan in the sink to soak and the cleaning service cleaned it? Bring your own non-stick pan!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzmomnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just spent a week down wildwood crest at the vip motel our first time we had a great time. The owners and those behind the desk are so nice and will do anything for you. My older son went down with us and scrapped his foot and they were right there for him giving him bandaids and med for his foot. The location is great right across from the park you can sit out and watch the bands play from across the street. I am a clean freak so the place was great nice and clean. We will be booking next year just loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been coming to the VIP for over twenty years. The are always consistant. WE are used to the great service, Clean rooms, and friendly surroundings. This third generation owned motel is always accomidating and go out of thier way to make your stay a great one. My children have been coming here since they were very young. Now in thier twenties, they still look foward coming to the VIP.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with kitchen accesories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not sure I would come back here. Front desk woman was very nice however the rooms were not what we expected. Very outdated decor with stained brown carpets and a strange smell throughout. Although many like it here, I am sure I will not choose this motel again. I guess I am a Marriott girl at heart but I was not impressed with this hotel. Stains all over the sheets and when asked to change, looked like new stains were on different sheets. thank god I brought a bunch of beach sheets with me I was able to use those on the beds.

Air conditioner unit also above one of the beds kind of scary.

Lots of flies in unit due to door just having a screen and shutters but not glass.

Unit very small. You can hear everything outside due to screen doors with no closures.

Again this may be a good place for kids but not for a couple looking to relax and enjoy themselves at the hotel. Pool was nice size though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunababy7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This family owned and operated motel is one of the nicest and cleanest places we ever stayed at. The staff is courteous, and their mission is to make you comfortable. We have been staying there every time we go to the Crest. We WILL BE BACK! Their rates are reasonable as comared to the other places we know of. One thing I noticed is that people were enjoying all the things to do there, shuffle board, ping pong, the play ground and the pool. This is a number one place for family orientated fun. Joe and Diane Sabol, Cleveland Ohio

Room Tip: Anywhere is a good place, just go there and you wont be dissappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nothing negative to say at all. We really enjoyed our stay. Management was wonderful. Rooms and grounds are clean. Pool was nice. Very nice overall, repeat visit for sure. 2011 was the first year we stayed at the VIP and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V.I.P. Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V.I.P. Family Motel

Property: V.I.P. Family Motel
Address: 6505 Atlantic Ave, Forget-Me-Not Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The V.I.P. Family Motel has been family-owned and operated since 1965. We offer clean accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are the perfect place to relax and enjoy family and friends. Relax on a chaise or in our sun-kissed pool while enjoying our extraordinary view of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your V.I.P. Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing