We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff, Clean Rooms, Reasonable Rates, Comfy Bed, and Cold AC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Kai Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Kai Motel
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
reading, pa
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great staff, Clean Rooms, Reasonable Rates, Comfy Bed, and Cold AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I needed a room on very short notice. I was given their best room at the basic room rate which impressed me. I felt like family when we checked in. Yes, the room is a bit old fashioned but it was clean, the AC was ice cold and our bedroom was quiet even though we were right at the pool. Loved the full size fridge and the great water pressure for our showers. Loved being on the beachblock and the beach around there was not crowded. Priced very reasonably for a great location. We had a very good experience here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank initfrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ala Kai after storms knocked out our power in Linwood. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The location was quiet as the Ala Kai is located far from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk area. We would definitely recommend the Ala Kai to anyone going to Wildwood/Wildwood Crest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsamarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I used to spend one week every summer as a kid at the ALA KAI Motel. That was 20 + years ago...
Now that I have 2 kids of my own, I also take them to Wildwood Crest every summer and would not stay anywhere else ! We love the location, the rates are reasonable, the place is well kept and the staff is very knowledgeable about the places to eat and the fun stuff to do while visiting the Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftlaner_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Love staying at this motel. Rooms are clean, staff very helpful & friendly. Been coming to the ala kai for about ten years. I bring my grandchildren, also spend weekend there with my friends. The beach is right there. Pool and pool area is safe and clean. Just a wonderful family place. Will be there in July with family coming in from Atlanta. Jay, Joann and the staff do a great job. See you soon.

Room Tip: second floor large deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved our recent vacation to Wildwood Crest. The Ala Kai was the perfect hotel for our family. It was very quiet, the staff was very accommodating and the location could not have been more perfect. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went with my family and loved the experience. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff was more than accomodating and the location was great. Have tried other hotels in the area and compared to the experience at the Ala Kai we will only stay at the Ala Kai in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

As far as the old school du-op motels go, this is a gem. v It is not fancy, it is not modern, but it is clean, then family that runs it is so nice, and you can't beat the price. On the beach block and a nice pool, makes it great for families of little ones. We will definitly return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#34 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tangiers Resort Motel
Tangiers Resort Motel
#61 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Motel

Property: Ala Kai Motel
Address: 8301 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3609
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ala Kai Motel is a family-oriented motel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest on the beach block. Close to Beach, Boardwalk Trolly Stop, Restaurants and all area attractions. Rooms available with efficiencies and private bedrooms. Daily maid service for your convenience. Heated pool, Bar-B-Q facilities, and tropical decor. Friendly staff to help you plan and enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ala Kai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing