We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Triple "C". Clean, Courteous, Close to Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Kai Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Kai Motel
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Triple "C". Clean, Courteous, Close to Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved our recent vacation to Wildwood Crest. The Ala Kai was the perfect hotel for our family. It was very quiet, the staff was very accommodating and the location could not have been more perfect. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went with my family and loved the experience. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff was more than accomodating and the location was great. Have tried other hotels in the area and compared to the experience at the Ala Kai we will only stay at the Ala Kai in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

As far as the old school du-op motels go, this is a gem. v It is not fancy, it is not modern, but it is clean, then family that runs it is so nice, and you can't beat the price. On the beach block and a nice pool, makes it great for families of little ones. We will definitly return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have used the Ala Kai Motel for about five years, and we always enjoy ourselves. They have well kept rooms and baths that are always clean and prepared for us. The decks and grills are a nice feature we enjoy since our room always has a refrigerator. Grilling and the refrigerator save on costly meals out. The pool is always crystal clear and well managed. The staff are courteous and helpful. Jay, the manager, does all he can to accomodate any special requests or needs. The price is more than reasonable. all and all it would not seem like a good summer without some good times at the Ala Kai Motel.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are upstairs so we can enjoy the balcony and chairs in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacktravels725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent service. Very close to the beach. Very close to cape may. My family loves the crest and will be going back to the Ala Kai Motel.

Room Tip: First floor in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a great family vacation at the Ala Kai. The rooms were clean, staff was freindly and the location perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse station
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The service we received on the phone when booking the motel was excellent, along with the service when checking in. As far as amenities, the few that were in the bathroom (soap, plastic cups) had been taken from somewhere in Virginia. There was a coffee pot but no coffee or filters. When I asked for a filter I was given the wrong size and coffee leaked all over. It's "beachfront" only becuse the one building between the motel and the beach had been torn down leaving an unsightly mess. The rooms was the worst. The mildew stench was so bad that it triggered my daughter's asthma. Everything in the room stunk of strong mildew; the dresser drawers which we refused to put our clothes in, the carpet, the bathroom. Luckily the linens seemed clean and odorless. After this trip, my two daughters refuse to consider a "motel" again and insist on staying at hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcjohnson0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#31 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#39 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Resort Motel
Apollo Resort Motel
#64 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Motel

Property: Ala Kai Motel
Address: 8301 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3609
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ala Kai Motel is a family-oriented motel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest on the beach block. Close to Beach, Boardwalk Trolly Stop, Restaurants and all area attractions. Rooms available with efficiencies and private bedrooms. Daily maid service for your convenience. Heated pool, Bar-B-Q facilities, and tropical decor. Friendly staff to help you plan and enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ala Kai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing