We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be afraid , be very afraid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
ocean
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“be afraid , be very afraid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

run down , dirty , and smells of urine / mildew. and thats just leading to the room. Walkways in disrepair , cigarete butts everywhere as well as empty beer can.

rooms are outdated , smell like mildew, no housekeeping and a cheesy bar of soap for entire stay. Best part of his place is seeing it in rearview mirror.

Stay away ....................................trust me

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    40
    36
    120
See reviews for
146
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to Wildwood Crest for a three day weekend and stayed at the Oceanview. We had a terrific time. The staff at the motel were very pleasant and friendly. They helped us with anything we needed. The place was very clean and comfortable. The view of the ocean was spectacular. We had a great deal of fun switching between the ocean and the pool. I was on crutches and they were very accomodating of my needs during my stay. I would definitly stay at this motel again, and plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My sister and I arrived for a girl's weekend. Immediately upon arrival we were informed that the elevator was broken and would not be working anytime soon. We had booked and paid for an Ocean View Suite. After being assigned a 4th floor room I expressed concern over the steps. (I have a bad hip) The front desk clerk offered us a handicapped room on the first floor. We opted for the 1st floor standard interior room because there was no way I could repeatedly handle 4 flights of stairs. I was still charged the Ocean View Suite rate.
The room was clean and one of the remodeled ones so while basic, it was in reasonable repair.
It was Fire Fighters weekend, so there was a lot of loud parties and luggage cart racing down the halls. I have no issues with our hero's letting off steam, but feel the motel should have a noise curfew for the rest of us to be able to enjoy a good night sleep that began before 3am.
This is a no frills place, with an amazing location.
I was very disappointed that we were charged for a room we were unable to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeleyeslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Bronx, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The smell of mold is everywhere - even in the lobby. The toilet seat couldn't close. They didn't clean the room. The smell of mold was unbearable
I would never stay there again even if it were the only room available for miles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavirgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My definition of a Wildwood Motel
Older Motel from the 60’s
Not updated except for the furniture
Rust spots in sink or bathtub maybe on the window ledge or floor
Older style bed spread and blinds
Damp carpets
A smell that at first is not recognizable
A bar of small Soap for the whole stay
A/C works some of the time
maybe a broken tile or two in the bathroom
Internet connection ??????
Older Style TV in room
Not the cleanest room on earth
Small parking Spots

NOW with that being said, I have stayed at some of the nicest hotels/motels to some of the worst. In my opinion this Motel had a lot to offer and yes it needs to be fixed up.
This hotel is average when it comes to Wildwood Crest Motel.

THIS IS YOUR TYPICAL MOTEL IN WILDWOOD.

It makes sense to have a room that fits your stay. Do you want to cook or not. View of the Ocean or not. The things that mean the most are not for me but for my kids. They did like being next to the beach, going to the board walk at night, bike rentals, pool, mini golf, arcade. Keeping them happy made for a great stay. So if you go you know what to expect.

This Motel does not get 5 stars but 3 stars but the staff tried hard to make a good stay for everyone. :)
Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

Room Tip: Just ask questions. The front desk will do what they can to help. Remember this is not the Borgata...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here after leaving another hotel for being dirty this hotel was not much better the worse part was the dampness in the rooms the bathroom was very outdated and has very poor water pressure the towels smelled bad . The furniture and decor was good the kitchen cabinets were falling apart but the motel did provide dish soap that was an improvement if the they only cleaned the rooms better maybe it would have been ok but for the rate they charge it wan unacceptable . I would not recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelen365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is across the street from the "Admiral West" and used to be known as the "Admiral East" but changed their name to the Oceanview. Unfortunately you will find the Oceanview in a rundown condition with issues such as holes in the wall, broken or missing tile, torn carpet and wallpaper, ... etc.

Worst - for some reason the hotel has tried to nickel and dime its customers by making them pay extra for internet access. However the pay for service internet access they offered did not even work. They put me through to some outside tech service where I was on hold for ever then finally spoke with a "level 1" tech, who after 45 minutes decided to put me through to a "level 3" tech who would call me back, but then never did.

Nothing wrong with my laptop computer ... I had no problem with WIFI access when I drove to McDonalds each time I wanted to get internet access, until I discovered other hotels in the area that were providing WIFI at no charge, but what an inconvenience. In this day and age this type of customer service is unacceptable. The hotel could easily provide free internet service to its customers, but is too concerned about squeezing more $$$ out of them.

One more thing, don't even think about sleeping on the sofa bed. You will have springs sticking up into your body all night ... OUCH!!! Oh yeah - and the pool is quite cold (not heated).

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Plaza Motel
Bristol Plaza Motel
#55 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tangiers Resort Motel
Tangiers Resort Motel
#58 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
#49 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Resort Motel
Apollo Resort Motel
#62 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#53 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Property: Oceanview Motel
Address: 7201 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3809
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanview Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Oceanview Motel, our accommodations are comfortable offering one bedroom motel rooms and suites that can sleep up to seven. All suites include individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a refrigerator, phone, and TV. Our motel is stocked with a video arcade, gift shop, laundry services, wi-fi, BBQ hut, and a beachfront grill. A family friendly motel, Oceanview Motel also has a supervised children's program featuring water balloon contests, egg toss, pie eating contest, swim races, miniature golf, and arts & crafts. Enjoy family bingo with prizes, beauty parades, and hula hoops. Other activities nearby include bike rentals and a bike path directly to Wildwood piers, golf, tennis, sailing, surf casting, and deep sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel Wildwood Crest
Oceanview Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing