We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best place to stay in Wildwood Crest".”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Garnet Valley Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The Best place to stay in Wildwood Crest".”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We just came back from our Fourth of July 2008 Vacation at the Port Royal. This was our first stay at this hotel. Everything was great; the room was clean with a great view of the Beach. The pool was also exceptional clean with the staff hand skimming the water hourly. The pool side restaurant was another great feature with take out service or clean tables and excellent waitress staff with fast service and good food.
The Room we stayed in did have a small safe for your personal valuables. The room had a TV with a DVD combo VCR to play movies you can bring with you. If you have to do laundry we found a washer and dryer on each floor. I did attempt to use it by found it loaded with sand. This was done by an inconsiderate guest. This was cleaned up right away by the staff.
We found it as the “Best place to stay in Wildwood Crest”. We normal stay at the Pan American that is also owned by the same people and we stayed there for years and found that to be a great Hotel as well. We have found it may be hard to book a room due to the frequent return of guest.

  • Liked — Great staff they met all our needs and more.
  • Disliked — None !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Onegoodcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    90
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We found this hotel by simply driving around and this looked to be the nicest option along the beach out of the very many choices. Check in was simple and easy.
The property sits in a quiet location with an open field on each side of the hotel vs. another hotel and gave plenty of privacy.
The room on the 2nd floor was simple and basic, nothing fancy here but since most of our time was outside it was just fine. The air conditioner was quiet and clean. We slept well on their beds and once the patio door was shut offered amazing soundproofing since our room was overlooking the pool.
The pool was perfect temperature and was deep and wide enough for the kids and adults, closed at 7pm. They do not have room service but do feature a restaurant both in and outside. The beach is about 30 steps from the hotel and offered great views from all the rooms.
We liked it so much we stayed another night, would stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room, not much room to put down 2 suitcases.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

i booked a one night stay for me and my son.i have only one small complaint when checking in and out the front desk woman had the personality of a wet mop. i wish she would at least act like you appreciate my business.nothing not even a smile.other than that nice room ,nice pool just and overall nice time...

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We have been visiting The Port Royal Hotel in Wildwood Crest NJ for a few years now, but this year they out-did themselves! We rent the Deluxe Oceanfront suite for a long weekend getaway every June and this year we got more than we expected. "Our" room received a makeover during the winter and it's better than ever, if that's possible. The main bedroom now boasts a King Size bed that is sooooo comfortable. There are now bunk beds tucked away in a tiny nautical themed space across from the bathroom which looks very much like it belongs in a beach house. In the living room area there is now a queen size sleeper sofa that was extremely comfortable. No bars sticking you in the back while you slept. And the kitchen is now fitted with stainless appliances which include a convection oven/microwave combo under the cabinets. The stove is a new flat top and the counter is either granite or a substance made to look like granite. And of course there are flat screen tv's in the bedroom and living area. It is still a very well run hotel too. The staff keeps everything clean and they are very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant is excellent. They also started to redecorate the pool area. It's just a wonderful place to relax with family and friends. We're all booked for next year and I'm sure we'll be loyal customers for a very long time to come.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — everything is great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygrl4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Port Royal Hotel is located in Wildwood Crest, NJ. It is truly an oceanfront property. We stayed in room 520 which is a Type A room that was renovated for the 2008 season. The room is great, flat screen tv in the bedroom and living area. Efficiency kitchen has fridge, stove top, and microwave/convection oven. Living room has sofa bed. Large master bathroom and a small room that has bunk beds and sink. This unit has 2 balconies, one off the living area and the other off the master bedroom. Each floor has a coin operated washer/dryer, ice machine on each floor. The hotels offers a gift shop, small game room, they provide one computer for internet access. The hotel has wireless internet access in the lobby, though I was able to pick up wireless service from several other local hotels from the balconies of our room. The hotel has a large heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Hotel has a nice restaurant onsite along with a take out window and outdoor seating area. Parking is provided around the hotel, they also have an underground parking garage that you must pay for on a daily rate during peak season. The hotel is directly across from the beach and has two access points from the hotel. The entire staff was wonderful. The entire facility was very clean. We have stayed at 3 other hotels over the past few years and we have finally found the premier place to stay. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ok2bout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Iwe've been to wildwoods many times before and made reservations last minute, therefore we've stayed in OK places. Port Royal blew my mind away, great package, service, room and the place is very well kept, clean and neat. The staff could be friendlier to my expectations, but the place was so nice that I was able to get over their unfriendliness. The weather was perfect to make my 3 day weekend a pleasant one. Will defenetly stay here again. Our daugther age 7 had a great time as well.

  • Liked — Clean and decor
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff at times.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank borntovacationNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissalenahan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Great Hotel. Wonderful Staff. Luxurios Room. Beautiful Pool and sprawling beaches. Great Breakfast restaurant below.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms.
  • Disliked — Crowded pool.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissalenahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing