We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Labor Day Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Labor Day Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It's kind of our tradition to go to Wildwood every LDW for the last 6-7 years and I could never get room in the Port Royal until 2013. The difficulties of getting room were absolutely understandable after we experienced the stay there this year. Rooms are clean, specious and very well designed. I have noisy kids and I did not hear them at all(I had efficiency apartment). Pool is clean, good size and very conveniently located to the restaurant terrace. The hotel is right next to the beach. In addition to all, we had beautiful view(even though the room was on the site). We stayed in the different hotels/motels of the Wildwood, but this one is by far the best one in town. I hope to get room here next year as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soleg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    83
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
207
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Just a notch below the Pan American in my opinion. Location is great especially if you like the Friday night concerts. The pool is of good size. The dining at the Royal Grill was also surprisingly good. Underneath parking is a little tight but is another reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichS230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

By traveling with a group and staying the week preceding Memoral Day, we were given a fantastic deal at the Port Royal. My wife and I were provided with a large 2 bedroom suite, including a private balcony and daily complimentary breakfast. If you can afford to stay during the peak season, you will still be extremely satisfied at the Port Royal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family has stayed here for 5-7 days almost every summer for the past 15 years. It's right on the ocean. Virtually every room has a nice view. It's a 10 min walk to the Boardwalk (but thankfully not too close to it), and a 10 min drive to Cape May. The rooms are clean and the service is great. Their restaurant also has a nice (but not inexpensive) breakfast. Great place for families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The Port Royal hotel was great. It was super clean and the staff was so nice. It is in a great location, only about a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. It is better to stay in Wildwood Crest for many reasons. The beaches in the Crest are not as busy as those by the boardwalk. Now, back to the room. We stayed in the efficiency apartment. I have two small children and it worked out great. The kids went to bed and we had the rest of the place to ourselves. The room had a great view of the park and beach. One night, there was a concert in the park across from the hotel. It was great, we got to sit on our balcony and listen to music. The cleaning staff was so polite and saw that we had two small children. They asked if we needed anything for the kids. Both the outdoor and indoor restaurants were great. We ordered at the window and brought it back to our room. Good menu with lots of choices. Cape May is just 10 minutes away. THIS PLACE IS GREAT!!!!! Can't wait to go back next year!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having vacationed at The Port Royal since the early 1980s, we never cease to be amazed at the quality of service by the Staff, and amenities that keep getting better and better every year! The heart of The Port Royal is the people, people who are genuinely eager to make each stay a memorable one. The professional work of the housekeeping staff, the efficiency and pleasant humor of the managerial staff, and the beautifully maintained property make The Port Royal our "summer home away from home". Thank you, Port Royal, for all the wonderful memories! The Kolis Family, Wayne, NJ

Room Tip: The Ocean Front suites are worth every penny. The view, the sounds of the surf, and pretty much all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We haven't stayed at the Port Royal in many years because we usually rent a shore house. However, Hurricane Sandy destroyed our rental so we decided to return to the Port Royal. We had a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. The view of the ocean is spectacular, the pool is very well maintained (nice lifeguard named Anthony) and the restaurant is amazing. Especially the greek yogurt/fruit/ granola Island Bowl for Breakfast. This hotel is perfect for families with kids of all ages. The area and boardwalk and water park have so much to offer

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#11 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing