We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underated”
Review of Bal Harbour Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bal Harbour Hotels
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
river edge
1 review
“Underated”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

After reading all the previous reviews our family got quite nervous before checking in. When we got there we were expecting a rude staff. What we got was an entirely different experience. The check in staff was very courteous and helpfull. When we got to our rooms we were expecting a possible smelly , moldy room. What we got was a clean room with no ordor. The beds were a liitle hard on our backs and yes the toilets were oddly situated but overall it was no problem. The pool was supposed to close at 6.00 but people were still swimming after 6.30 with no one trying to kick them out. The hotel does not supply shampoo but it does supply plenty of bathroom towels and soap. There is a nice little breakfast restaurant around the corner (Sand Castle). Upon checking out the front desk was again very courteous and gave us our 40.00 key deposit without any problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverEdgePlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    133
    97
    79
    126
See reviews for
384
82
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Bal Harbour Aug. 9-14 This placed has it's good and bad points. On the good side our room was clean, there was no nasty smell as many people have complained about.The satff was nice we had no problems with anyone. As long as it's clean I'm happy. The air conditioning was good and the beds were not bad at all.Now for the bad side.....We had a room with the efficienty kitchen. There was very little counter space and the oven seemed to take forever to cook something. Bring some pans from home if you have your meals planed ahead......there are no cookie sheets and very little other pans. A few pots at best. No drain plug to wash the dishes with either......We had to stuff a wad of paper towels in the sink to keep the water in to wash the dishes with. They need to re-arrange the room plan.....the kitchen was in the room with the double beds (kids room) which was rough in the mornings when we wanted to get up for coffee and breakfast.We ended up putting our coffee pot in our bathroom so we wouldn't wake up the kids in the mornings.Also the kithcen table was beside one of the kids beds so we ended up eating in our room in the mornings if the kids were still asleep.The carpet was very uneven and needed fixed/replaced. I agree with everyone else on the toilets........bad placement of the handle to flush you do have to bend down and reach up under the counter to flush! The paper is near the floor in one of the baths. Not much room for towels or your clothes. The parking is horrible! The garage is very tight for suvs or mini vans which most familys had. It was wet and water would drip on your head. I guess it all depends on what your looking for. If you want a clean place with nice staff its worth it. If your looking for an updated 5 star hotel then stay somewhere else. We loved Wildwood Crest! It was honestly the most neatest, cleanest town we have ever traveled to! Neat as a pin! Very nice, clean beach (long walk down to it) The sand was soft, clean and the ocean was very clear. We enjoyed our stay and had a happy vacation :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kso86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The facility is great big pool 2 for the kids. But the pool closes at 6PM WHYYYYYYYYYYY.
The rooms are terrible beds are very unconfortable with a plastic between sheets & the beds sheets don't stay in place. Kitchenette awful only 1 foot of counter to put toaster & coffee machine that its no more room for anything else. At the rate that i paid $1700.00US for 5 days in Virginia beach at The Colony i get a CONDO 4 1/2 rooms 2 closed bed rooms 2 private bathrooms & of cource all the CONDOS are OCEANFRONT. This was my first vist at Wildwood, i enjoyed the beach & the Boardwalk but this will be my last visit there the hotel prices are way to high for what they offer. I travel alot & at Confort INN & Suites i get better rooms then what i got at the Bal Harbour. To bad because they are weel situated Oceanfront front but the rooms are not worth the price charged.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moussyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

PTCguy is so right! The worst bathrooms and beds. We stayed in room 326. The toilet is situated directly under a narrow counter so you have to twist to reach under and flush the industrial type toilet. The toilet paper rolls are on the wall but practically near the floor so you need to be careful not to wrench your back while trying to reach it. We just took the roll off and left it on the counter since it was easier to reach. The toilet seat hits the narrow counter and fell 2 separate occasions while my husband and son were doing their business which of course resulted in a mess! We like to bring our own bar of soap but it was gone in 2 days since the soap dish in the shower was directly in-line with the shower spray and it dissolved it! The 2 double-beds have two flat pillows each so be prepared to bring a lot of extra pillows. Woke up with a backache each night. The sheets are flat and don't fit properly so since you're tossing and turning due to lack of comfortable pillows you'll wind up sleeping directly on the mattress pad! Disgusting! I have NEVER been in a hotel/motel/B&B that didn't have a clock radio or pictures on the wall. The only ice machine is in the parking garage not on each floor! Whoo Hoo, there are ironing boards but they're not in the rooms, they're guess where? - in the parking garage - next to the ice machine and laundry. So if your staying on the 6th floor try to save yourself a trip and pack some ice in with your clothes! Hallways to the rooms have the dingiest, darkest lighting.

This hotel should be embarrassed on the dated condition of the rooms for what they charge. Apparently they put money into the lobby and arcade since that is what you see first as you walk in.

My husband's colleague recommended this hotel to him so he is definitely going to give her a piece of his mind - do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else - hotels in Wildwood are a dime a dozen - and so many hotels had their "vacancy" signs lit. Better yet, if you can afford it stay in Cape May and drive to Wildwood for the boardwalk!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjnNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My family was recommended to stay at the bal harbour hotel this year and what a great recommendation it was. First of all, we stayed in a room that had a separate bedroom, a full kitchen with a full size refridgerator and a private balcony that overlooked the pool and the ocean. Check in time was after 3pm but we arrived early and the front desk accomadated us with a changing area so our children could access the pool. To our surprise the room opened up for our checkin by 1pm. Our room was extremely clean and very spacious. Each day after the maid cleaned our room the head housekeeper came by to see if there was anything else we may have needed in addition to our regular needs. The pool area was unbelievable with 4 pools spaced out with plenty of walking space and chair space as well. No one was crammed on top of one another. The hotel itself sits right on the beach with its own access onto the beach. We didn't have to walk across a street we were able to walk off the pool deck onto the beach.. A girl by the name of Jamie checked us in and each day we walked through the lobby she would greet us with a friendly hello. Anyway, we would like to say thank you to the bal harbour staff for making our stay so relaxing and pleasant. We will return and will highly recommend your facility to others. Thumbs up to you all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunettesrkool07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I went to Wildwood with my sister. We stayed at the Bal Harbour in Wildwood Crest. We just loved it and cannot wait to go back this summer. The staff including the manager were very friendly - of course because we treated them with respect, they treated us with respect. Our room was very clean. The shower had good pressure. The maids were very helpful.
The view from our balcony was stunning. The food at the restaurant in the permises was very good. Even two ladies at the gift shop were very friendly.

After staying at different hotels in Wildwood, we were so happy at the Bal Harbour that we would never even think of staying anywhere else in Wildwood Crest.

Due to illness, we could go back in 2008, but we certainly be going in August 2009.
The location of the Bal Harbour is Great. We also loved that we could park our car in the garage for free.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Forget about opinions, let's talk about facts.

My wife and I stayed in room 217 this week (July 2009) at the Bal Harbor.

The toilet is actually installed directly under a narrow counter such that the seat cannot stand upright. Men: you have to hold the seat up while doing your business. The toilet has no cover so the towels on the narrow counter sometimes fall into the toliet. There is no counter space for clothes in case you actually want to put on any clothing in the bathroom. The toilet flush lever is inaccessible without significant back strain from either a seated or standing position. You have to see it to believe it.

Room 217 has a full size bed which is too small for a 5' 9" person like me. This is not what I expect, even in Wildwood, for a room that costs more than $200 per night. The mattress was also very uncomfortable and I did not get a good night's sleep.

Wi-Fi signal didn't carry to the room. Had to use the lobby for internet.

The beach was great, but if you can't get a good night's sleep and if it's easier to do #1 and #2 on a camping trip, then it just isn't worth it.

In short, the bed and toilet are unacceptable for a room costing that much. It doesn't matter that the Bal Harbor is in the Doo Wop section and maybe can get away with "older style." I grew up in the fifties and accessible toilet handles and seat covers have been standard in all but outhouses.

We have no intention of of staying at the Bal Harbor again and we will be sharing our experiences with our friends in our hometown of Williamstown, at the second exit of the Atlantic City Expressway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptcguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#11 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Hotels

Property: Bal Harbour Hotels
Address: 508 E Stanton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3768
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bal Harbour is the most complete family resort complex in the Wildwoods. Spanning a full block right on the beach, it is a luxurious hotel with its own private entrance to the beautiful beaches of Wildwood Crest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bal Harbour Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bal Harbour Oceanfront
Bal Harbour Oceanfront Wildwood Crest
Bal Harbour Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing