We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been 20 years since last stayed here, it looks like nothing has changed, same wallpaper and bedspreads, yuk!”
Review of Bal Harbour Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bal Harbour Hotels
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This place was the best destination 20 years ago, but its so old, outdated, and in serious need of an interior decorator! The prices are still high, but location is one of the best in Wildwood. The pool area is going down hill. The railings on the balconies are so low, I am afraid to go near them, fear of falling over. The service is excellent but this place has stood still in time. They were packed season after season but looks like the decades of profit for them did not go into improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank southstreetvcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 665 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoy coming to Bal Harbour every Memorial Day Weekend.The staff was friendly Jamie,
checked us in with no issues.We cant wait to return its so relaxing.And the specials they offer are affordable for hard working people.

Room Tip: I love the ocean view its peaceful as well as relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 173KIMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We are so upset with the whole place. Room smelled of mold. Filthy rugs. Beds were horrible, a sidewalk would have been softer. Staff was rude. Not to mention, going to the "basement" to use the iron. Place made my skin crawl. Mold in the air vents was a total bonus, said no one ever!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Witsy2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family just returned from our yearly stay at Bal Harbour and we are as usual pleased as punch!!! I would have to agree with the other reviewers that stated it's like coming home each year I catch a glimpse of the hotel. My stress leaves my body and I get excited at hitting the beach as soon as we unpack. Our room as usual was perfect with a view of the pool and the ocean. The only minor complaint i had was that the lighting was very dim in the room....I just turned every light on to help combat that so not a huge deal. I was very pleased to see that they offered free wi if this year especially with my sons obsession with Sprout! We took the package with 4 breakfasts and one dinner which offered a great value. We shopped for groceries and I cooked a majority of our meals as my son has food allergies. I love the fact that the rooms are basically an apartment. I doubt we will ever stray from this hotel!! Look forward to next year!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philalady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I recently completed our stay at one of our favorite resort hotels, the Bal Harbour, while visiting the northeastern states from our home base in Missouri. We have stayed here both off and on season about four times over the past 10-15 years, and our visits have always been consistently top-shelf. Our room was on the third floor with an ocean view and a nice balcony to enjoy the fresh ocean air. The room, as always, was nicely appointed, with a kitchenette, and clean. When I say clean, I mean clean in the corners, and anyone who travels frequently knows what I’m saying. The staff is very friendly and helpful, making you feel more like family than customers. We took our breakfasts in the restaurant, and found the food to be fresh and well-prepared, and the service was excellent. The meals were enhanced by our view of the dolphins swimming in the surf, just off the beach. All in all, our visit to the Wildwoods was made even better by top-notch hotel accommodations. We look forward to a return visit sometime in the future. You can’t go wrong by making the Bal Harbour your hotel choice for a visit anywhere in Cape May County.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWL850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Where do I begin to say how much I enjoy my stays at the Bal Harbor!!! I just returned from a four day stay which was my sixth year in a row!! Every year it is like returning “home”…before I am even out to the car, the young man who does basically everything there greets us with a warm smile and welcomes us back. Then you walk inside and Jamie greets us like family. Each year she is there to help begin our four days in the sun! The hotel is located right on the beach and every room has an ocean view complete with dolphins almost every day. There are also three pools which are kept so clean by the wonderful young man who has been there for years. He even sweeps the garages! The rooms vary depending on your needs and the kitchenettes are very well equipped with everything you will need. There is a restaurant right on sight with a wonderful view of the beach---shout out to Mike who greets us each year. If you want to dine out---Marie Nicole’s (Wildwood Crest), Island Grill, Pier house are both in Cape May---casual but pricey with great food. Ugly Mug is always great for a lobster or a burger.
If you want a great place to stay right on the beach with a friendly, warm staff….look no further!

Room Tip: The side by pool has the best view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holchick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Wow, outdated is an understatement. The best thing about this place is closeness to the beach and the views (if you have an ocean view room).
The beds are horrible. The elevator made me feel like I was in a bad horror movie. The restaurant? I'd rather not. Just don't eat there. Several times I walked by staff members smoking in areas that I don't think were designated for smoking. The staff were not so friendly either. Parking - you only get one spot, fine. But the parking spaces are so small; let's just say my honda civic barely fit! When I got in a spot I could barely get out of my door. Overall, this place is a dud. And the decor - this place was probably good in the 80s.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Willworkforchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#15 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
#61 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Inn
Lotus Inn
#11 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Hotels

Address: 508 E Stanton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3768
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bal Harbour is the most complete family resort complex in the Wildwoods. Spanning a full block right on the beach, it is a luxurious hotel with its own private entrance to the beautiful beaches of Wildwood Crest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bal Harbour Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bal Harbour Oceanfront
Bal Harbour Oceanfront Wildwood Crest
Bal Harbour Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing