We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We went to this motel based on a friend's recommendation. We had high hopes and an open mind. Although our room was generally clean, it was in a lousy spot -- room 114 is right next to the elevator and the laundry room, so all night long, we heard motors and whirring. This and everything but the location ... disappointing. Even my kids were disappinted and felt "smoked out."

We reserved a 2BR "apartment" -- also disapppointing. We had to walk through our kids' room to get ot the master bedroom, which had no locks on anything but the bathroom closet (seriously). There was only ONE table lamp and no other light in the "master bedroom" unless we opened the blinds facing the side parking lot, and many empty picture hooks on the walls. Low ceiling made it feel small and dark. The daily cleaning service was inconsistent. -- sometimes they left towels and washcloths, sometimes they didn't; sometimes they left shampoo, sometimes they didn't -- and it varied by bathroom (we had 2). They NEVER cleaned the glass kitchen table during our entire stay.

The pull-out sofa was saggy (just as a sofa), and the kithcenette cabinets and counter are in need of repair and updating. The laminate was peeling off the cabinets, and knobs were missing. Next to the sink was a 2-burner stove with aluminum foil wrapped around the grates. This stove would be where you'd have to put the dish drain when you washed dishes - -and you have to wash your own dishes -- they NEVER so much as washed a cup (no dishwasher). No hairdryers in the bathrooms, either. No space for the tray of utensils, so it was in the kitchen cabinet - - which is above eye level and so not at all convenient.

Others have commented on the towels. We experienced good and bad towels. The notes about smokers are true - - we felt we were surrounded. Since smoking is not allowed in the rooms, everyone smokes outside -- and apparently smokers LOVE this place! We could not be in the pool without smoke around us from all directions. A shame, too, as the heated pool was clean and enjoyable otherwise. We did not use the BBQ grills as they had caked-on food and grease from others.

A big concern I have about this motel is that there seemed to be no communication. We did not find the managers especially pleasant or helpful. In fact, I don't think we would have been told that the town had an evacuation order (as hurricane Irene was due in two days) if we had not asked the manager to confirm check-out time. This was around 9 pm, and the evacuation order was for the next morning.

In short, this place is a disappointing little dive that has a great location. We will not go back. I feel ripped off, frankly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcmama64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have been staying at The Paradise for the last 20 years. Whether I go alone, or with a large group I throughly enjoy myself. The rooms are compfortable and clean. The staff is polite and accomadating. I have never had a bad experience while staying here. Hermes, the manager is extremely friendly. The owners, Patty and John, are very nice too! I love that this place is a family place and most of the families that stay here are also very friendly and polite. Why wouldn't they be? They are in Paradise!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great hotel! Loved the location - right on the beach. We were able to sit on the sundeck and enjoy the ocean view during the day and the moonlight over the water at night! The pool was refreshing and relaxing and our room was comfortable and clean. The staff and service were great too. They were very accomodating for my family and friends- which were over 5o of us this year! We will definitely be coming back again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had business to do in North Wildwood. I wanted to stay somewhere reasonable but could also fit in some fun time since I took my Mom along with me. Great choice! I loved this place. Wonderful staff, very clean. This is my new new regular spot to stay in Wildwood when I have to see clients.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsnana2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Accommodations were fine. Having the beach and the ocean in our backyard was very relaxing and made it easy to access the ocean fun. The only part that we were not fond of was that the beds were most uncomfortable, There is definitely room for improvement, we were on the pool floor. Other than that we were pleased with the room, which is in need of updates. This did not take away from the fun that we shared with our family, but we could have been more rested after a nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knitone4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We booked our June 27 vaca 2 weeks prior on a whim - choosing Paradise for its spot on the beach and it's price for 6 nights, We certainly lucked out. Great pool, near everything we wanted to do- Cape May, boardwalk, family atmosphere on the beautiful beach and hotel. It was very clean and the staff was very hospitable. We're coming back same time next year with our family of 15. Thanks for the great stay, Paradise. Wish we could've stayed longer.

Rob Broussard and Family,
Greenfield MA

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauriebroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our family has been coming to this hotel every year for as long as I can remember. Just returned from our most recent trip.
The good things about the Paradise:
- Great location right on the beach. Makes it very easy to go back and forth between the beach, your room, and the pool.
- Nice pool that gets the afternoon sun
- The "L" shape layout allows you to always see everyone and everything - which is great when you are with a large group.
- Close to Cape May
- Nice new gas grills are a great way to cook in the summer

The bad things:
- Most rooms are in dire need of an update. The furniture, decor, and appliances are old
- The hotel towels are more like thin sheets of sandpaper than bath towels. You may want to bring your own.
- If you are a non-smoker, the high number of smokers puffing away 5 feet away from you in the next room may get old quickly.
- The hotel staff is normally friendly and acoomodating, this year they seemed stressed and grumpy.
- The balcony area running in front of all of the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor is very narrow, making it difficult to enjoy sitting out because you are always having to move to allow people to pass by.
- Parking spaces are very narrow. Door dings are quite common

Overall - The Paradise's best attribute is its beach front location. Go there, enjoy the beach, drive down to Cape May, and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick_626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
526 reviews
1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Oceanfront Resort

Address: 405 E Denver Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3509 (Formerly Paradise Inn Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $119 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Family Resort with all rooms featuring ocean views. Conveniently located between Wildwood's famed Boardwalk featuring Morey's Amusements and Water Parks and Victorian Cape May, the Paradise is family owned and meticulously maintained. The Paradise has been hosting family vacations and reunions for three generations. Our large heated pool, volleyball court, spacious sundeck and conveniently located outdoor grills make for a perfect location for groups to host your gathering with a postcard like setting offering expansive views of the beach and ocean. Our 1 Bedroom Efficiency Suites feature either two queen beds or one queen and one full bed in addition to a queen sleeper sofa for children. If you are looking for a tranquil setting inquire about our Oceanfront Efficiency Motel Rooms with King beds and a queen sleeper sofa for children. Nearby activities include, Morey's Amusements and Water Parks, wave-runners, parasailing, deeps sea fishing, golf and over 150 restaurants featuring foods from pizza to steaks and chops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Paradise Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn Ocean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Paradise Hotel Ocean
Paradise Inn Wildwood Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing