We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Wildwood Crest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We (my husband, myself and our 2 teens) just returned from our Labor Day Weekend at the Reges. I have been vacationing in Wildwood Crest for over 40 years and have stayed at many of the hotels/motels over the years.The Reges is by far one of the best!

The reservation process (by phone) and check in went quickly and smoothly. ALL areas of the hotel are immaculate, the staff is friendly and very professional, the rooms (we had a type D room on the 2nd floor) are spacious, housekeeping is great (never had so many towels and soaps), the Cafe is a great place for breakfast/lunch/beach snack and the pool area is beautiful with beautiful plants and flowers...no artificials palm trees here. The ocean view is so relaxing and beautiful and at this south part of Wildwood Crest the surrounding area is abit calmer and less busy. Perfect location for us ---10 mins to Cape May and 10 mins to Boardwalk.

We truly enjoyed our 4 day weekend and returned very rested. I can't say enough on how hard the staff worked to maintain the facility and cater to their guests. I chose this hotel because of other Trip Advisor reviews and I am glad I did. I definitley reccommend!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Reges Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

OK, the Wildwoods are not about luxury and this is certainly not a luxury property but it is a comfortable place with direct access to the great Wildwood Crest beach (one of the best - people tend to underestimate midatlantic beaches but the sand is world class).

The staff is friendly and we found the facilities to be attractive and kept clean.

The pool was good but it is just a pool. Do not expect anything special.

We had a suite with a bedroom and a living room with a full kitchen. Even though it was a suite space was tight. The sink is outside the bathroom but the bathroom, with a bathtub and toilet was very narrow and difficult to maneuver in. The kitchen had a full range, full sized refrigerator, sink and microwave but again was too tight to do any real cooking in. Everything, though far from new, worked fine.

Each room had its own AC and both units worked well.

We were on the 3rd floor and overlooking the raised sun deck where there were barbecue grills for guests use. We did experience quite a bit of cooking odor and did not have much privacy so in the future we would request a higher floor or a room on the other side of the hotel. The plus was that we were at the end so we had no one walking past our room on the outside hallway (there are large windows into each room along the walkway and that is where the bed is). Only rooms at either end do not overlook the walkway.

There were no towels distributed at the pool but we were given enough towels in the room. Still, it seems that those who "knew" brought their own beach towels. It would have been nice to have towels available at the pool.

There were issues with the amount of hot water. At peak times we took some tepid showers.

But the bottom line is that, while not without flaws, Reges gets you right on the beach in comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed there on our honeymoon. For a non-chain hotel, it has all the amenties I look for in a hotel. The hotel suites were spacious and clean. The restaurant had good breakfasts. We loved our oceanfront view and the ability to walk out the door directly onto the beach. Actually every room in the hotel is Oceanview!
This is the location we will stay at again when we go down to Cape May.

  • Stayed: September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bichonmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Unless you really enjoy AM radio music, because the speakers are directly to the left and right of your balcony, and they will play all day. Those same balconies/speakers look directly out onto the pool deck and the beach, a bit beyond. We didn't ask to be moved because we had arranged to be near a relative (he would have had to be moved too and we had 4 kids with us - difficult to move them).
We found it really annoying to be forced to listen to someone's (the hotel's) music all day, and were unable to enjoy reading or listening to the sound of the surf while the pool was open. That's right, you get to listen to the hotel's music all day down at the pool. I don't force others to ever listen to my music, I would appreciate the same courtesy from the "resort".
Which is really a sort of misnomer - I wouldn't classify it as a "resort". The word resort in my mind would imply: room service (no), lush gardens & pool (no), water sports rentals on site (no), down comforter/pillow (no), bath amenities (no).

We paid $298 for an efficiency, just keep in mind if you are thinking of staying here - you are paying for the location - beachfront and a view of the ocean. Otherwise, the property is underwhelming for it's price. It's clean - that's about the best I can say. However, the are few amenities and some inconveniences that one would not expect in similar properties of this price. Examples - the beds and pillows are not very comfortable, there are no hand towel racks in the bathrooms - so the kleenex box and towels are constantly getting wet. Beyond a few bars of soap, there are no bottles of shampoo, etc in the bathroom. It was also really annoying not to have a channel guide with their TV.
The upside - you have a direct, unobstructed view of the beach. And it's just steps away. There are grills (propane) on site and easy enough to use. While nothing special in decor, it is clean.

If I were to go to the shore again, I would rent a condo - I think I could do better economically and get a more private and comfortable atmosphere for the same price or maybe a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We just stayed at the Reges for the first time. My entire family loved it! The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful! I was a little worried about booking a hotel with out actually seeing it but I trusted the traveler reviews on Trip Advisor and they were great.

The beach is a few feet away and the views are spectacular! The pool is clean and snack bar is easily accessed from the pool or beach.

The hotel is in a great quiet location but close enough for a short ride to the boardwalk or Cape May.

We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beachlover328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

we stayed at the reges resort from 7/14 thru 7/19 and had a wonderful stay! the resort is very clean, staff is friendly and accomodating, and the beachfront location is awesome. we traveled with 3 small children and everything was easy . the only negative i have is the lack of a deadbolt on the door. most hotels usually have this. i realize i should be watching my children, but i would have felt safer if i knew my 2 yr old couldnt open the door and run out.
other than that it was great and we would stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceymMiddletownNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

"This was our first year going back to wildwood after 15 years had no idea where to stay...took a chance at REGES...We absolutely loved it! It was clean, comfortable, staff was friendly and the oceanview and pool were beautiful ...a place you really want to be...especially with your kids....the only thing we didnt like was the breakfast potatoes in the cafe! We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DUCCI74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,224 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reges Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reges Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9201 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#9 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $129 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reges Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at the Reges Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Wildwood Crest are proud of our oceanfront accommodations and resort amenities. Widely recognized for our cleanliness and exemplary hospitality service, the Reges is family owned and operated, celebrating over 40 years of service. All 75 rooms and suites, most with kitchenettes, are oceanfront with private balconies. We take pride in continually updating and enhancing our resort property and amenities to ensure that our guests have a most comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our experienced staff strives to ensure that all our guests feel right at home and that each stay with us is a special one. Whether you choose to put your feet up or seek adventure, we have the experience you're searching for. Our resort island offers diversity of recreational activities, restaurants, shopping and family entertainment within immense natural beauty that will satisfy any passion. The possibilities for a day of complete relaxation or non-stop action are endless. Come play and relax at the Jewel of the Crest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Reges Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reges Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Reges Oceanfront Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing