We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME place!!!”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Newburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME place!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed with four other families over Memorial Day Weekend and we had a BLAST!!! The only downfall is the the pool is only open until 8pm for the kids.
The staff is amazing. There was food, music, heated pool, clean rooms and lots of FUN! For an additional charge we got a late check out as well. The beach entrance is across the street so it is very convenient. The place has XM 50's piping on the outside and in the rooms (but you can turn it off if you desire). The bathrooms althought outdated in 50's style are prestinely clean. The bright colors and funky furnishings just add to the fun. HIGHLY recommend!!! We will ABSOLUTELY stay there again and may even make it a tradition!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBurbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
58
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We checked into the Caribbean late, and off season. Just as promised, our room was ready, key available. No one was in the office (which was both unsettling and exciting, as if we owned the place), but no matter. Everything we needed was available, everything worked. BUT... the next morning, the Wildwood Crest city employees were terrible! The dumpster crew were total jerks, banging around two dumpsters as if there were 18 of them, swearing loudly, dropping F-bombs, and generally not giving a damn that they were RIGHT next to people sleeping in a motel. What a bunch of morons, but this was NOT the responsibility of the motel. The next item was that the maintenance man must not have known we were next door, since he made some bumping and thumping next to our room. (No matter, the dumpster idiots had already woke us up.) I reported these minor items to the front desk as I checked out, just in passing, more than as a complaint.

Within 30 minutes (as we were walking the boardwalk), the manager (Margie) called me. She was very apologetic for the problems (even though one wasn't hers, and the other... well, not terrible), and then offered to comp us another night on them if we wanted to stay. We did, and not only did she do this gratis, she upgraded us to their king room (VERY nice, room 216). The second night was perfect. The motel (remember, out of season) was still empty and all ours. The pool was as warm as a bath, the doo-wop gently wafting from the speakers around the property... all was well.

We really enjoyed our stay. The showers were good, the beds comfortable. There's shuffleboard (Yes, try it!), a nice pool, and they have rules in place to keep troublemakers and noisy guests (and kids) in line. We'll be back, and I'll certainly recommend the Caribbean to anyone heading out to Wildwood. Manager Margie knows how to do customer service, and I thank her for that.

I recommend the Key West Cafe for breakfast (cheap and good!), and both Owens Pub and the Crest Tavern for food. Both good. Owens does $1.99 cheesesteaks on Mondays, and you can't beat that!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, get the King room, the one right against Buttercup Steet, on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We first visited the Caribbean Motel in 1979 and thought it was the coolest place. We re-visited the Caribbean in 2011, 31 years later, and felt like we were in a space warp cos it seemed just as cool as ever! The rooms are bright and we love the doo-wop music that is piped in. The pool is warm and sparkling clean. The owners and managers there are terrific and really care about their guests. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pota9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
Level Contributor
221 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Enjoyed a long weekend in Wildwood Crest and picked the Caribbean because it was part of the whole doo wop experience. What a great motel! Feels like you're staying with family and the room decorations are a hoot. Enjoyed the ramp -- not many motels can boast that -- and the outdoor seating. Would recommend to families and vacationers with a sense of fun. We're just sorry we had to check out before the Sunday evening get-together. We hope to come back.

Room Tip: Unlike many motels, at this one the second floor is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Caribbean in July, 2011. We had planned to only stay for an extended weekend but ended up stayed an entire week! While the rooms are smaller than we are used to, the furnishings (funky retro looking decor from the 50's) totally made up for the size. The bathroom is very small and completely not updated. It even had a medicine chest built into the wall just like in the 50's and 60's. However, I have never seen a bathroom that old so immaculate. It made the authentic feel of the place even more realistic in that you actually felt like you had walked back in time. The overall atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. They had a guy Mike at the grill every morning cooking made-to-order breakfast sandwiches and all the guests were relaxed and friendly. The fact that none of the rooms have private balconys or patios but chairs and tables outside of each room, made for a communal feel and lent itself to get to know your "neighbors" while you were drinking your morning coffee, soaking up the sun and enjoying the pool or relaxing in the evening after a long day at the beach. The walk to the beach is directly across the street, as is the start of Wildewood's boardwalk. It could not have been more convenient. They even offered a few free lunches off the grill and a big Saturday night dinner, complete with drinks, included in the price of your room.

There were only 2 things that prevented me from giving this motel a 5 star rating. The parking is very tight and upon check-in on a Saturday there was not a space to be had. They did give us a pass to park for free on the street, but felt that the spaces should be kept for guests only. Supposedly there is one parking space for every room so how it ended up that there were no available spaces upon check in could only mean that others were parked that that shouldn't have been and there was no monitoring of that. After that Saturday we did not encounter any additional issues with parking. The other point is that during the summer months, the pool still closes at 8, which is far too early, especially when the sun sets and the colorful lights come on, the pool area is so beautiful it seems ashame not to be able to use it.

Overall, if we ever go back to Wildewood we would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Call and speak to someone if you want a king sized bed...they only have a few and although the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkins park, Pa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Here's the deal: Great property and amenities, owners who care and really treat the guests like family and the staff is attentive and efficient! Ohh, and the price is fair and the location is terrific and the pool is heated and the rooms are spotless....well you get the point. The Caribbean is a no brainer! Simply the value in the Wildwoods!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebigdoggsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Caribbean and really liked the experience. If you're looking for luxury you're at the wrong place. But, if you want something fun, with family atmosphere and good value for your money, then you found the right place. We loved the 50's theme and the 50's music playing around the pool and the option of also listening to it on the radio in our room. On Sunday they had "Welcome night" and we were treated to free wings, watermelon and even a glass of wine by the owners! They also serve free coffee every morning. We were lucky to have one of the only two rooms (112) with a beautifully renovated bathroom. We checked in early and they let us park the car and enjoy the beach while we waited for our room to be ready. It rained on one night and we appreciated the option of using the stylish cabana lounge on top of the "Jetson ramp" to eat our diner while staying dry. Close to the beach and the boardwalk, about 5 minutes. on foot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonsVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#26 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#42 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 5600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Caribbean Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing