We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and funky”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Enjoyed a long weekend in Wildwood Crest and picked the Caribbean because it was part of the whole doo wop experience. What a great motel! Feels like you're staying with family and the room decorations are a hoot. Enjoyed the ramp -- not many motels can boast that -- and the outdoor seating. Would recommend to families and vacationers with a sense of fun. We're just sorry we had to check out before the Sunday evening get-together. We hope to come back.

Room Tip: Unlike many motels, at this one the second floor is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Caribbean in July, 2011. We had planned to only stay for an extended weekend but ended up stayed an entire week! While the rooms are smaller than we are used to, the furnishings (funky retro looking decor from the 50's) totally made up for the size. The bathroom is very small and completely not updated. It even had a medicine chest built into the wall just like in the 50's and 60's. However, I have never seen a bathroom that old so immaculate. It made the authentic feel of the place even more realistic in that you actually felt like you had walked back in time. The overall atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. They had a guy Mike at the grill every morning cooking made-to-order breakfast sandwiches and all the guests were relaxed and friendly. The fact that none of the rooms have private balconys or patios but chairs and tables outside of each room, made for a communal feel and lent itself to get to know your "neighbors" while you were drinking your morning coffee, soaking up the sun and enjoying the pool or relaxing in the evening after a long day at the beach. The walk to the beach is directly across the street, as is the start of Wildewood's boardwalk. It could not have been more convenient. They even offered a few free lunches off the grill and a big Saturday night dinner, complete with drinks, included in the price of your room.

There were only 2 things that prevented me from giving this motel a 5 star rating. The parking is very tight and upon check-in on a Saturday there was not a space to be had. They did give us a pass to park for free on the street, but felt that the spaces should be kept for guests only. Supposedly there is one parking space for every room so how it ended up that there were no available spaces upon check in could only mean that others were parked that that shouldn't have been and there was no monitoring of that. After that Saturday we did not encounter any additional issues with parking. The other point is that during the summer months, the pool still closes at 8, which is far too early, especially when the sun sets and the colorful lights come on, the pool area is so beautiful it seems ashame not to be able to use it.

Overall, if we ever go back to Wildewood we would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Call and speak to someone if you want a king sized bed...they only have a few and although the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KrisCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Here's the deal: Great property and amenities, owners who care and really treat the guests like family and the staff is attentive and efficient! Ohh, and the price is fair and the location is terrific and the pool is heated and the rooms are spotless....well you get the point. The Caribbean is a no brainer! Simply the value in the Wildwoods!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebigdoggsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Caribbean and really liked the experience. If you're looking for luxury you're at the wrong place. But, if you want something fun, with family atmosphere and good value for your money, then you found the right place. We loved the 50's theme and the 50's music playing around the pool and the option of also listening to it on the radio in our room. On Sunday they had "Welcome night" and we were treated to free wings, watermelon and even a glass of wine by the owners! They also serve free coffee every morning. We were lucky to have one of the only two rooms (112) with a beautifully renovated bathroom. We checked in early and they let us park the car and enjoy the beach while we waited for our room to be ready. It rained on one night and we appreciated the option of using the stylish cabana lounge on top of the "Jetson ramp" to eat our diner while staying dry. Close to the beach and the boardwalk, about 5 minutes. on foot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonsVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel has a really cool doo wop theme! It looks really cool at night! check in was fast and easy! rooms are really nice here too! steps from the beach and the boardwalk! would recommend to anyone willing to stay in wildwood! they have a little cabana room where you can sit in there and relax which was really cool! theres no restaraunt here but that was fine since there a billion places to choose where you can eat in wildwood! theres a really good italian restaraunt in walking distance away from the motel! its called Little Italy! Wifi was slow and spotty here, think they should improve that, besides that it was a great motel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

super clean. friendly and helpful staff. Kids had a blast. Steps from the ocean. We have stayed there 2 times and plan on going back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay at the Caribbean Motel and had another positive experience. We arrived early for check-in and the management was friendly and accommodating. She saw to it that our room was cleaned as soon as the other quest checked-out so that we could check-in early. Great location to the beach, boardwalk, bicycle rentals and restaurants. Motel rooms are small because of the age of the motel but have been updated and are very clean. Although carpet is starting to show some wear. Free Wi-Fi, connection slow but not important because we were on vacation. Pool and pool area are clean and well maintained. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#24 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#23 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Address: 5600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Caribbean Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing