We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

super clean. friendly and helpful staff. Kids had a blast. Steps from the ocean. We have stayed there 2 times and plan on going back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay at the Caribbean Motel and had another positive experience. We arrived early for check-in and the management was friendly and accommodating. She saw to it that our room was cleaned as soon as the other quest checked-out so that we could check-in early. Great location to the beach, boardwalk, bicycle rentals and restaurants. Motel rooms are small because of the age of the motel but have been updated and are very clean. Although carpet is starting to show some wear. Free Wi-Fi, connection slow but not important because we were on vacation. Pool and pool area are clean and well maintained. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a very nice stay at the Caribbean Motel over the Labor Day weekend. This is a very nostalgic mid-century modern motel located across the street from the beach. Very easy access to the boardwalk, convention center and restaurants. The owners pride themselves with keeping the rooms and outside area very clean - which it is. It is decorated very true to the era of the motel. Our room was furnished with two double beds which were surprisingly comfortable for their size - the bathroom is very small but adequate. The kitchenette was equipped with all necessary items. There are no hairdryers or irons in the room but the front desk has a few available. All rooms are non-smoking but they do allow smoking in all of the outside area and which means there are ashtrays everywhere. Everyone was smoking outside and it was hard to avoid the smoke. For me that was the only drawback. On select weekends through out the season they have complimentary BBQ, Happy Hour and entertainment. I have stayed at quite a few motels throughout the years in Wildwood and this by far was the best in its class. Actually, they were just recently inducted into the Historic Hotels of America.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just came back from a stay at the Caribbean motel in wild wood crest NJ.Let me start by saying what a great time we had we traveled with a group of friends with children ranging from 7-14 at the Caribbean was a blast from the past.The motel was completely renovated a few years ago and the rooms are spotless art deco and real cool.The vibe from the whole is laid back with old tunes playing around the pool and in your rooms..The pool is is heated and the location to the boardwalk and beach is perfect 1 block away from both.The owner George and his staff Cheryl and Margie are the nicest people you will ever meet.when traveling with a group of family's it is usually difficult to please everyone but at the Caribbean -NO complaints about anything -everyone was so happy we re booked the same week for next summer ALL OF US -I think that speaks for itself

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbomoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

While my husband and two young children went away on a "Daddy Vacation" to Italy, I had the opportunity to come here with a girlfriend for a weekend. The hotel is centrally located to the beach, restaurants, the Doo Wop Museum and the boardwalk. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The decor is fabulous! Fabulous! Every last detail has been taken care of. From the Cabana to the heated swimming pool. I'm on my way back this weekend with my husband and the girls. I can't imagine a better place for a family vacation and what a great way to introduce my young girls and foreign husband to this technicolor piece of Americana!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaRotundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I took my beautiful girlfriend to the Caribbean for a night in May with the intention to ask her to marry me. She loves 50s / 60s Americana so after hunting a lot on the internet I plumped for the Caribbean. I told the motel this in advance and they were kind enough to give us the best room they had available, which was a nice gesture.

I wasn't disappointed upon arrival at all. The architecture and decor of this hotel is fantastic. You can tell it has been renovated by people with a true love for Doo Wop as everything feels authentic and not at all cheesy.

After a night in the Wildwoods for dinner etc waiting for the right moment to pop the question I asked her when we got back to the hotel and she said yes!

In the morning I managed to clumsily break the shower head, but rather than take the opportunity to charge me an extortionate amount to replace it, as many hotels would, they said don't worry about it, the handyman will fix it. That's great service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I've stayed at quite a few motels in Wildwood, NJ over the years. The Carribean Motel is, by far, my favorite motel in Wildwood. I stay at this motel as often as I possibly can.
Not that the other motels are bad. But none of them beat the Carribean. All motels that I stay at get compared to the Carribean, and the Carribean always wins, hands down.
The Carribean is outstanding in many ways. The cleanliness, the charm, the incredible doo-wop architecture, and the friendly hospitality make it tops.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyq918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#38 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Plaza Motel
Bristol Plaza Motel
#55 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 5600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Caribbean Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing