We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions”
Review of Crest Tavern

Crest Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: The restaurant is open for lunch, dinner and late night snacks seven days a week. The Crest Tavern also offers a full service liquor store.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Walked into the Crest Tavern last night to pick up some ice thinking how much I liked this place, staying only a few blocks away in the Crest and liking the layout of the place. I'd been in previously at the bar with some "locals" and had been told by even them that the staff was not all that friendly. Wanting to believe otherwise, I took the family up there today for our first time sit-down meal and have to say the food was surprisingly good, sans the Manhattan claim chowder. The mussels over linguine was substantial and fresh, the kids' pizza got good reviews and the clam strips were delicious. The problem came with the check and the attitude thereafter from the owner when we asked about the full-on additional charge for the kids' soda refills. No indication on the menu that refills were charged at the full price and our server did not mention it either. Asked to speak with the manager and got to meet Tim the owner who absolutely refused to recognize that there was anyting wrong with this; FU attitude clearly being communicated from this guy. Unfortunately, we won't be headed to the Crest Tavern which had until today been a convenient place for us for packaged goods, etc. Best of luck Tim.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    127
    47
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The desk clerk at our motel recommended the Crest Tavern. We went there for lunch and found that the food was good, the portions large, and the prices more than reasonable. The french fries were so good that I ate all of mine -- usually I leave them behind. The price for a beer was far below what we paid elsewhere. You'll have to drive to get here, but it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Always enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at The Crest. Lots of interesting beers to choose from and great food for the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Service,reasonably priced”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Crest tavern is not fancy but they afford a variety of beers and menu items. Restaurant was busy for a Tuesday night but staff was friendly and service was good. Steamed clams appetizer was good. Burgers were large and cooked as we ordered.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodeye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Bet in Wildwood Crest”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Always a "go to " spot for the locals and vistors alike. My husband and friends love it as much as I do. Never a bad meal. Everything on the menu is tasty and reasonably priced. Great waitstaff. The only downside is the size - in the summer it is hard to get a seat but the wait is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crest Tavern also viewed

Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
 
Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
 

Been to Crest Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing