We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Barcelona Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room looked clean..but once we checked in..we noticed a lot of black mold and water damage on the ceiling. The wallpaper had a lot of scuff marks and needed a good wiping down. The doors and trims were very very dirty and need painting. While this doesn't seem like a big deal, it could have made a big difference. It just seemed liked who ever cleaned just didn't care, this made us feel uncomfortable. The pool was dirty and lots of sand on the bottom. The Barcelona used to be the best hotel, the management is still friendly, but it needs a freshing up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAYMAN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This motel definitely has to be renovated. The wallpaper (originally light color) had black and brown stains everywhere. Also there was a hole in the ceiling. Pipes in the bathroom were rusted. The internet was free but we got disconnected all the time, and the internet was awfully slow. The mattress was very hard and uncomfortable.
The motel is close to the beach but there many other hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We are on day two of our stay here at the Barcelona and we're having a lovely time. We are staying in an "A" suite. There are two separate rooms, one room has two double beds a tv and a small dresser and the living area has a kitchenette with a sink, 2 burner stovetop, fridge, coffee pot and plenty of kitchen accessories, a daybed with trundle, a dinette set and another tv. . There is a balcony that doesn't have a beach view, but it is a quiet neighborhood, so it is still pleasant to sit out there. The pool is itsy bitsy, but there are plenty of chairs and shade and it is fine for the kids. There is an outdoor shower/hose to get the sand off your feet and there is daily maid service for everything but your dishes. If you are the kind of person who needs everything to be perfect and completely updated - choose another motel. But if you want a bargain motel that is clean enough, quiet and less than a block from the beach, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karyn1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Barcelona is a great fairly priced hotel that puts you right on beach in the crest. Close to everything and the staff was very attentive to small things that we asked for through out the trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kungfujonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My family and I have been visiting the Wildwoods for the last few years and the Barcelona is the only place we stay. My kids absolutely love it. They often ask when we can go back, as the weather gets nicer this has become more frequent so much so that my daughter asked if we can go this weekend. The pool is heated and though not very big, the kids actually prefer the smaller baby pool! It is perfect for little ones and though the kids started in it at 3 and 1, they still think it's the greatest thing ever at 6 and 4. It's hard to convince them to head down to the beach to play in the sand and ocean sometimes because they are having such a great time in there. But that is another great thing about this place, the hotel is so close to the beach (on the same block, no streets to cross) that it's just a quick walk back and forth, since we do spend a lot of time between the pool and the beach, as well as trips back to the hotel for the bathroom and snacks. The rooms are very affordable, clean, and the service is great. The staff is very helpful and friendly, they will try to do anything they can to make your stay better. We are all looking forward to another summer vacation at the shore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trigger556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Township, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

My family and I had a fantastic time, and we are glad we stayed at the Barcelona. This family owned motel is in a perfect location right on the beach. Location alone made it SUPER easy for us to walk our 3 kids with beach chairs, a wagon of goodies, and even a tent down to the beach to spend the day. OUr small kids LOVED the heated pool, and the fenced in kiddie pool made it easy for us to keep an eye on the action.
The owners and staff are freindly and helpful. They provided us with nightly suggestions on what to do and where to go, and each idea was a hit. Absolutely fantastic vacation, and we'll be heading back down for more in 2011

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheap74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I have been spending the last several years of my beach excursions staying at the Barcleona Motel. The location is superb! Easy access to the beach, and the boardwalk and numerous restaurants are a short drive or trolley ride away. The Barcelona is great for families as it is away from all the hustle and bustle of the crowds.

The owners are very helpful and extremely generous. Not many hotels/motels that I know of have a BBQ for the guests! The rooms are always VERY clean, and even during peak season, the rates are reasonable.

I would HIGHLY recommend this motel to anyone looking for a family getaway!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lttltrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
Villa Nova Motel
Villa Nova Motel
#51 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
#49 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conca D'or Motel
Conca D'or Motel
#47 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Lower Township
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Resort
Monterey Resort
#41 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Property: Barcelona Motel
Address: 9001 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing