We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second try. Won't be back. POOL NOT HEATED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Resort & Suites
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Second try. Won't be back. POOL NOT HEATED!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last August for the first time. The location is great and the rooms were nice. Staff was even friendly. However, the pool that they claim is heated, is most definitely not. We could not even get in the water, so unenjoyable. And the hot tub is the same temperature as the pool. When we mentioned it to the office staff, we were told all the rain Wildwood had seen in the days leading up to our vacation had caused the pool to be colder than usual. Fine.

This August came and we were hesitant to come back to this hotel because of the pool issue we encountered last time. Considering that my wife is almost 7 months pregnant, swimming was the main activity on our agenda for this vacation. When I called the hotel prior to booking, I specifically asked if the pool was heated. I was told yes it was and it even said so on the websites. So I decided to book 3 nights. When we arrived, we went to our whirlpool suite which was just as nice as the year before and then decided to go swimming. Once again the water was freezing. If your pool is "heated" then the temperature should at least be higher than what felt like 55 degrees. I felt terrible for my wife because it was very difficult for her to enjoy the water. Since the pool was suppose to be the highlight of our trip, we left the next day once we realized the water wasn't getting any warmer.

We won't be back. If we do decide to come to Wildwood next summer, we will stay at a hotel with a pool that is actually heated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    61
    20
    3
    11
See reviews for
171
82
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've been to the Riviera three times now and we will keep going back. The staff is always friendly and attentive. You can't beat the location. And it's great for both adults and kids. We have been so happy during our stays that we are planning to go back again before the end of the season. Thank you Riviera! You've made going to the shore something my family and I always look forward to. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielPlanview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a nice little place. Clean room, pool and pool area. The staff was attentive and professional. Nice safe family atmosphere, and you can walk to the beach and the boardwalk!Good bang for your buck. I will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickoshaysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great time had by all from the second we checked into the Riviera!! I LOVE this place, its clean and SAFE!!! and we couldn't ask for a better location. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean, the pool area is relaxing! The entire property is well kept and clean. I will be back for sure!!! See you next year Riviera!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andera24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very Clean.....great location to the boardwalk & the beach....a very friendly staff....pleasant atmosphere....will be back again next summer... very well run....a must stay for family fun in the sun!...Thank you lots for a great time had by all of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the WildWoods for 26 years. He loves to have fun in the sun, but at the same time, we are sticklers on cleanliness. The Riviera Resort Motel is by far our favorite. We have stayed in the Intimate whilpool units to the all the different variety rooms/suites.If we don't want to go to the beach one day we just have pool day with the kids,there are two different pools to choose from. We were literally one block away from the boardwalk.where we played games road rides and when exhausted sat down for a beatiful steak and jumbo shrimp dinner. Back at the Motel we had never seen such hard working employees who took such pride in what they did, they treated us kindly and were quick to accomdate. Say when one doesn't get up in time the next morning to get our room cleaned Lol ! They are more than happy to get you extra towels ect. We felt especially safe seeing that late at night they had someone walking around the property for security. Took advantage of the Free in room safe to put our valuables in. Best part is being greeted by the same friendly faces at the front desk every year feels like your visitng old friends again (Jeff ,Reggie & Beth).God willing we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Room # 141 is at the top right corner faces Ocean Ave. Nice balcony view. From a nurses piont of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grismilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family stayed at the Riviera Resort Motel again this past July and had a wonderful experience. Like previous stays, the staff was very attentive to all our needs, the room was spacious and clean and the location was perfect for getting to/from the beach and boardwalk with ease. Everyone was polite and friendly and the room rate was reasonable for the peak summer season.

Special thanks to the Byrne family for the great accomodations! We will definitely be back again next year!

Room Tip: Still have never stayed in a bad room (stayed on all floors and noise has never been an issue).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.9 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.7 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#18 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Resort & Suites

Property: Riviera Resort & Suites
Address: 3920 Ocean Ave, Spencer & Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4765
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#18 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riviera Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully modern facility across from the beach, boardwalk, and amusements. Close to convention center. Two bedroom efficiency suites, private balcony units, and couple whirlpool units with steam sauna. Large heated pool and upper level sundeck. All rooms have microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, and in-room safe. Catering to couples and families we provide immaculately clean accommodations with knowledgeable friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Riviera Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Wildwood
Riviera Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing