We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Resort & Suites
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Riviera is our family's only choice for our annual visit to Wildwood over the July 4th holiday. It's clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it's across the street from the world-famous Boardwalk! The rooms are spacious, clean, semi-tropical in decor, the parking lot can get a little cramped, the pool is nice, the hot tub isn't always really warm, the beds in some of the rooms are extremely comfy, and the family suites have everything you need for a home-like stay (especially if you're into saving $$ and cooking while on vacation!). Staff was always maintaining the property, sweeping, wiping, etc, so it was easy to see they care about the resort. Guests of the Riviera can also swim at the motel across the street--as long as they have a wristband. The motel is close to a great deli (Bonelli's has fresh fruit/veggies, canned goods, snacks, dairy products, lunchmeats, etc.--but ask for an 'Old World' Italian sub; they're great!), not far from a Rite Aid, and is within 4 blocks from excellent dining, such as Schellenger's Restaurant, Land & Sea Buffet, and Rusty Rudder. If you happen to stay at the Riviera during a holiday weekend, go up to the 2nd or 3rd floors to watch the fireworks show! Ask the owners where to eat; they may tell you about places not in the brochure case in the lobby. Rent a bike in the early morning. Go to Mack's Pizza. And don't forget: "Watch the tram car, please!"

Room Tip: Book early for the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked here based on Tripadvisor. We have never been disappointed with any property after researching on Tripadvisor and the Riviera was no exception. We found the Riviera exceeded even the five star comments here on Tripadvisor.

We had booked for two nights (Sun and Mon). As fate would have it we were going to Jersey during the heat wave of the century. Our plans had us staying with relatives in Belmar who have a great house by the beach...but no air conditioning!!! Friday night was too hot to live. On Saturday morning we called the Riviera to see if they could fit us in a day early. This would be a Saturday night in the height of the season. They had a room for us :) On the way down we hit 109 degrees on the Garden State Parkway. No joke. It was so hot that my GPS mounted on the windshield fried and stopped working.

We got to the Riviera at a much more comfortable 103 degrees. The room was ready and they had the AC cranked to the max for us.

The innkeepers at the Riviera are some of the best and friendliest that we have ever come across. Nothing was too much trouble. Every single staff member gave us a hello and a smile. The room was as clean as any room that we have stayed in. The pool is clean and every inch of the place is well maintained.

We have stayed at beach towns up and down the shore and I have to say that I was impressed with this place. It is very modern and has no musty odors, sand, or some of the other things that come with living by the beach.

The location is perfect. One block from the best part of the boardwalk. Macks Pizza right there. Great NY Pizza at the shore. The Doo Wop Diner right there. I got the King Burger. It was three 1/2 pound patties with the works. It came to the table about a foot high give or take a few inches :) I laughed for a solid minute when it hit the table. The Jersey Girl restaurant for a fantastic meal a couple of blocks away. Great prices for some really non beach food. Tuckers Pub is a ten minute walk but well worth it for their $2 iced mugs of any beer at any time deal (includes Guinness!!!) Their wings (bourbon) are incredible.

All in all a great trip and the Riviera was the perfect home base.

Thanks again...Brad and Kat (red Jeep...came in hot and tired, left relaxed and quite happy)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Year after year we return to "our friends" at the Riviera. It has become like visiting family. Everyone remembers you, even though you only spend one week a year with them. It's that warmth that one can't wait to return to. This year finds the motel in great shape as always. New bedspreads, window treatments and kitchen ammenities were a pleasant upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjf18109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our first time in Wildwood and we read other reviews of this hotel before we booked. It lived up to all the great comments. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay.The room was clean and the maid service excellent. We had a little kitchenette alcove and a wonderful deluxe balcony. It was just a very short walk to the boardwalk and the beach from this hotel. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davnanjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is our 13th year going back to the Riviera Hotel. It is like going to visit family. Each person there is treated the same. The staff there are wonderful, cheerful and very pleasant to be around, and very willing to give you special attention. We stay in a 2 bdrm suite, in July, I have a fully equiped kitchen to cook some meals, a reg room in Sept. The hotel is spotless at all times. Rooms are cleaned daily. I look forward to going again in September for Labor day and again in the middle of the month for the fire convention. The pool is clean and refreshing. The beach across the street, it is clean and free. The boardwalk is directly across the street, so convienent. Our family has always enjoyed our stay there. We think there is other place to go. Reggie, Beth and Jeffrey pay special attention to everyone there. It is close to the Cape May zoo, fireworks on Friday nites. Free concerts. A great Family place.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firemom908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have been going to Wildwood for approximately 35 years (I'm 44 now) and beyond a doubt this is the ONLY place that I have ever been that I truly feel at home with when on I'm on vacation. I was LUCKY to discover this place five years ago and have booked with them ever since ( a week at a time). If they ever close, I'm done with Wildwood!

For those that don't like to read, let me make it simple...

Location: Right in the middle of all the fun and a matter of steps from the boardwalk... In the middle of the best ride piers and best restaurants!

Room: Clean (Immaculate), Comfy (like my own bedroom), a bright shore atmosphere! Great view!

Pool: Sterile! Quiet. Clean. Off the public path and private. Great whirlpool for aches and pains! Kids loved it!!!

Grounds: Amazing! Immaculate! The staff is s0 hard working but they LOVE working there, they told me personally :) Don't tell the owners tho, they might want a raise and avoid me in the future LOL!!!

Staff: Love them all! So helpful! Chinese at 1 am? They tell you where to go! Dinner? Kids? Just adults? They'll tell you where to go!.

If you're going to stay at Wildwood, this is the place... Enough said!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPJR341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We just got back from what was suppose to be a 2 day vacation which turned into a 5 day vacation. The hotel is great. (not to mention a half block from the beach and reasonably priced for a holiday weekend). The staff was amazing. Hotel rooms were immaculate. The grounds are immaculate. A friend of ours was staying there and suggested that we go there. When we first arrived we were greeted like we were family. We were showed exactly where our room was and given a few books which listed things to do, etc.

The hotel rooms were big and clean. Our room had a private balcony. While sitting out there one night we saw staff personnel walking the grounds of the hotel to make sure that everything was perfectly neat and clean. I was amazed. The staff at this hotel is on call 24 hours a day.

The pool is large and clean. The staff is usually walking around the pool straightening up, wiping down the chairs and making sure it is neat and welcoming.

If you are undecided about where to stay, this is the place to stay. Extremely friendly family atmosphere!. I would highly recommend it.

I cant wait to plan my next vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beth6742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.9 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
378 reviews
0 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#15 of 75 in Wildwood
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Resort & Suites

Address: 3920 Ocean Ave, Spencer & Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4765
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#14 Family Hotel in Wildwood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $78 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riviera Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully modern facility across from the beach, boardwalk, and amusements. Close to convention center. Two bedroom efficiency suites, private balcony units, and couple whirlpool units with steam sauna. Large heated pool and upper level sundeck. All rooms have microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, and in-room safe. Catering to couples and families we provide immaculately clean accommodations with knowledgeable friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Wildwood
Riviera Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing