We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean, friendly and welcoming to us and OUR 200-lb. DOG!”
Review of Rus Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rus Mar Motel
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Extremely clean, friendly and welcoming to us and OUR 200-lb. DOG!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed one night in the Rus Mar Motel in late August. We have our own place, but it was rented, and we needed just one night until we could get into our own place. We were so lucky to have found it, that they were willing to rent for one night only, and they were so nice about it too. It wasn't cheap, but it was really not bad for a suite across from the boardwalk that sleeps 6 (not that we needed it). When we got there they offered to take some off if we shut the door from the master bedroom and didn't use it, but it was too cute not to use. It had a small kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and coffeepot. And they were extremely welcoming to not only us but our 200-lb. Saint Bernard. No pet fees and even though there are only nine units, I think at least 6 of them were full with pet people, who were so nice. There's no pool but it's right across from the beach, so who needs that, I suppose. (We didn't!) There's a full complement of cable TV and parking, one space per unit, and a place to sit out and watch people. Inside it is very quiet - we didn't hear anyone else or any other dogs!

Other people have remarked on how clean everything was and how nice Ed the manager was. I want to echo this! Really really great.

Room Tip: It's on two levels, so if your dog doesn't like stairs be sure to ask for something on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
26
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Rus Mar Motel is a great deal for the price. This is an extremely clean, pet-friendly hotel, which is hard to find. The location is excellent, right in front of the beach and the Wildwood Convention Center. The hotel is no frills but has everything, including a kitchenette. It wasn't loud at night even though almost every room had a dog.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed two nights. Its a great, clean, very pet friendly, close to everything motel. Could see the ocean and the boardwalk from the balcony. What impressed us most was the kind caring manager Ed. It was wonderful to see theres still places out there with managers that care about their customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyAnd Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Township, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My daughters, dogs, & I stayed at the Rus Mar for the last 3 years. Each year it gets better and better! Very, very clean. Ideal location across from boardwalk & beach. Nice to be staying with other pet people, Manager is always responsive to our needs. Met the owners this year; very nice people, committed to continuos improvements. Wildwood is my happy place. If all the other hotels became pet friendly, I would still chose to stay at the Rus Mar!. Wish it was always summer, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Statira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I needed a dog friendly place to stay at Wildwood NJ. ( Not many to be found ) found the Rus Mar! It was very clean - close to anything you needed. Just across from the beach and boardwalk. Management was great to us. Would gladly stay there in future!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our dog. We had a top floor room that made it a little difficult to take her outside to potty. Also not alot of grass around had to walk her a little far away. The doors were thin and you could hear everything through them, including the other barking dogs..one would start they would all start.

The rooms are on the small side and it would be snug if you were there with more than two people. Overall it was really nice and the owner was nice too!

We would come back!

Room Tip: If you have pets try to get one on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

WONDERFUL. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Awesome, helpful staff. Clean, clean, clean. Great location. You never would be able to tell they take pets. Ed is wonderful. Very friendly, very helpful. We have found a new place to stay every year!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TerrieENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.0 mi away
Lu Fran Motel
Lu Fran Motel
#17 of 76 in Wildwood
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#29 of 76 in Wildwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Beach Colony Resort Motel
#1 of 7 in Wildwood Crest
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#14 of 76 in Wildwood
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rus Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rus Mar Motel

Property: Rus Mar Motel
Address: 5010 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4552
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We still have the same amazing location! On top of that!! The Rus Mar is under new management and has been totally renovated! Each room has new fixtures, beds, linens, and paint throughout! A fridge, microwave,and coffee pot is standard in every room. Some rooms are also efficiency units with stovetop cooking. You can still see the ocean from our rooms! Come stay with us! We remain pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rus Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing