We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than A Drive-in Theater” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cinema's Movies On the Beach - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunset Cinema's Movies On the Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunset Cinema features the latest First Run movies on a giant 60 ft. screen with Dolby Digital Surround Sound every night behind the Wildwood Convention Center. Two shows nightly (Separate admissions required). Concessions and chair rentals available on site or you may bring your own. No alcohol or glass, please. Tickets available at the Wildwood Convention Center box office (cash only, please) or online. OPEN JUNE-SEPTEMBER ONLY.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Better Than A Drive-in Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The first time we saw a movie "house" on the beach was at the Sunset Cinema on the Beach. It took two days to erect the movie screen on the beach. Current movies were shown on the beach. The fun about the venue is that you bring your own beach chair and you set it up on the beach to watch the movie. If you want you can bring a blanket and lie down on the blanket or if you want you can just sit or lie on the sand. It is a fun experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very cool experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first year doing this and we loved it. The kids really enjoyed it. We'll do this again next year!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Denamomhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurentides, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice star evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

relax on the beach cooler,great movie and the sea breeze kids love it and so do the parents ******************************************

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was a great concept, run by innefficient people....now closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was a great idea....but the owner was kind of shifty and would cancel at the drop off a hat and not offer a refund. This attraction is now closed, which is a shame. Run by the right people, this would be a hit!

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank cattdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst customer service I ever experienced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

To be fair they do warn you that if the weather turns bad, you won't get a cash refund, but what they don't tell you is that this included technical difficulties.

We arrived at 5 PM and there was a 30% chance of showers, so I bought my tickets. We walked the boardwalk then returned at 5 after 8 PM only to find that the show had been cancelled. Puzzled as there were clear skies and still only a 30% chance of showers I went back to the box office to find out what was going on.

The self-declared manager first claimed that the technican had looked on the internet and found a 90% chance of rain. When I showed her my phone with the latest NWS forecast and confronted her with the fact that people were saying the sound system was not working; she said that she didn't make the call to cancel, but the tech did. I find it strange that the manager abdicates such calls to technicians, but that's another point.

I then spoke with the tech and he said that the owner made the call to cancel and that he had spent the whole day trying to fix the sound to no avail, and seemed only vaguely aware of weather in the area.

They were smart enough not to say to me that they cancelled because of the sound system, but all the evidence points to technical problems, and not weather as the reason the show was cancelled.

So even though the weather was fine for the rest of the weekend, I was out $15 for parking (no refund at all there), and $18 for 2 tickets (they offer rain checks which is only good if you are going to return that season) because they didn't have the ethics to not sell tickets or at least offer refunds knowing that their equipment was questionable for the showing.

I'd love to actually review the movie, but since I didn't actually get to see it, I can't say much to that effect.

JCA

Helpful?
7 Thank Anabasis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cinema's Movies On the Beach also viewed

 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing