We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar

Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar
Ranked #71 of 156 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner Garfield & Pacific
Transit: N/A
Description: Freshly made authentic Mexican American cuisine... and the most extensive tequila and margarita menu at the Jersey Shore!
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Close to authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A lively bar atmosphere with food as close to true Mexican as I have seen in the States. Good variety on the menu, clean comfortable atmosphere, and a great drink selection. Service can be a little spotty as there always seems to be new staff, but management is very involved in the community and promotes events almost year'round.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    24
    15
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May,NJ
Level Contributor
255 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great taco salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've eaten here a few times over the years and am never disappointed by their taco salad. Huge drink selection, especially margarita's, which my wife enjoys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigkahuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good beer helped otherwise average bar/food establishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Wildwood mid October and by the time we went out Sunday night (about 8pm) this was about the only place open - of the places still open in the off season. The place was empty, but you could feel that it was a lively sports bar and the place for margaritas and beer during the summer. Our server was very friendly and helpful. He helped me find a good beer - offered several samples first. We ordered nachos and taquillos and I'm glad they were out of the latter since the nachos were plenty for the two of us. Nothing to write home about (or more here). Best were the chips - crispy, light but with a firm corn taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go some place else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had dinner with two friends in mid-October. The restaurant was virtually empty. We each order the paella at $28 each, plus two appetizers and drinks. The paella was missing the chorizo and the waiter acknowledged that the chef forgot it, so our main course was very tasteless and primarily looked like someone three a couple clams, mussels and a scallop into a plate of rice-a-roni. We couldn't even eat it. We were offered free fried oreos in exchange. After complaining on their website and viewing photos of how their food was supposed to look, we were offered $15 if we returned. Which we did. This time the food was better, but we were very caucious. We order lobster bisque after asking the waiter if they had it. He had confirmed it was available, but came back later saying they were out of lobster and we were there early in the afternoon. The waiter suggested substituting crab for the lobster, but charged the same price. They do not have brunch after September, but they have menus at the front counter that don't indicate there brunch is confined to certain months. The margarita we ordered ($12 a piece) was supposed to have a spear of fresh pineapple soaked in a special tequilla - guess what - they forgot that too. And we were the only customers ordering at the time. There was another table almost finished and another table that arrived after we were almost finished. So, you can't blame it being too busy. I'd hate to see it if they were busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pidge608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food was tasty but heavy. Just average to my tastes. No one in my party wanted to take home their leftovers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing