We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, very accommodating and friendly, great pool and poolbar!”
Review of Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanic Hotel
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Every year we go to Wildwood for a few days and usually stay at a different hotel out of tradition but this year we decided to change that. This hotel was a good choice. Although the rooms are a little dated, the service from everyone here was top notch. They really know how to go above and beyond to take care of their customers. Very convenient bar at both the downstairs and also the pool (even a swim up one!) Nice big hot tub, the location is excellent and they have their own lot for parking. I would recommend it for anyone staying in Wildwood.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex-C-Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

we had a nice time the rooms are nice we had a small kitchen in the room witch was very he when we have two small children. we loved the pool also very clean my kids loved it. I would definitely stay here again. Also my first room was kinda small for us so they upgraded us to a bigger room.

Room Tip: if you have kids make sure for ask for a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location is good being right across the street from the convention center and boardwalk but this hotel is old and dingy. It desperately needs updating. We didn't expect much but the room is small, the TV is old and attached at the ceiling and the furniture is old and beat up. Check in was 3 but we could not check in until almost 5. Lady at the front desk seemed overwhelmed and unprofessional. There was an employee smoking inside of the lobby. Luckily we were only there for one night. The "tiki bar" is lame. If you want a cheesy old place to go along with your whole Jersey shore experience, this motel is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel it's the worse.....Old carpet that still has the smell from hurricane Sandy, the mildew and mold made me and my family ill. This is not even a place you would want to rest your head or wash your face, the wash rags I mean dirty towels I would not use on my puppy. We find kmart and brought a blanket and towels. The bed felt like we were sleeping on the box spring and rocks and smelled like old feet. This place is so old they are still using Phillips and Magnavox televisions with the big backs and it was placed on top of a nasty frigidaire and nailed to the ceiling. Beware the short little men at the front deskt is aBIG FAT LIAR and the women they use as security should truly be tested. There was one plus for this hotel they offer a excellent pool party on Saturdays and have great hot wings. The bar (THE DJ IS AWEOME) but, what can I say this entire place is BAD.

I have never in all my life seen such a mess this hotel should be closed. This place is under new ownership and the new owners are BUMS.


Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked a room here THEN looked at the reviews. almost cancelled my reservation.

We had an oceanfront room with a balcony that was on the second floor right over the bar.. had absolutely zero issues with noise the whole time we were there - besides the a/c unit that kept making this weird farting noise, but it worked, so we just giggled every 10 minutes and got over it.

The room was clean enough. Some weird stains on the carpet, which happens I get it. the bathroom needed a major renovation. You had to sit sideways on the toilet or else your legs wouldn't fit, and I'm 5'2".

Parking was down the road maybe a full block, but it wasn't the worst.. otherwise you have to park in a lot where you might get stuck behind another car, which is insane.

Overall, the Oceanic was definitely an OK place to stay. Not sure if I'd recommend or go again, but for the location and the fact that it was reasonably clean, I guess it could have been worse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter and family with my 5 Grandchildren ( ages 15 - 5 - 4 - 2 - 10mos ) had a great stay. The rooms were clean and the location was great. The pool was clean and kids enjoyed the music
. Exceeded my expectations. A great value and we will visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: North facing 1st floor rooms are all windows on outside wall - Loved the stay. Noise was not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was clean, location is perfect(you can bypass walking half the beach by using the ramp at the convention center). Front desk was always personable and accommodating. We were concerned about the pool issue as posted by previous reviews, however we did not have an issue, we had 3 girls ages 7,12,13 and the kids LOVED this place. Definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom ocean view room with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parrotthead21974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.3 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.7 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#15 of 75 in Wildwood
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Hotel

Address: 4600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4697
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and cool off at the only swim up tiki bar in Wildwood. Capture the true island vibe with tropical drinks, ice cold beers, and the coolest staff on the island. You can always enjoy a poolside lunch from our fantastic grill menu. It's sure to please everyone. Play outside all day and party into the evening with live entertainment that will keep your vacation fun filled! Need to get out of the sun? Then come inside and enjoy your favorite beverage at the original barefoot bar - complete with views of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing