We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildwood Diplomat is well run and clean!!”
Review of Diplomat Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diplomat Suites
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
York, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wildwood Diplomat is well run and clean!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at the Diplomat for 5 days. I can't wait to come back and stay for a full week in August. The facilities were great. The staff treated us like family. It is close to the rides and attractions. The large pool is very nice - was quiet and relaxing. I highly recommended the Diplomat to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pug523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
50
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

the location was great everything you need right there,,,the kids enjoy the pool..and walking to boardwalk....room is great for up to 4 people after that gets tight.But i feel the location of hotel great.The staff went out of the way to be helpful in many areas. Would go back again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenwiththebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We were a group of two familes with kids and had a horrible stay. Booked for two night and vacated after one night. The hotel didn't refund the money for the 2nd night.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank evo10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Myself, my wife and my two young children stayed at this hotel in early August 2008. we had searched the internet a month before and there really was not much available choices in Cape May or Wildwood, so we booked at the Diplomat a bedroom (2 double beds) + kitchen/living room with fridge and stove. believe me the units seem bigger on the internet than in real life.

OK the place is near the boardwalk, central to where all the night action is, but beware the tightness of the rooms, the mildew in the bathroom (our unit anyways), stains on the sofas left by previous tenants... this place is really a 1.5 to 2 star location.

if like me your standards are higher, then you should aim for Wildwood Crest, Cape May or seek advice from a local realtor since LOTS of housing units are for vacation rental.

Best of luck

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travler9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

BACK AWAY from booking the diplomat. We had reservations to stay at the diplomat this past month. We drove to wildwood from north Jersey and had reservations for 6 nights. We usually stay at the Bolero which we love but they were sold out... so we figured we would stay close. When we arrived we figured, looks okay, like ever other hotel in wildwood so we went inside. The Managers were very nice people but the room we recieved was straight out of a horror film. Firstly it was Hot... and the controls were broken for the air. The fan in the tv room had so much dust it could have formed a stuffed animal. So as soon as we turned the fan on we were covered and all choking. The beds were small. The room smelled very musty. We then went out on our little patio connected to our room and there was about 2 million ciggarette butts on the ground, not cleaned up and it looked very dirty. The bathroom was smaller than a toliet and the floor was so grungy looking i would rather have walked on glass than it. When we left the room we went downstairs to see if they had another room because we werent satisfied with this one, and we saw the inside of one that looked a little newer and cleaner but they insisted they didnt. We werent going to spend our vacation at a dump so we voted to take our chances and find another place. The only problem with that was that this hotel automatically charges you with a fee for booking that you can NOT get back if you decide not to stay... so we had to pay one nights stay which was 117$ at this point we didnt care because 117$ is better than possibly catching a disease. We ended up going down to the OceanView Motel in Wildwood Crest (after finding out it was owned by the same people who own the Bolero) and we had a great stay with VERY comfortable beds! Let me tell you we DID our research on hotels/motels and usually pick a good one... so I hope this helps for future travelers.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetJustine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is a motel that seems to be going through a renovation. The location is decent. ots of night life around. Close walk ot baordwalk and beach. Some rooms are fine and some are not. they are privately owned so that explains the difference. Pool is nice and on second floor. Problem is it does not accomodate large parties of people. The pool area is seculded but still nice but shoulod be open more. The place needs some cosmetic work but it is not bad. Location is everything.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Diplomatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My group stayed at the Diplomat recently. It is a typical Wildwood motel. The location was excellent. It was a short walk to the beach and boardwalk. Our room was really spacious. It was a two room efficiency suite. It had two double beds, a sofa bed, and a kitchen area with a full size refrigerator. The room was very clean. The beds were obviously new and very comfortable! The sliding glass door was difficult to open but you have to remember, many of the motels in wildwood were built in the 50's! The management was very nice and they are currently remodeling. It is nothing fancy but if you want a decent place to sleep and shower this motel will work. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mlb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#21 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#57 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#35 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#14 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#11 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Suites

Property: Diplomat Suites
Address: 225 E Wildwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4837
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Diplomat Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Wildwood
Diplomat Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing