We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Caprice Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caprice Motel
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have tried other Wildwood motels before finding the Caprice motel. We have now stayed at the Caprice for 6 years in a row. The location is great, staff very nice, and price is good. There are lots of motels in Wildwood, The fact that the Caprice is facing the boardwalk, and amusement piers (2 blocks down the boardwalk) is a big plus. The motel also has a pool which is well kept. There is also a 24 hour Rite Aid directly behind the motel. Wildwood doesn't have 5 star hotels the people who posted "poor" ratings may be used to. Every place has someone that get's upset about something, so take that for what it's worth when reading complaints/isolated issues. Most motels are a block or more off the boardwalk, don't face the beach/boardwalk, and many don't have pools. I strongly recommend the Caprice, and Wildwood in general for a family vacation. 3 Amusement park piers and 3 Waterparks all within 1 mile of each other and on the boardwalk :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    16
    10
    20
See reviews for
39
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Let me start by saying we stayed 4 nights at a place triple the price and had problems! We went to Caprice last minute to see if we could stay 1 night. We had to check out of the hotel we were in at 11 the next morning. The Caprice offered us to come right over and check in early! How nice! We had a great location across from Mack pizza 1 block off boardwalk which our teens loved! 2 nice size beds separated by wall and a place to sit outside! Pool was clean and nicer than the expensive hotel we were in that had a bug pproblem! Almost everyone we met were repeat customers at this hotel! Yes its an oldet decor interior but it was cleaner closer and no bugs! For the price you can't beat it! Thumbs up to you caprice thumbs down to Moreys hotels. Morey you and your empire should be ashamed!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nj45lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan M, Manager at Caprice Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
We were happy to accomodate you and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is nice for pizza lovers, just as you mentioned, because there is a Mack's Pizza location right across the street from us. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

See my review from June 2008! We went back in June of 2009, and 2010! Even had a 'goof up' which was entirely MY fault, and the staff went out of their way to help. If you want ritzy accommodations, stay somewhere ELSE. This place is clean, family-friendly, across from the boardwalk, and has a Rite-Aid behind it. The cleaning staff is friendly and efficient, the wonderful woman at the front desk is like an old friend. We plan to return for the fourth time in June 2011. You cannot beat the value of this hidden gem of a motel. 'Thin Towels' ? Pllbb...who cares..bring your own!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BowieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Caprice Motel was a decent place to stay. It was near all the attractions. The room was average, 1 bed was horribly uncomfortable-it felt like a broken boxspring. The other bed was fine. The room had enough space in it that you didnt feel cramped. The balcony seemed small. They do allow a stay of less then 3 nights if it is available. Smoking is allowed on the balcony, if you are a smoker.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goin_south78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We cked in at 1:00 by 2:00 on the 1st floor room began pouring of water from above our room. It was so bad that they had to move us,but only for 1 night they said they had no more rooms.They took the rugs,and everything that was soaked out to dry.The next day we had to move back in the room we had no choice they would not refund our money.When we went back the air condition did not work and all you could smell was mustiness. we had paid for 2 rooms in advance.for 5 days.Wed left early because the room was very hot and smelled.We left my parents there because we didnt want to make them leave early also.When we cked out we were told manager that we felt that we should get some money back,she thought so to but knew that the owners WOULD NOT. I spent 200.00 a night .Would not let any family,friends stay there!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCEANDREAM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Hellertown, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Caprice Motel was ok. The room was very clean and the staff seemed friendly. The towels are very small and like sand paper. Bring your own bath towels. I wouldn't mind staying here again, however, Wildwood has so many nice motels that I might try some place new. If you are the type of person that prefers the finer things in life you probably won't be happy here and you'd be better off renting a condo. I am a flexible person and have stayed in both showy places on vacations and in more down to earth places like the Caprice. The location is great being half a block from the boardwalk and beach. Keep in mind that this section of beach is one of the longest/widest parts of the Wildwood beach so be prepared to walk to get down to the water.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristylee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have never stayed in a dirtier motel. My bug bites have bug bites. The manager was rude and stared at us, followed us around and I noticed things "moved" around in our room. My adviice...drive right past this terrible motel, and save yourself some grief.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rusty519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Motel
Casa del Sol Motel
#26 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Court Motel
Royal Court Motel
#51 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#27 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#12 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#23 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice Motel

Property: Caprice Motel
Address: 4200 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4619
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Caprice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Caprice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing