We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no respect”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bolero Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolero Resort
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
bethlehem pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no respect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

This year they had a live band & a dj for the fireman's convention which is fine, but they have no consideration for their guests. The music & base were so loud that doors on the fourth floor were rattling, pictures on the walls were shaking, & change was falling of the tables. When many people complained, they said there is nothing they could do about it. I've been staying there for 19 years for the convention, & if I could find another room in the area for that weekend, I would go somewhere else. Unfortunately, everywhere else is booked up. Guess thats why they can rip you off with their prices. Vacationer's beware, this place is not worth the money they charge you. Take it from me, i've been ripped of for almost two decades!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redheads3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    53
    28
    71
See reviews for
123
38
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

I have been going from hotel to hotel for 8 years and have finally found THE ONE!!!!!!!! This resort has a hotel and a motel. I stayed in the motel section and couldnt have been happier. I was skeptical last minute after reading some reviews on here and almost cancelled to stay somewhere else ,..thank God I didnt!
This place was clean, very affordable, perfect location, and very pleasant staff. I dont know if maybe we lucked out and happened to get a week where there was not a lot of rowdy people or not a lot of families that let their kids just run amok,...but I have not one complaint about the Bolero. The outside pool is in the sun ALL day long and there were always plenty of chairs(besides the ONE day that someone went out in the morning and put a towel on almost every chair just to "save" them for later), a waitress that served drinks as you needed/wanted at the pool, the indoor pool was always empty (maybe a person or 2 here and there) and it was GORGEOUS up there and always spotless. The gym was amazingly clean ,..the rooms were clean and very comfortable-no moldy smell. NO COMPLAINTS-LOVED this place and this will be my new/permanent Wildwood vacationing spot!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

We weren't able to find many hotels with available rooms when we started looking for a room so when they had a 2-room suite available we quickly booked. It seemed like a pretty good price for the room.

When we checked-in, the room was clean but the decor was out of date. The entire hotel could use new carpet. When we went to pull out the sofa bed, the frame was broken and we weren't able to use it. The kids were already sleeping in the bedroom and even if it wasn't too late in the evening, they didn't have any other rooms available. My husband and I took turns sleeping on the couch and floor but the carpet was disgusting! Neither of us slept much at all our first night. The next morning, I spoke with the front desk and the worker was very nice and apologized. He said he would be able to move us to a different suite once another family checked-out and they were able to clean the room. The new room was much better and the sofa bed was actually comfortable. The sofa cushions had a few tears but we were able to sleep through the night.

The elevator is very slow. The work out room and indoor pool were very nice! Overall, it was a pretty good experience. We may return since we got a pretty good deal and it is only a block from the boardwalk.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The broken sofa bed and the dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jen043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Just got back from the Bolero on the family package. What a shame the place is such a dump. We stayed in the hotel, which was very run down. The pullout couch was disgusting. The couch, sheets and blankets were all ripped and old. The furniture was totally outdated and dirty. Because of this, the stay was very uncomfortable. No fault of the maid staff, they did a nice job cleaning every day. If the bathroom wasn't relatively new & clean, we would have asked for a refund. The halls and carpeting were also dirty. We only stayed there for the indoor pool and guess what? It was pea soup green and disgusting. We were told it was because of a large group the previous weekend. Whatever the reason, you couldn't even look at it without feeling sick until Thursday. No offer of a reduced room rate for the lack of indoor pool either. With it's great location, good meals on the family package, nice wait staff and nice bar, this could be a great family resort. We won't go back until a serious renovation takes place. It would be worth the extra $$$.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The quality of the hotel and rooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Long Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

The Bolero Resort is in no way a fancy resort. BUT, if you are visiting Wildwood, it's pretty much a great motel. This was our 4th time staying here and we don't have any complaints. The rooms are a little outdated decor wise, but the face of the property, all the bathrooms and kitchenettes are like new (less than 4 years old). I checked out numerous motels online and none of them can compare in price to the Bolero. We stayed from 7/6 - 7/11 and paid around $1000. Our room was located right outside the pool, a few steps away from the ice machine and restaurant. In our price was breakfast every morning and 2 dinners. Breakfast consisted of eggs cooked anyway, pancakes, belgian waffles, french toast, cereal, or omlettes. The first dinner was penne pasta with meatballs, and surprisingly enough the second dinner was prime rib with mashed potatoes and vegetables! It's just totally worth the money to stay here. The staff here is ALWAYS accomodating to our needs and we always meet great families there too. Located just a block away from a bicycle rental and the boardwalk. Can't say enough about this place.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Your first clue that this is a "no frills" motel is when they require that you pay CASH for the room tax AND that you provide a $20 CASH deposit for the TV remote for your room!! As others have mentioned, there is no hair dryer or shampoo, not even a clock in the room! The outdoor pool was nice--we also visited the indoor pool on the 7th floor--which was very nice--and a GREAT view of the boardwalk. Overall, location was good, service was okay--but we were a bit put off by the assumption that the average guest will steal everything in sight--made me very worried that we were going to have things taken from our room....

  • Liked — location and heated pool
  • Disliked — worn, lack of hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIzomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

The room was very clean. They are outdated, but very clean. I didn't use the pool or hot tub. There is a bar in the hotel, and music plays until 2am. If you have kids, this might not be the best place to stay. The staff was nice for the most part.
If you stay at the Bolero, your best bet would be the hotel section.

You can't beat the location.

  • Liked — location, clean room
  • Disliked — LOUD MUSIC
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marie12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#21 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#43 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#26 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolero Resort

Property: Bolero Resort
Address: 3320 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4802
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bolero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolero Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing