We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand all the bad reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolero Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolero Resort
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Glen Gardner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just got back from the Bolero. I told the Front Desk and the GM that I would write a review for them because of the bad ones that I thought they did not deserve. I was very worried about staying here because of those reviews. I called them about 5 times before I got there and they picked up quickly and answered all my questions. First good sign. Next when I got there I did a thorough inspection of how it was cleaned and for bugs (I mean I took the mattress's off and inspected with flashlight).All was good. We did have one small problem with the fridge not working. Overall the room was average and our request for extra blankets and other items were taken care of except the fridge. The food and the location were excellent .We stayed in a room without a balcony and was quiet for the most part.

Room Tip: If you want to deal with less partiers and have it more quiet you should get a room inside the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    52
    28
    70
See reviews for
122
38
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

During our stay at The Bolero, on July 26th through 29th, not only was the staff rude, but the conditions were unsafe. Management has refused to return phone calls after multiple attempts on my part to get clarification on why I was billed for room damages that were not from us.

Saturday night, we decided to go out to dinner. When we came back to the room, it was apparent that someone had broken the window from the outside. Not only did the staff not clean it for over 24 hours (there was broken glass everywhere), but they threatened to call the police and came to our door at 11 PM screaming at us. After asking them to double check, they quickly realized that it was broken from the outside and they apologized for how they had treated us. (It was a two pane window and the only broken pane was the outside one.) I am shocked by their lack of intelligence when they actually billed me for it! When I called the front desk for clarification, they told me I was charged for the window that was broken from the inside. Obviously I was upset about this, and asked that the Manager call me. After my 4th message and providing the Manager a week and a half to return my phone calls, I still haven’t heard from anyone.

The staff harassed members of my party for not having wristbands and tried to deny us access to our room. When they went to the front desk, the attendant very rudely told them that they would have to pay $10 each to enter our room. My friend had to ask them several times to please check the computer to confirm that we were not given wristbands at check in. After checking their system, they realized that it was their fault and begrudgingly handed over the wristbands to us. We had friends in town staying at other hotels who couldn't even visit our hotel room because they didn't have a wristband, which forced us to leave and go to other establishments than the room which we had paid for at $300 a night!

We chose the Bolero because it is headquarters of an ultimate frisbee tournament that we attend yearly. We are young professional between the ages of 25 and 27. We've been coming to this hotel for three years, and have always been good patrons with no issues. Though I've never had a great experience here, this times things were seriously out of control. I can’t believe the lack of integrity they have displayed in billing me for something they agreed was not my fault, and lack of professionalism in not returning phone calls.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Worst stay ever! I'll spare you the details, Rude,overpriced,dirty,this place should be torn down and turned into a park in honer of all us poor saps that had to stay overnight. the people who work here could care less about you or your family. when you want to cancel after you see how bad it is they want to charge you a one night deposit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel not resort, first screwed up my reservation although they attempted to fix it by upgrading my room, we were sold on the ammenitites but none of the ammenities worked both of the Jucuzzi's were broken one was cold the other only had one working jet, the steam room was broken, the TiKi bar was closed due to not enough rentals from what i was told, not to mention the chlorine was not at proper levels and my wife had chemical burn in her eye we had to leave early so i informed the staff and called the manager to leave a message not even a phone call back. I would not recommend this HOTEL to Anyone!! THIS WAS OUR FIRST TRIP TO WILDWOOD GREAT FIRST IMPRESSION!! BOLERO

NOTE:The PICTURE's look GREAT but don't believe it it is not worth the money i spent for the three days and stayed two with a move to a new room after the first night because of multiple issues from TV broken to AC shut off in the middle of the night!! wow we had to open a window in the rain to stay cool!!! should have camped on the beach !!

Thank you
very dissapointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank firefightercompany4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family and I stay at the Bolero evey summer for the past 7 years. We usually book about 4 rooms and have a reunion. The best thing about the Bolero is the location. It is only 1 block from the beach and center of the boardwalk activiites (right near Morey's Pier). We love the convenience of the location. There are plenty of stores and resturants all within walking distance. And each Friday night at 10pm there are fireworks right at the beach where we stay. Aside from the location, the rooms are adequate. We stay in the outside motel part of the Bolero (they also have an indoor hotel as well). In all of the years, all of our rooms have been clean and cozy. We have never had any complaints about cleanliness. Granted, its not a 5 star motel and some of the items are a little worn (like the towels) but overall we are happy there.
I will say that over the years we have seen a change in the service though. This is the second year in a row where things dont work properly. For example, this year the jazuzzi and sauna were broken and were not fixed the enitre week we stayed there..And last year that same jacuzzi was "just broken" as well. It seems that the Bolero is running out of money to fix things. The tiki bar by the pool was closed for several days and we were told business was bad and they didnt have someone to work the tiki bar. Really? And the Bolero used to have Karoke on Thursday and sunday nights and our family really looked forward to singing and having fun. The entertainment at the Bolero is sorely lacking in the past 2 years. Our family had to go eat and hang out outside of the Bolero which is sad because it used to be so much fun. For the money we pay for all of our rooms you would think they would step up their services to the guests and repair things promptly that are broken.

Room Tip: We like to stay away from the first 5 or 6 outdoor rooms right by the pool. It is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymooners215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is exactly as they described it on the other reviews the room the fridge the microwave and the beds look exactly like the photos I was so afraid of catching something that I never touched the floor or the bed I brought a blanket because I get cold and put that on top of the pull out bed and the pillows so I didn't have to touch it the tv was older than dirt the fridge was kinds small and we had a random sink right next to it and the microwave was so old it didn't have any button you had to turn a knob and hope for the best if it wasn't so close to the board walk, only indoor pool in wildwood, and a great view of the fireworks I wouldn't have stayed here the pool and spas were old and the pool couldn't see down in the water very dirty looking also the spas also the room wasn't great but the cleaning lady came everyday and cleaned everything even thogh the room needed everything thrown out

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Las177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had booked a room at this hotel for a soccer tournament back in January. I didn't think to check the reviews as the whole team was going to be staying at the hotel. As the reservation got closer I read the reviews that were posted for this hotel and was very nervous about going. I am very happy to say that this hotel was wonderful. I didn't have any problems at all. I was even in the room that someone had written about Room 202 which was suppose to have a broken bed. Both beds and pull out sofa were comfortable and in great shape. The room was clean and bright as well. Everone who worked for the hotel was polite, friendly, and helpful. This a hotel I would return to the next time I stay in WildWood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate52977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#21 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#41 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolero Resort

Property: Bolero Resort
Address: 3320 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4802
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bolero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolero Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing