We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of Bolero Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolero Resort
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Thank You Bolero Resorts. Michael, you handled our daughters wedding reception planning & reception very professionally. You were so easy to work with. You had good suggestions when we weren't sure how to set this up or that.
Your staff was very professional, friendly, & helpful. They couldn't been better. When you never went through putting a wedding reception together, it's good to have knowledgeable people like you to help us through the process.
The food was excellent. What more can you say about that. We had almost 100 people their, not one said 1 bad thing about the food. Compliments to the chef!!
Your Restaurant-bar area is really nice. It sets up very nicely for just about any set up.
I just want to say Thank You, for making our daughter & son-in-laws reception so very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rods27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    58
    29
    75
See reviews for
133
39
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had our daughters wedding reception at the Bolero yesterday. We couldn't be happier! From the start of our planning a year ago, Michael was easy to deal with, responding to our phone calls and emails promptly and meeting with us whenever we needed to. The restaurant/bar area was warm and inviting and looked beautiful with the wedding color table linens and napkins.The staff set-up our centerpieces etc. exactly how we asked. We enjoyed having cocktail hour up on the second floor "loft". The hordourves were delicious and the meal was top-notch. We had nothing but positive feedback from our guests. I would highly recommend the Bolero for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

There were bugs in our room. There was a mouse running across the floor when we tried to sleep. The shower was filthy and the room smelled like urine. I wouldn't put my dog in this room and I am a veterinarian. Stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelchick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here in March for a cheerleading competition. To start off when we walked in the room had a horrible smell to it. We walked into the bathroom and there was a dead bug and hair on the floor. Very disturbing. I was afraid to pull the blankets back. They're are stains all over our chairs and they're we're outdoor chairs in our room. We turned the light on and it was a strobe light...what in the world is that being used for. We then went to our friends room next to us and see a mouse run across the room when we were talking. GROSS. We asked the front desk to stay later than check out and he said it will $10 every hour. I will never ever come back here. It was horrible.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elissabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoleroResort, General Manager at Bolero Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
There are several points that need to be made in regards to this review. First and foremost, I would like to state that our facility has recently undergone some major renovations, amongst which is a complete energy overhaul. This advancement involves both solar panels and energy efficient lighting. Compact Florescent Bulbs, also known as CFL’s have been installed in all of our rooms. These bulbs flicker when not powered on properly. The bulb was not a strobe, as so foolishly described. The fact of the matter is, the guest simply did not know how to properly turn on a light switch.
In regards to the late check out in question, it is our policy to charge a fee for guests in need of an extended stay. This fee covers the prolonged hours in which our housekeeping staff must remain beyond their normal schedule. In most instances, a courtesy hour may be given, with no fee being incurred, as was the instance in this particular case. The guest was informed of the fee, not for the one-hour request, but for an extension of several hours due to a late competition at the convention center. We do not typically extend past 2pm; however, we were willing to do this too as a courtesy. As was the case with several other guests, an additional night’s rental would have needed to be purchased to extend past that time.
Finally, in regards to the remaining claims, I would like to note that the board of health has standard operating procedures that hospitality facilities are subject to. Amongst these procedures are the continual weekly inspection of all pools and spas, pest control inspections & sanitation. I point these out as a starting point for my conclusion, as our facility takes health and safety to the utmost importance. Upon the initial claim, a maintenance report was filed to allow for an inspection of the room in question. After a thorough search of the room, nothing was found that would indicate the presence of a mouse. Regardless, the room was placed on a do not rent list and a report was placed with our pest control department for further inspection and preventative action.
While I find the complaints of this guest to be plausible, and in such an instance, certainly understandable, I find the entire complaint to be without merit or justification. The simple fact that a CFL bulb was considered a strobe light and was given implications of some bizarre use accordingly proves the accuracy of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotal was awful. We had to change rooms several times, each one was worse then the last room. The room smelled like cat urine and the refrigerator was leaking and also had a foal oder. We tried to leave, but they would not refund our money. The hot tub upstairs in the "spa" had green mold floating on top and the pool was also gross! We checked all the beds for bugs and the sheets were filthy. We slept on top of the covers. I would not reccomned this place. The pictures on line look great, but it does not live up to the website's pictures. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 206anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoleroResort, General Manager at Bolero Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Issues such as the ones listed in the above complaint are very suspicious. I find it hard to believe that our facility would change a guest’s room “several” times without first confirming the satisfactory status with the guest before the move. Furthermore, I find it suspicious that, while the guest mentions moving “several” times, she commented that “the room” had issues, indicting one room and not “several” as previously stated.
As most guests do not work in the hospitality industry themselves, I would like to continually clarify the following point. The state of New Jersey, as well as most subsequent states, set certain health standards that must be met. These standards are checked on a routine basis, with many being required monthly or even weekly. In regards to the pool and hot tubs, I would like to point out that the law requires weekly inspections be performed to confirm the satisfactory standing of the pool’s chemical and bacterial levels. In addition, it is our policy to, regardless of test results, completely drain, clean & refill each hot tub at least once a week. Due to this, I can say with 100% certainty that there was absolutely no “Mold” floating in the hot tub. On the other hand, and perhaps much more accurate, what many people perceive as dirt or “mold” may have been the residual soap suds releasing from the bathing suits of the patrons in the hot tub, as the powerful water jets forced against their clothing. This, while not a health concern, is a common issue handled by adding a foam reducing agent upon sighting.
Finally, in regards to the “filthy” sheets, I find it implausible that a person vociferous enough to supposedly change rooms “several” times during one stay would not call down to the office to request new sheets be brought up to the room. On an average weekend, our laundry facility washes around 400 sheets per day. We store, in house, hundreds of unopened sheets. Had a request been brought to our attention, as it surely would have after all of the other complaints, we would have made it a point to bring brand new linens to the room.
To conclude, I cannot validate the claims of this reviewer, nor could I ascertain the reservation through our maintenance logs. The review, which comes in March of this year, was for a supposed stay in August of last year. Under most instances, guests who have bad experiences, especially those motivated enough to post reviews about those experiences, do so within days of their trip, not several months later; especially seven months at that. It is my affirmation that this is a fallacious post, most likely arising out of a non-refunded cancellation, as many of the previous posts are as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADFORD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here while attending the Sand and Sea dog show cluster; they were one of the only hotels locally accepting dogs that weren't nickle and diming every little thing about the stay to death. We took an efficiency room with the back bedroom, kitchenette and sleeper sofa for myself and a friend with a young child.

Room had a slightly musty odor at first- not unusual for a resort area in the off season, A little febreeze and we were good to go. Everything else was very clean and in great condition. Being able to cook and store food in the room was a big plus since it's hard to take time to go out to eat when you're traveling with dogs.

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, very welcoming to all of us from the show. The best part for us was the rooftop atrium spa- a huge exercise room the size of a small professional gym with a large heated pool, two hot tubs and a small but wonderful sauna. At the end of long drive the time spent up there was much needed and greatly appreciated.

We were just notified a small electronic item was left behind- and are thankful for their honesty! I'd stay there again and would like to visit during the summer since it's so close to the beach, a water park and loads of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idontdotrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at the Bolero Resort motel section for the past 5 years. First of all, you will not get a "Resort" feeling when you see this place. It's half Hotel and other Motel. We've stayed in the motel section room 204. It's the room right up from the pool. Rooms are big. It has a small kitchen area and a nice clean bathroom. I do bring my own blankets for the beds and very adimit of making sure my family always wear their shoes or flip flops while walking on the carpet. They do need to get new flooring and update their pull out couch and bedroom comforter. Besides those small negatives that I find myself to be very picky on the location is great since its across the street from the boardwalk. By the way, the motel just added in a new tiki bar. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool which is a great advantage in case it rains.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaDominicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#6 of 76 in Wildwood
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Motor Inn
Beach Terrace Motor Inn
#56 of 76 in Wildwood
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 76 in Wildwood
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolero Resort

Property: Bolero Resort
Address: 3320 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4802
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bolero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolero Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing