We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
Review of Ocean Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sands Motel
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
lansdale PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ok, not a whole lot of amenities but for an old beach hotel, not too bad. Location is outstanding! Room was very clean, staff polite. Our first stay at this hotel, maybe we would go back but first will check out other locations and these are the reasons: when i checked in i was given a parking permit but still told not to move my car as my space may not be there when i returned, every space was filled the entire weekend so we didn't dare go anywhere that required driving. Beds uncomfortable but at least clean linens. Shower didn't drain, standing water while showering but plenty of hot water. Real problems with the towels, may as well use sandpaper, just awful. Soo......really only need a room at the beach to shower and sleep and both were somewhat disappointing but again clean, friendly and great location

Room Tip: Stayed on pool level but would have preferred upstairs for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomkat684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again. We are improving our accommodations every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    15
    8
    18
See reviews for
39
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The only plus of this place was the location. The staff wasn't to bad either. However the rooms were very outdated, hasn't been updated in decades. Had a leak in the bathroom ceiling which resulted in the drop down tile to crumble and fall down. When I told them about it they said maintenance would be down in about 30 minutes. A little later on we were called and offered to to stay in a different room which we accepted not knowing if they were going to be able to fix it or not. When we moved 3 doors down I noticed that the same tile above the toilet had fuzzy black mold growing in it. Their reply to that was we will change the tile. Also the towels they provide you are falling apart. When you dry off after a shower half of the towel would be left behind on yourself. No chance of reusing the towels a second time I would go to the office to get more and they didn't even have 4 more towels to replace these ones. They only had 3 extras each time I asked for more. Overall as stated the location is great but other than that they need a total remodel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are working to improve our accommodations every year! New Kitchens in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were suppose to camp out on the beach for a Youth Christian event this past Thursday to Saturday August 1 to 3rd. It stormed almost all day on the 1st. The woman inside gave us a deal to let us stay there for the weekend since our tents got totally ruined. We stayed in 2 different rooms, one on the first floor and then on the top. Very nice rooms for the money, has almost everything you need. (No hairdryer though.) The small kitchen on the top floor has a stock of cups and plates. You are right next to the boardwalk, so not a bad walk. One of the workers did get a little argumentative about our parking slot. Overall, worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank You for your review. We apologize for the parking issue. However with being such a close proximity to the beach and boardwalk we have people park who are not guests. We try our best to prevent this from happening, so our customers don't have a problem with parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here last year 2012 and were fine with our room so in looking for vacation plans again this year,; we were going to come back to Ocean Sands. It is central located, has a pool and an ok place for a get-a-way weekend. Made the reservation 9 days ago and unfortunately had to cancel due to unforseen circumstances. Our reservation isnt until the END OF JULY and this is May; I was informed that only half of my one nights stay deposited would be refunded. $82.50 and there is 2 months notice to rent this room out. I looked back at the website and it states " Deposit is refundable if 14 days prior to reservation but it is subject to a 50% handling fee. SUBJECT. This is false advertisement. There is ample time for them to find someone for this room and "subject" shouldnt even be in this "policy" because there is no discussion. They keep 50% of your money if you cancel anytime after the reservation is made. I asked to speak to manager, which she would only communicate via the phone receptionist; the receptionist argued that there website states that the deposit is nonrefundable, which it doesnt state that at all. I will never make a reservation here again, and would certainly discourage anyone else from doing so.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Upon making a reservation customers are informed of our cancellation policy. We are a seasonal seaside business and our cancellation policy is on our website, brochure, and confirmation you receive when making a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I grew up going to this motel since I was a child with my family. We use to spend a few days in July & August. Later on when I was in High School I spent a few summers with my best friend here. My last visit was in August 2005. Over the years I was longing for a vacation in Wildwood & automatically insisted on staying here! Big mistake! My husband kept teasing me about how much I raved & couldn't wait to spend 7 nights here! There were cigerette burns in the comforters, the chairs were torn & weak. The lamp shades didnt match nor did they fit on the lamps. The phone didn't work. The pillows were rock hard which was similar to the bed. We opted npt have have maid service most of the days because even though we were out of the room from 10am until 4pm our room was never serviced! When I use to vacation with my family this place was family oriented but not anymore. We had a large group of teenagers who blasted their music past 11pm 2 doors down from us. The couple next door had a baby with them and couldn't wait to check out. No one said hello or wanted to bother to be nice. Needless to say we definatly got what we paid for. Honestly we were treated better when we paid less! How is that? This year I'm trying out a new place and praying to start a new family tradition there!

Room Tip: Never ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DizzyD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Every year we make updates to our rooms. New for 2014 is New Kitchens! The Ocean Sands is conveniently located one block from the Wildwood's World Famous Boardwalk and Beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We pulled up to the motel, not loving what we saw. The motel is run down, not having been updated much both inside and out for 15 years or more. We checked in, looked at the room and went back to the office to cancel our reservation. Big mistake. We should have asked to see the room first, cancelled our deposit and Ran. We were told by the front desk that we had to come back in the morning to speak to the manger. We check the room for bugs and decided we could stay one night. We called the credit card company to notify them of our situation. We went to the front desk bright and early the next day as instructed and were told that no refund would be given and we would be obligated to pay for our reservation. The rooms are shabby, box springs have no covering leaving them likely to infestation, the worn bedding dated to 1980. We stayed in an efficiency and the kitchen area was gross, with a rusted stove top and warped cabinets. The amenities in general were very poor. We are frugal travelers who appreciate cared for accommodations; look else where if you are the same.

Room Tip: Buy a bottle of wine and hope for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are sorry you did not feel as if our accommodations are up to your standard. We make updates to our rooms every year. We have many customers that stay with us year after year. We wish that this customer would have came to us with there problems. We do everything we can to accommodate any issues or problems that might have while staying at the Ocean Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at this motel last minute they had a vacentcy took us in. we had a great time its so close to the boardwalk we loved it. it was priced very reasonable. we stayed two nights. the maid service wasn't that great but i just asked for more towels, of cource i was on vacation and i did not do any cooking at all(lol) but other guest were so nice and respectful. will try to go there again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mechelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank You for your review! We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#58 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarem Happy Days
Clarem Happy Days
#37 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Key West Hotel
Key West Hotel
#5 of 16 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Motel
Landmark Motel
#48 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Ray Motel
El Ray Motel
#44 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Motel

Property: Ocean Sands Motel
Address: 3710 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4714
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Sands is convenient to the new convention center, restaurants and entertainment. We are just steps from the beach and Wildwood's famous boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing