We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place in a good location”
Review of Daytona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daytona Inn
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent place in a good location”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Room was fairly clean. Pool and grounds were very well cared for. Guy at the front desk was helpful and friendly. Location is 2 blocks from the boardwalk and beach in the heart of Wildwood near lots of bars and restaurants. I little pricey for what you get, but what isn't in Wildwood on a weekend in July?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
129
36
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

After reading all of the reviews I had high expectations for this place. Although I really just booked it for the location, wanting to be close to the beach, it seemed like the place would be really nice. Little did I know how awful the experience would be!

The service was absolutely terrible. Check-in was a nightmare, with a manager who was ornery and difficult to deal with. I understand that we're not a family of four, but that doesn't mean you can completely disrespect us. On top of that the room was cramped, the beds EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE, and the room in general was just dirty. The A/C unit was covered in dust and spewed dust when I turned it on. Overall the experience was just god awful and I couldn't wait to check out!

DO NOT GO TO THE DAYTONA MOTOR INN!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAYTONAINN, MANAGEMENT at Daytona Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2009
The customers that wrote this review had maybe 13 people in a room for 2 people. A couple checked in and the next thing we know there are a dozen or so others in the room. Apparently they were here for a Spring Break type of weekend. I can only assume this by their ages and actions. We told the 2 registered occupants that all their "guests" must leave and informed them their reservation would be forfeited if these "guests" came back onto the property. Apparently they didn't like that, so they gave us a bad review. Our other reviews speak for themselves. If you are coming to Wildwood for a Spring Break type of place, please look elsewhere. Again, this is a family place and if keeping our property quiet and safe for our other customers means that we get a bad review, then we will take the bad review every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womelsdorf, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Wildwood is a 2.5 hour little jaunt from our home and we go there many times per year. We always stay at different hotels because we like the experience. Daytona has great service and a great staff. Wanna check in ealry? no problem. Our room was small, smaller than our livng room, BUT, it was very clean, nicely furnished and had great water pressure! I was impressed that when we were walking to the lobby to check out a member of the staff saw us and said "are u checking out?" we said yes and he siad :"ok, give me the key and i will take care of it for you" NICE! That's customer service! this is a traditonal 2 story motel right downtown, so the good thing is you are not going to pay to park to go on the boardwalk at night. We prefer to drive up to North Wildwood and park to go the much shorter beach during the day, but if u dont mind 2 blocks and and a FOREVER sand walk, this is the place. Having stayed at almost every place in Wildwood, I like this place. Unpretenious, clean and right in the heart of it all. Service is great. we called front desk for 2 more pillows...got voice mail, left a message, i went to the bathroom and by the time i got out of the bethrom (2 minutes tops) we had the pillows. Service is everything and this palce has it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProducerVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Perfect for families with young children and couples. We were impressed with the reviews, so we booked a stay at the Daytona. We were extremely happy with our decision. The rooms were immaculate. My wife is super picky, if she says it's clean, it's clean. The front desk was very helpful directing us to restaurants. Since it was off season, not many were open but he suggested Tuckers Pub, which was perfect. All in all, we had a great time and feel that we got a great deal for the money. I would highly suggest the Daytona to anyone who is heading for Wildwood.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomber321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Clean rooms, quiet and family oriented, great pool scene. We met some really nice folks. Staff was great! Pat ( our maid) was a hoot! Very well kept rooms. Grounds were kept very clean. Helpful people at front desk. All around we had a great time. Request a suite in the rear building....you will not be dissappointed. All around really great time and will absolutely be back for next year!

  • Liked — Pool and clean rooms
  • Disliked — No Bar.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whatzcookin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p.a.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

the motel was just as the web site said it was nice room clean and close to the board walk had a great time will stay there again

  • Liked — was a nice clean place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvnguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My wife and 16-month-old toddler stayed at the Dayton on August 1, 2008. We booked the room on the website on the afternoon of the 1st and disclosed that we expected to arrive sometime between 10pm and 11pm that evening. I was surprised to later receive a call from the hotel telling me that if I did not arrive by midnight, I would not be able to get a room for the night -- EVEN THOUGH I PRE-PAID over $250 for the reservation in full and even though the check-out time was not until 10am the following day. Unbelievable.

Upon check-in at 11pm I was amazed at all of the loud partying in the area around the hotel. When we entered the room, we were disappointed by the old, run-down furniture. Most importantly, we were upset about how DIRTY the room was. In particular, there were piles of dirt/sand in some corners. Also, the air-conditioner in our room was absolutely COVERED WITH DUST to the point that the white appliance looked gray. I had to spend 10 minutes cleaning not only the exterior of the air conditioner, but also cleaning the filter (which was a bio-hazard in the making). The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was also dirty.

After miraculously making it through the night without contacting Legionnaires Disease, we checked out; the deadline for checking out is 10am, which I found to be awefully early.

Overall, we would not recommend the Daytona to our friends, and we would never stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TripfanaticNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#20 of 76 in Wildwood
835 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#9 of 76 in Wildwood
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#12 of 76 in Wildwood
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Inn

Property: Daytona Inn
Address: 4010 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Daytona Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 1 block to Wildwood Beach and Boardwalk, The Daytona Inn is a family oriented motel offering rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as larger 1, 2 and 3 bedroom family suites with kitchens. We were awarded Tripadvisor's prestigious Certificate of Excellence in 2013. We cater to families with children and couples over the age of 25. We offer 2 pools, bbq grills, free wifi, free in room coffee and discounts to amusement piers and waterparks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Daytona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Motor Hotel Wildwood
Daytona Hotel Wildwood
Daytona Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing