We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but large portions and decent food”

Schellenger's Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 162 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Richlandtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, but large portions and decent food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went with my family of four. A few of us got fried flounder and one got the white fish. I got crab imperial which had large lumps of crabmeat. The flounder may have been frozen, like other reviewers stated, but the crab dish and white fish were pretty good. Portions were big. The kid's meals do not include drink or dessert, but that seems to be the norm here. Server was nice. Owner introduced himself. A huge negative is the elderly huckster walking around selling trinkets. I know times are tough, but that is not the place for it. Puts the restaurant in a negative light.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    105
    57
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The food was tasty. The atmosphere was nice and the restaurant appealing from the exteriot. Pros: good waitress and good food. Cons: portion size was very lacking for the price of the food. I was literally shocked when I received my entree. For $24 you would think you'd get more than three less than average size lobster raviolis. If I was to go out again I'd choose a different place. Like I said though the food was good!

Helpful?
Thank JTomo170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly people and good food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Schellenger's was a short walk from our hotel so we tried it. A very popular place with lots of fun sea decor. We were a little surprised by the prices when we sat down since we were told the prices were good. Be prepared to spend $18-$30 on your entree and a side. I got salmon and my husband got scallops. Both were very good. The staff is friendly and the owner makes a point to stop by and chat for a bit. We would probably head back when in town again, though the prices were a little steep for us. I think you will have a solid dining experience heading to Schellenger's and a memorable night at the shore!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

A little pricey but the atmosphere was great and the food was amazing!!! It was within walking distance from our hotel and not crowded. Definitely worth it!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frozen and not so fresh seafood”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The food was just terrible. Obviously frozen and WAY over priced.
The server was very friendly and provided great service but the seafood in this cooks opinion was just awful. It is a nice building and the wait staff is very friendly, too bad the food is so bad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schellenger's Restaurant also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Schellenger's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing